Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This dazzling new Victorian mystery from USA Today best-selling author Karen Odden introduces listeners to Nell Hallam, a determined young pianist who stumbles upon the operations of a notorious - and deadly - crime ring while illicitly working as the piano player in a Soho music hall. Perfect for fans of Tasha Alexander, Anne Perry, and Deanna Raybourn.

Nineteen-year-old Nell Hallam lives in a modest corner of Mayfair with her brother, Matthew, an inspector at Scotland Yard. An exceptionally talented pianist, she aspires to attend the Royal Academy; but with tuition beyond their means, Nell sets out to earn the money herself - by playing piano in a popular Soho music hall. The fact that she will have to disguise herself as a man and slip out at night to do it doesn’t deter her. 

Spending evenings at the Octavian is like entering an alternate world, one of lively energy, fascinating performers, raucous patrons - and dark secrets. And when Nell stumbles upon the operations of an infamous crime ring working in the shadows of the music hall, she is drawn into a conspiracy that stretches the length of London. To further complicate matters, she has begun to fall for the hall owner's charismatic son, Jack, who has secrets of his own.

The more Nell becomes a part of the Octavian’s world, the more she risks the relationships with the people she loves. When another performer is left for dead in an alley as a warning, she realizes her future could be in jeopardy in more ways than one.

©2018 Karen Odden (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about A Dangerous Duet

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent listen!

I enjoyed the characters, plot and narration and am longing for more from this a author / narrator team.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ENGAGING, WELL-NARRATED MYSTERY

Know how you can get distracted listening to narrated book? Well, you won’t with this great book. Between the story, which included great pieces of historical facts and excellent research, and its terrific narrator, I found I never missed a bit of it to distraction. A rare combination, and I loved it. Looking forward to listening to the author’s next while I walk. Thank you, Ms. Odden. Please keep writing!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Should be a movie!

A Dangerous Duet is so well written and researched. I felt as if I was watching a movie. I could see, hear, and smell the Victorian era and events. This multi-layered novel has a lot going on and is seemless in its unfolding ....a main character with musical gifts, hopes and dreams and the bravery to go for it, a crime syndicate, tangled relationships, family history, sibling bonds, friendship, love, and suspense. I thoroughly enjoyed being swept into this era and getting to know her cast of characters. The narrator was an excellent choice and I loved her accent! This is the first book I’ve read/listened by Karen Odden, but will soon be reading her first novel, A Lady in the Smoke