• 25 Days 'til Christmas

  • A Novel
  • By: Poppy Alexander
  • Narrated by: Helen Keeley
  • Length: 9 hrs and 38 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (170 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this heartwarming, feel-good holiday novel, one woman needs to find a little inspiration in the 25 days leading up to Christmas to help her remember the magic of the season and the magic of falling in love - perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Josie Silver.

Kate Potter used to love Christmas. A few years ago, she would have been wrapping her presents in September and baking mince pies on Halloween, counting down the days and hours to Christmas. But that was before Kate’s husband left for the army and never came home. Now she can hardly stand December at all.

Kate can’t deny she’s lonely, yet she doesn’t think she’s ready for romance. She knows that her son, Jack, needs a Christmas to remember - just like Kate needs a miracle to help her finally move forward with her life. So she’s decided if there isn’t a miracle on its way, she’ll just have to make her own. 

As Kate’s advent countdown to the best Christmas ever begins, she soon realizes that even with the best laid plans, you can’t plan for the unexpected. For when the path of the loneliest woman in town crosses with that of the loneliest man, these two destined hearts might find a way to save the holiday for both of them.

©2019 Poppy Alexander (P)2019 HarperAudio

What listeners say about 25 Days 'til Christmas

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A real standout!

I own literally hundreds of audio books and listen constantly. I'm also a writer as well as a university writing teacher for more than 25 years. This is one of the best books I've listened to in a long time, one I know I'll listen to again. Is it sad? Sure, but as it's a Christmas novel, we know the ending will be a happy one. Is it predictable? Yes, but in the best of ways. In addition, the characters are very well-developed--all of them--and the dialogue is believable and not the least bit cliche or sappy. The author has also done a superb job of setting up a series, one I'm eagerly looking forward to. Thank you, Poppy Alexander for some lovely hours, and I hope we'll see Kate, Daniel and Jack again!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Overall good story

I enjoyed this story, the last hour was a little dark for me in a feel good Christmas story but sadly this happens to people. The ending was a little bit of an unrealistic fix but overall a good Christmas listen. The reader was excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Xmas Story

I love to listen to Christmas stories all year long. I don't know why I just find it a romantic time of the year and the story really satisfied that craving.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely wonderful.. Heartwarming Holiday

This book actually made me sigh with satisfaction,...treat yourself to it,.. you
won’t be sorry...... sigh....

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Christmas List Must Read

This was quite a pleasant first read for this Christmas season. It was almost too much Christmas miracle for me having to wait out the agonizing 25 days until Christmas…as the problems continually piled on. I loved the mother-son relationship that went on throughout the story. Oh the sacrifices that we mothers must make. But I wasn’t a big fan of the constant cost counting. That aside, this is a beautifully read and narrated story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wishing for More Days!

I was so sorry for this book to end. It’s beautifully written. Alexander created a believable child character in Jack- something that is incredibly hard to do! All the other characters are are well done—I actually missed Kate and Jack when the book was over(and my life is busy and full). The narrator is perfect. Every character has a different voice that fits perfectly and yet there’s no artificial stress or strain in the voice. Helen Keeley is perfect for this book, but I suspect she would be just about perfect for any book. This is not your shallow on the surface feel good read, but it is rich and good- like Christmas!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I LOVED IT!

I was laughing, crying and ridiculously smiling through out this book. Yes it was sad, but it was real and it ended wonderfully. I can’t wait to hear more from this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as lighthearted as expected.

I choose this book to listen to, during the few busy days up to Christmas. Love the narrator, and this swayed me. Maybe I am a little too nostalgic around the holidays, the story was a bit "modern" for me. Put things in my ears that my eyes didn't want to visualize. Maybe "real" life, but ungentle for this romantic. The balance between hard luck and controversy far out weighed the glory of a triumphant ending. I would suggest tipping the scales the other way? That is the true meaning of Christmas. Victory tells a story of hope that paints a lasting and well worth picture.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Soak up the magic of Christmas

If you are looking for a lovely, yet substantial, Christmas story to help you soak up the magic of Christmas, this is perfect. This was exactly what I was looking for to listen to while running my Christmas errands, and then read while tucked under a blanket in front of my fire to end my day.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SO HAPPY

I absolutely loved this book. Such a heartwarming story. So happy for Kate, Jack and Daniel. It tells you, you're not alone, let someone help and continue to keep love in your heart.