adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $13.42

Buy for $13.42

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The new witty and warm novel from the best-selling author and TV presenter, Fern Britton. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell, and Trisha Ashley.

Even happy families have their secrets... Greer Clovelly seems to have it all; beautiful, chic and slender, she's used to getting her own way. Greer has been in love with Jesse Behenna since her first day at school and she's determined that one day, they'll be married. After all, a marriage between them would join together two dynasties of Cornish fishing families to make one prosperous one.

For her friend, Loveday Carter - plump, freckled, and unpretentious - living in the shadow of her friend has become a way of life. She loves Jesse too, but knows that what Greer wants, she usually gets.

Jesse, caught in the middle, faces an agonising choice. Should he follow his heart or bow to his father's wishes? And what about his best friend Mickey, who worships the ground that Loveday walks on?

Jesse's decision will touch them all in ways that they could never foresee, and as the dark clouds start to gather the four friends find themselves weathering a storm - one that has the power to sink them all....

©2015 Fern Britton (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

Critic Reviews

"This is a light-hearted, fun and easy read…" (Daily Mail)
“Another ripping good read.” (Good Housekeeping)
“Charming and fun read.” (OK)

Praise for Fern Britton:

“Complicated friendships and tales of a chaotic love life make this a must-read.” (Woman)
“A light-hearted, fun read that perfectly captures the sights and smells of village life.” (Heat)
“Fern Britton has transferred her fun and friendly charm to the page.” (Good Housekeeping)

What listeners say about A Good Catch

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-20-17

beautiful story.

wonderful story. I can't wait ti start the next novel. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for l pearson
  • l pearson
  • 09-04-15

great story

really enjoyed the story, lots of twists and turns, could not stop listening to the story

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-16-20

Good catch good book

Lovely easy listen to story with lots of twists and turns to stpry would recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tash
  • Tash
  • 11-21-17

depressing read

I usually love Ferns books but this one was a real depressing read. Was anyone really happy. I wouldn't recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anna Fern
  • Anna Fern
  • 07-17-17

Great read

Must admit didn't enjoy Fern Britton's early books but A Good Catch was most enjoyable! Good story line and great read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-25-17

Fabulous

Fabulous loved it. Well worth a read or a listen. Can't wait to read the next.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stewartmrsj
  • Stewartmrsj
  • 07-04-16

another good read

love Ferns voice!! very, calm and clear. !!!
charming story takes you to the west coast

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Annie
  • Annie
  • 07-16-15

Not Fern's Best Book

A good holiday read, enjoyable but I did find it rather annoying at times. I have read several of Fern's books but this was definitely not her best.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane
  • Jane
  • 05-23-15

Good summer holiday read

Set in Cornwall and an ideal book to take on holiday and Im sure lots of people will enjoy it. Personally I found it rather long and drawn out and the storyline was predictable and too tragic/dreary for me. I didnt warm to any of the characters so not my cup of tea. I did like Fern Brittons narration and I will probably try another of her books I think the storyline of this one just wasnt for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Neets
  • Neets
  • 05-01-15

loved it!

Took me back to my childhood.
Ferns narration easy to listen to.
Nice story
Kept me company on morning walks.

1 person found this helpful