Poseidon's Children
Books in series4
UNABRIDGED
(4.1 based on 791 ratings)
  • 1
    Blue Remembered Earth | Alastair Reynolds

    Blue Remembered Earth

    • UNABRIDGED (21 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated By Kobna Holdbrook-Smith
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (443)
    Performance
    (403)
    Story
    (403)

    Critically acclaimed author Alastair Reynolds holds a well-deserved place “among the leaders of the hard-science space opera renaissance." (Publishers Weekly). In Blue Remembered Earth, Geoffrey Akinya wants nothing more than to study the elephants of the Amboseli basin. But when his space-explorer grandmother dies, secrets come to light and Geoffrey is dispatched to the Moon to protect the family name - and prevent an impending catastrophe.

    A surprising and staisfying departure for Reynolds

    Reynolds' latest is somewhat of a departure from his more sweeping and awe-inspiring conceptions of the future. This tale is situated in the later hal..Show More »

    Reviewed on July 21 2012 by Michael G. Kurilla (ROCKVILLE, MD, United States)
  •  
    Blue Remembered Earth | Alastair Reynolds

    Blue Remembered Earth

    • UNABRIDGED (21 hrs and 43 mins)
    • By Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated By Kobna Holdbrook-Smith
    Overall
    (91)
    Performance
    (83)
    Story
    (82)

    One hundred and fifty years from now, in a world where Africa is the dominant technological and economic power, and where crime, war, disease and poverty have been banished to history, Geoffrey Akinya wants only one thing: to be left in peace, so that he can continue his studies into the elephants of the Amboseli basin. But Geoffrey's family, the vast Akinya business empire, has other plans.

    100 years out, humans are reaching for the stars.
    Reviewed on February 02 2013 by Shawn (Barrie, Ontario, Canada)
  • 2
    On the Steel Breeze: Poseidon's Children, Book 2 | Alastair Reynolds

    On the Steel Breeze: Poseidon's Children, Book 2

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated By Adjoa Andoh
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (180)
    Performance
    (169)
    Story
    (169)

    Chiku Akinya, great granddaughter of the legendary space explorer Eunice and heir to the family empire, is just one among millions on a long one way journey towards a planet they hope to call their new home. For Chiku, the journey is a personal one, undertaken to ensure that the Akinya family achieves its destiny among the stars. The passengers travel in huge self-contained artificial worlds - holoships - putting their faith in a physics they barely understand.

    Earthier, narrower, more feminine than AR's work

    Taking the history he created in ‘Blue Remembered Earth’ forward another generation, Alastair Reynolds succeeds in teasing the reader’s interest in th..Show More »

    Reviewed on July 28 2014 by SciFi Kindle (Cheshire, CT USA)
  •  
    On the Steel Breeze | Alastair Reynolds

    On the Steel Breeze

    • UNABRIDGED (23 hrs and 10 mins)
    • By Alastair Reynolds
    • Narrated By Adjoa Andoh
    Overall
    (77)
    Performance
    (74)
    Story
    (71)

    A thousand years in the future, mankind's influence expands into the universe. Alastair Reynolds epic vision of our journey into deep space will redefine Space Opera. Mankind is making its way out into the universe on massive generation ships. The new novel from Alastair Reynolds is one for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Iain M. Banks. Read by Adjoa Andoh.

    Horrible narrator

    The narrator tries to do character voices but fails miserably. Got halfway but had to stop.

    Reviewed on January 08 2015 by Oystein ()