We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .

Refine Search Results

 
Search Results for Author: 

Bruce Holsinger

1-4of4results Previous 1 Next
Sort by
  • A Burnable Book: A Novel | Bruce Holsinger

    A Burnable Book: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 59 mins)
    • By Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated By Simon Vance
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (211)
    Performance
    (189)
    Story
    (189)

    London, 1385: Surrounded by ruthless courtiers - including his powerful uncle, John of Gaunt, and Gaunt's artful mistress, Katherine Swynford - England's young king, Richard II, is in mortal peril. Songs are heard across London - catchy verses said to originate from an ancient book that prophesies the ends of England's kings - and among the book's predictions is Richard's assassination. Only a few powerful men know that the cryptic lines derive from a "burnable book", a seditious work that threatens the stability of the realm.

    Patrick M. Dennis says: "Couldn't Be Better!"
  • The Invention of Fire: A Novel | Bruce Holsinger

    The Invention of Fire: A Novel

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated By Simon Vance
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (148)
    Performance
    (136)
    Story
    (137)

    Though he is one of England's most acclaimed intellectuals, John Gower is no stranger to London's wretched slums and dark corners, and he knows how to trade on the secrets of the kingdom's most powerful men. When the bodies of 16 unknown men are found in a privy, the sheriff of London seeks Gower's help. The men's wounds - ragged holes created by an unknown object - are unlike anything the sheriff's men have ever seen. Tossed into the sewer, the bodies were meant to be found.

    Lovisa says: "Wonderful"
  • The Invention of Fire | Bruce Holsinger

    The Invention of Fire

    • UNABRIDGED (13 hrs and 46 mins)
    • By Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated By Simon Vance
    Overall
    (0)
    Performance
    (0)
    Story
    (0)

    The richly atmospheric new historical thriller featuring John Gower, poet and trader of secrets. Set in the turbulent 14th century, this is perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom. London, 1386: Young King Richard II faces the double threat of a French invasion and growing unrest amongst his barons - and now there's evil afoot in the city. Sixteen corpses have been discovered in a sewer, their wounds like none ever seen before. One thing is clear: Whoever threw the bodies into the sewer knew they would be found - and was powerful enough not to care.

  • A Burnable Book | Bruce Holsinger

    A Burnable Book

    • UNABRIDGED (14 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated By Tim Bruce
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready
    Overall
    (1)
    Performance
    (1)
    Story
    (1)

    London, 1385: A city of shadows and fear, in a kingdom ruled by the headstrong young King Richard II, haunted by the spectre of revolt. A place of poetry and prophecy, where power is bought by blood. For John Gower, part-time poet and full-time trader in information, secrets are his currency. When close confidante and fellow poet Geoffrey Chaucer calls in an old debt, Gower cannot refuse.The request is simple: Track down a missing book....

1-4of4results Previous 1 Next