We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .

Refine Search Results

 
Search Results for Author: 

Irmgard Keun

1-3of3results Previous 1 Next
Sort by
  • The Artificial Silk Girl | Irmgard Keun,Maria Tatar (introduction),Katharina von Ankum (translator)

    The Artificial Silk Girl

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 9 mins)
    • By Irmgard Keun, Maria Tatar (introduction), Katharina von Ankum (translator)
    • Narrated By Erin Mallon
    Overall
    (5)
    Performance
    (4)
    Story
    (3)

    In 1931, a young woman writer living in Germany was inspired by Anita Loos's Gentlemen Prefer Blondes to describe pre-war Berlin and the age of cinematic glamour through the eyes of a woman. The resulting novel, The Artificial Silk Girl, became an acclaimed bestseller and a masterwork of German literature, in the tradition of Christopher Isherwood's Berlin Stories and Bertolt Brecht's Three Penny Opera. Like Isherwood and Brecht, Keun revealed the dark underside of Berlin's "golden twenties" with empathy and honesty.

  • Child of All Nations | Irmgard Keun

    Child of All Nations

    • UNABRIDGED (5 hrs and 5 mins)
    • By Irmgard Keun
    • Narrated By Lauren Davis
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (43)
    Performance
    (12)
    Story
    (12)

    Kully knows some things you don't learn at school. She knows the right way to roll a cigarette and pack a suitcase. She knows that cars are more dangerous than lions. She knows that you can't enter a country without a passport or visa. And she knows that she and her parents can't go back to Germany again - her father's books are banned there.

    Teresa says: "A glimpse of a life in limbo"
  • Kind aller Länder | Irmgard Keun

    Kind aller Länder

    • UNABRIDGED (4 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Irmgard Keun
    • Narrated By Jodie Ahlborn
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    Kully ist erst zehn, aber sie kennt schon Wien, Warschau, Prag und Paris, denn ihre Eltern sind auf der Flucht vor den Nazis. Kully weiß, wie schwer es ist, wenn man kein Geld, keinen Pass und kein Zuhause hat, aber sie lässt sich nicht entmutigen. Das hat sie von ihrem Vater, einem liebenswerten Luftikus, der als Schriftsteller quer durch Europa reist, um Geld für die Familie zu besorgen. Mutter und Tochter lässt er meist in Hotels zurück, wo virtuose Ausreden zu erfinden sind, wenn die Rechnungen eintreffen.

1-3of3results Previous 1 Next