A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (252 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The instant New York Times best seller!

For fans of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn't add up, and a girl who's determined to find the real killer - but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

But she can't shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent...and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn't want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you'll never expect.

"Fun, gripping, and skillfully constructed." (Emily Arsenault, author of All the Pretty Things)

©2019 Holly Jackson (P)2020 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

“A fun, gripping, and skillfully constructed novel of suspense. I loved Pip - her relatable quirks, her inventive investigative approach, and her willingness to step outside of her safe world in search of the truth.” (Emily Arsenault, author of All the Pretty Things)

"Dark, dangerous and intricately plotted - my heart literally pounded." (Laura Steven, author of The Exact Opposite of Okay)

 "So so clever." (Savannah Brown, author of The Truth About Keeping Secrets)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    177
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    189
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    162
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

It's a book produced like a movie

The story is really good. The writer knew how to throw the reader off. In a way that had me guessing until the end. That is all I have to say without giving away too much of the story. Now this audio was fun to listen to. It made it fun. It's a whole cast. Wow I would like to say more but I don't want to give anything away. My dad got me this audio so review by Anais ;)

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jaw Dropping

Intense story line that quite literally made my jaw drop open! i had to read this for book club and OMG am i going to recommend this book to everyone i know! As far as Audible i thoroughly enjoyed the way it was read and by sooo many different people! Well done by all!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A murder mystery that you can’t put down

This is a great murder mystery story. Although the protagonist is a teenage girl, this isn’t typical YA fiction; anyone who enjoys a good mystery, filled with twists and compelling characters, will enjoy the book.

The sound effects and other voice actors add a level of realism that you can’t get from just reading a book. Along with the main narrator, who is one of the best I’ve heard, all the sound effects and voice actors make the story much more real and present in your mind.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Overwrought, even for YA

Ugh, by some act of masochism I got through this whole book. Every now and then I will read or listen to a YA novel, and I always consider the audience and cut the author some slack accordingly. But this novel, contrary to the glowing reviews, is terribly overwrought even for a YA story. The lead narrator is equally cloying, as she repeatedly overdramatizes with too much vocal emotion and intonation, not sounding like a real person, and making the story feel like sappy melodrama. I wrote this review in an effort to put a tiny dent in the high average rating for this book, as I believe that rating is misleadingly inflated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

I was so addicted to this book. I literally could not put it down or stop listening!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story

The narration cast was great. The story had me guessing to the very end. Lots of twists and turns. At first I thought it might be too juvenile but as the story progressed I was easily able to ignore the YA style and just enjoy a good old fashioned mystery

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Written for a young adult

Although this was written for a young adult, I decided to read it because it was recommended by my granddaughter. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. Very seldom do I get to the end of the book and not know who the criminal was. I didn’t know until the very end it had a little surprise twist.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

I could not stop listening to this book. It draws you in, tells a great story and keeps you interested. Great storyline and would highly recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful book

I could not stop reading this book it was sooo good I Highly recommend especially if you like Karen McManus

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Teenage protagonists are always aggravating

I enjoyed this story, but sometimes found the leaps of logic and teenaged protagonist aggravating.
She could have gotten herself killed several times, not the least, going up against adult criminals with nothing to lose but a busybody kid.
Altogether though, it was a good story, and I recommend it.