adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.16

Buy for $18.16

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent's second Florence Nightingale mystery. 

Cholera has broken out in London, but Florence Nightingale has bigger problems when people begin dying of a far more intentional cause - murder. 

The London summer of 1854 is drawing to a close when a deadly outbreak of cholera grips the city. Florence Nightingale is back on the scene marshaling her nurses to help treat countless suffering patients at Middlesex Hospital as the disease tears through the Soho slums. But beyond the dangers of the disease, something even more evil is seeping through the ailing streets of London. 

It begins with an attack on the carriage of Florence's friend, Elizabeth Herbert, wife of Secretary at War Sidney Herbert. Elizabeth survives, but her coachman does not. Within hours, Sidney's valet stumbles into the hospital, mutters a few cryptic words about the attack, and promptly dies from cholera. Sidney, frantic that an assassin is stalking his wife, enlists Florence's help, who accepts but has little to go on except for the valet's last words and a curious set of dice in his jacket pocket. Soon, the suspects are piling up faster than cholera victims, as there seems to be no end to the number of people who bear a grudge against the Herbert household. 

Now, Florence is in a race against time - not only to save the victims of a lethal disease but to foil a murderer with a disturbingly sinister goal.

©2019 Christine Trent (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about A Murderous Malady

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better than Book #1

I was pleasantly surprised that this book held my integrates more than book#1. I'm sad to learn that Book#3 is not Coming Soon...

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written good story

This book isn’t everyone possible interest. However I am a nurse and I liked the way the author portrayed the character as being intelligent and a scientific thinker. I really liked the fact that the author made a great effort to assure that the reader ended the book with a proper understanding to the history of the times and to make it clear where she had stretched the accuracy of events to suit the telling of the story. I will look forward to listening to future novels in this series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Charming reimagining

Trent accomplishes putting the reader in the in the midst of Nightingale’s scene and society without stretching the bounds of credulity. No jarring time bending even as she brings events closer to carry her plot forward. In all a very fine read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nursing, Cholera and a Race to Catch a Killer

The second in the series is perhaps even better than the first. It is rich with historical detail and urgency as cholera rapidly spreads over the Soho district. Florence is busy tending to patients, trying to clean up a hospital and attempting to catch a killer who attached her friend, Elizabeth Herbert's carriage on the way to town, killing one of her servants. Florence learns way more than she wants to know about her friend's father and husband while she is looking for the killer, who may have well been a foe of either of them, or of Elizabeth. As she searches for the culprit, she also learns much about the Afghan war, and the part that England played there, making Florence wonder if Liz's father, Lieutenant General Charles a'Court was the intended target. Or could it be Sidney, Liz's husband who was the current Secretary of War? The research on the cause and spread of cholera also peaked my interest. I wish there were more in the series to come. As Flo and her Mary Clarke, who served as Flo's secretary and close friend, went everywhere to find answers, I worried they would get in so deep that they wouldn't get out. What a pair they made! Excellent story and an ending well worth the wait.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Really poor narrator

Couldn't get very far into the story. One of the worst readers I've heard.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

Loved the narration and really enjoyed the information in the Epilogue. It ties the whole historical thread. Thank you!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Happy the 2nd book was as good as the first

This second story in the series was well worth the listen. I really appreciated the author's historical notes at the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very interesting & well researched

This book kept me keenly interested - not edge of my seat suspense but just a really interesting story of well-cast believable characters about life events and human feelings and behaviors during war. It wasn't gory but neither was it wimpy. It seemed to be amazingly well-researched and was greatly satisfying historically. I haven't done my own research to confirm this but it rang so true. I did at least do a Wikipedia check on Nightingale and what little I read seems to confirm she was quite a spiky, adamant, forceful character who was, as the book indicates, sometimes high-handed and abrasive -- how else could a woman of those times (or these) go so hard against the social grain and accomplish what she did?! This was all partnered with great compassion. I was only a little disappointed with the slightly dud of an ending - - but this wasn't a detective novel ! ;) so - - I think I shouldn't ding the book for this reason. And the writing and flow were good too. A very good book.