Your audiobook is waiting…

A Light in the Dark (Dark Stars Book 2): A Space Fantasy Sci-Fi Adventure

Narrated by: Kristin James
Series: Dark Stars Series, Book 2
Length: 8 hrs and 34 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The real invasion is about to begin.

An alien fleet is coming. Elle and her friends are the Hegemony's best chance for fighting back, but they'll need to head straight into enemy territory in order to identify the Darkness' origin.

The Hegemony is out of time...and the war may already be lost before it even starts. The only chance for salvation is the mysterious shard of the Master Crystal, supposedly capable of initiating a universal-scale reset. Except no one knows what a reset of that magnitude might entail, or if it's possible.

Despite the risks, no step is too extreme in the frantic fight for survival. Elle and her friends must stop the insidious alien menace before every world is consumed.

The Dark Stars trilogy combines high-tech sci-fi with traditional fantasy magic, perfect for fans of Final Fantasy, Star Ocean, and Xenosaga. Continue the adventure today!

©2018 A.K. DuBoff (P)2018 A.K. DuBoff

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Awesome again...!

Loved it so much! AK has come through with yet another winner! Her World building in Space Opera is her biggest strength. She builds worlds of such awe and beauty it boggles the mind, She backed this one up with some real world theoretical physics and matched it with Sci-Fi and through in a dash of Fantasy and magic for a perfect recipe of adventure, the fantasies I love that include outings and treks to find ancient and powerful artifacts to give the heroes an advantage over the baddies! At times an edge of the seat thriller, at times adventurous, a perfect dash of young developing romance, to build a world of wonder, to build strong characters. Then develop those characters into a cohesive unit whose skills complement each other. Spirit, Strength, Will and constitution to see the mission through, no matter the consequences. It's perfect for YA but all will enjoy if you like to immerse yourself in yet another new world by the incomparable Amy DuBoff...Hats off to you for taking me away for a short while to walk in another wondrous universe...The audio was excellent, to me the voices caught the characters well. Audio brings a story to life, while I immersion read to do just what the word says, immerse myself in the plot, and ride along with the characters, also to identify why certain names are given to certain characters, and other things such as their team name...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TU
  • 12-26-18

Excellent book 2!

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

I am happy to report that book 2 was just as good as book 1. Keep in mind, though, you should probably listen to, or read, book 1 before this one, as yo umay be a little lost otherwise. This book has excellent pacing and plenty of action to keep your interest throughout. The narration continues to be good, too. All in all, this is one of the better sci fi series I've listend to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun and fast-paced reality-bending adventure

I loved the first book in this series, and this one doubles down on all levels and takes everything up a notch. With all the worldbuilding already established (You can change reality in space! Magic is real!), there are a lot of new layers here, and new things to discover. I really loved the blossoming romance, and how that fit into the storyline as reality warps (and I can't say much more than that without spoilers!).

There's a feel kind of like Inception here, or maybe a bit of Interstellar. Very high-concept, very cool. Really love the epicness brought in here, this story just feels so huge.

The narration was great as well, perfectly fitting the characters.

This book ends at a great place, and I'm looking forward to seeing how the story's brought to its epic conclusion!

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jayde
  • Nampa, ID
  • 12-04-18

Another great adventure

This is book two in this series and just like the first it is a fast paced adventure that grabs you by the seat and pulls you in.
Definitely want to read the first book first but only because you would spend so much time catching up. This really could be a standalone because most references to the first book are fully fleshed out in this one as well.
Also a great narrator for both books had much to contribute to the adventure.
Well worth the credit and can’t wait for the next one.

I was given this free review copy audiobook by the author and have voluntarily left this review.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Graeme T. Neil
  • Graeme T. Neil
  • 07-05-19

Much better than the first book

The first book seemed a little mundane
This book had much more punch hopefully the third will be even better