We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .

Refine Search Results

 
Search Results for Author: 

Eva Stachniak

1-6of6results Previous 1 Next
Sort by
  • The Winter Palace: A Novel of Catherine the Great | Eva Stachniak

    The Winter Palace: A Novel of Catherine the Great

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 37 mins)
    • By Eva Stachniak
    • Narrated By Beata Pozniak
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (161)
    Performance
    (139)
    Story
    (138)

    Her name is Barbara - in Russian, Varvara. Nimble-witted and attentive, she’s allowed into the employ of the Empress Elizabeth, amid the glitter and cruelty of the world’s most eminent court. Under the tutelage of Count Bestuzhev, Chancellor and spymaster, Varvara will be educated in skills from lock picking to lovemaking, learning above all else to listen, and wait for opportunity. That opportunity arrives in a slender young princess from Zerbst named Sophie, a playful teenager destined to become the indomitable Catherine the Great.

    Cookie says: "Not a bodice ripper!"
  • Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine the Great | Eva Stachniak

    Empress of the Night: A Novel of Catherine the Great

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 53 mins)
    • By Eva Stachniak
    • Narrated By Beata Pozniak
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (17)
    Performance
    (15)
    Story
    (16)

    Perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects on her ascension to the throne, her rule over the world’s greatest power, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.

    M&M says: "Good but not as "Great" as the first book"
  • The Winter Palace: A Novel of the Young Catherine the Great | Eva Stachniak

    The Winter Palace: A Novel of the Young Catherine the Great

    • UNABRIDGED (18 hrs and 38 mins)
    • By Eva Stachniak
    • Narrated By Beata Pozniak
    Overall
    (2)
    Performance
    (2)
    Story
    (2)

    When Vavara, a young orphaned Polish girl, is brought to serve at Empress Elizabeth's glittering, dangerous court in St Petersburg, she is schooled by the Chancellor himself in skills from lock-picking to love-making, learning above all else to stay silent - and listen. Soon, she is Elizabeth's 'tongue' - her secret eyes and ears. Then Sophie, a vulnerable young princess, arrives from Prussia as a prospective bride for Elizabeth's heir.

  • Die Schwester des Tänzers | Eva Stachniak

    Die Schwester des Tänzers

    • ABRIDGED (9 hrs and 57 mins)
    • By Eva Stachniak
    • Narrated By Gabriele Blum
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    In der Familie Nijinsky dreht sich alles nur um eines: ums Ballett. Als Bronislawa und Waslaw um 1900 in St. Petersburg aufwachsen, bewundern sie allabendlich ihre Eltern in der Garderobe, nervös vor den Auftritten, erhitzt und gelöst danach. Auch für die beiden Kinder ist der Weg vorgezeichnet: Sie werden an der kaiserlichen Ballettakademie aufgenommen - und schon bald zeigt sich, dass besonders Waslaw alle anderen überflügelt. Den Geschwistern steht eine ganze Welt offen - Paris, London, später gar New York.

  • Die Zarin der Nacht | Eva Stachniak

    Die Zarin der Nacht

    • ABRIDGED (7 hrs and 49 mins)
    • By Eva Stachniak
    • Narrated By Angelika Thomas
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    Katharina steht auf dem Gipfel ihrer Macht: Einst war sie als schüchterne Prinzessin nach St. Petersburg gekommen, nun hat sie ihren Ehemann, Zar Peter III., vom Thron gestürzt. Jahrelang hatte er sie gedemütigt und zurückgewiesen, nun reißt sie die Macht an sich und krönt sich zur Alleinherrscherin über ein Weltreich. An ihrer Seite steht Grigori Orlow, ihr Geliebter, mit demselben Willen zur Macht.

  • Der Winterpalast | Eva Stachniak

    Der Winterpalast

    • ABRIDGED (7 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Eva Stachniak
    • Narrated By Anna Thalbach
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    St. Petersburg im 18. Jahrhundert: geheime Gänge, verdeckte Türen, dunkle Nischen. Als die Waise Warwara als Dienstmädchen in den Winterpalast kommt, lernt sie schnell, sich ihre Verschwiegenheit und ihren aufmerksamen Blick zunutze zu machen. Sie wird zu einer der wichtigsten Spioninnen im Palast. Als die junge Sophie von Anhalt-Zerbst - die spätere Katharina die Große - an den Hof kommt und auf dem Weg zur Macht eine Verbündete braucht, wird Warwara ihre engste Vertraute.

1-6of6results Previous 1 Next