• A Death at Candlewick Castle

  • A Completely Gripping British Cozy Mystery (A Jemima Jago Mystery, Book 2)
  • By: Emma Jameson
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (155 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
A Death at Candlewick Castle  By  cover art

A Death at Candlewick Castle

By: Emma Jameson
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Librarian Jemima Jago is enjoying a peaceful summer in the Isles of Scilly – until a puzzling crime comes in with the tide....  

Between her work in Cornwall’s oldest library and catching up with old friends over tea and chocolate biscuits, Jemima Jago is spending the season the only way she knows how: sunbathing, swimming, and sailing. But her postcard-perfect summer is turned upside down when the body of well-to-do businessman Hermie Castleberry is found on the sweeping white sands at the foot of Candlewick Castle.   

Jem doesn’t mean to get involved, but when her old flame Rhys Tremayne is arrested for murder, she springs into action to prove his innocence. With her gift for uncovering hard-to-find information, Jem discovers Hermie had been keeping secrets and ruffling a few feathers in the ordinarily tranquil islands. Did the quiet wife, the belittled business partner or the slimy salesman want Hermie out of the way?  

The discovery of a pair of silver gloves by little dog Buck could be just the clue Jem needs to crack the case. But can she catch the real culprit, and keep her heart in check, before the killer sends her down to Davy Jones’ locker too?   

A totally charming cozy mystery from the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Emma Jameson. Fans of M.C. Beaton, Faith Martin, and Agatha Christie will adore A Death at Candlewick Castle. 

©2021 Emma Jameson (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about A Death at Candlewick Castle

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

This second installment of the series falls far short of the first, which had many compelling moments, a credible plot, and likable characters. Good stuff, especially well written for a cozy mystery.

The first 25% of this book, aside from the discovery of the body, consists mainly of recaps of the first book's events and relationships, and incredibly repetitive physical descriptions of the main characters and their love interests. Bleh. At least Ms. Jameson stops short of heaving bosoms and throbbing manhoods, so be thankful for small favors, I guess.

More told than shown, there's no real tension here, and more than half of the story belongs in the romance genre. I was disappointed and won't buy the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun!

This is a nice light hearted/cozy murder mystery. Not a super intense thriller, which is nice to take a break from.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

As silly as the stilly isle on which it takes place!

From the discovery of the body,to searching the crime scene, removing evidence, telling just about everyone she knows all the details she discovered, to her adolescence hormones, this book was absurd. On top of all that, the murder was obvious from his first entrance on the scene. Unless you yourself are shallow, silly and adolescent, don’t bother with this. The narrator was wonderful and it is sad she had to read such drivel.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful

The narrator. Is horrible. I tried, but couldn't listenTo it. Don't waste a credit on it.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Unlikeable Protagonist - About the shelf it.

She is entitled, obnoxious, self serving and continually contaminates crime scenes.

She bullies people she seems to consider beneath her intellectually for info (eg teenagers and humbling law enforcement officers)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good plot and character development.

Good story and plot. The narrator was good, but I thought she missed the mark on men's voices.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good addition to the series

If you enjoyed the first in this series, the second one picks up not long after the other ended. The characters develop a bit more and we gain some new ones who fill out the community well. This author weaves a lively sense of humor into an engaging narrative. The mystery (or mysteries) kept my attention. As a reader of mysteries, I’m never surprised by who the killer turns out to be, but I will say that I was never sure and never anticipated the resolution in this case. There is the formulaic love triangle which I’m itching to see resolved even though I know it’s a ploy. The author has done a good job of giving both suitors engaging histories that make them interesting to follow. Looking forward to the next in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5 stars

A Death at Candlewick Castle is an engaging mystery with interesting characters and an entertaining plot. I look forward to the next book in this series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent continuation--I want more

Emma Jameson, you did not disappoint. I found in enjoyable and intriguing from start to finish. Interesting real characters and setting to die for. Pun intended.

Tamsin Kennard narration made it possible to get lost in the story and acknowledge the characters.

I'm hooked--now I need more.