We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
This Savage Song Audiobook

This Savage Song

Regular Price:$23.62
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

There's no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains - and friends or enemies - with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city - a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent - but he's one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.

When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who's just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August's secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side - including the monsters within.

©2016 Victoria Schwab (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (109 )
5 star
 (61)
4 star
 (35)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (98 )
5 star
 (53)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (98 )
5 star
 (69)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sean Frerking 07-20-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another triumph"

    After a slow beginning (about the first hour), the story coalesced and VS wound together terrific characters in a darker than expected tale.

    I look forward to the next installment, although this book more than stands on its own.

    Highly recommend but steer toward later teens +

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna Georgetown, SC United States 09-11-16
    Donna Georgetown, SC United States 09-11-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    343
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ready for rest of story"
    Where does This Savage Song rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Top 10


    What other book might you compare This Savage Song to and why?

    Jax Garren trilogy- Beauty and the Beast


    Which character – as performed by Therese Plummer – was your favorite?

    August - gentle, compassionate and honest


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Wanting more of the story


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Britt 09-03-16
    Britt 09-03-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unique world, beautiful writing!"
    What did you love best about This Savage Song?

    The writing and the world.


    Would you recommend This Savage Song to your friends? Why or why not?

    I would! I thought the writing was absolutely fantastic! The characters felt a little bland though.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The scene where August plays his Violin.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    "welcome death with a song."


    Any additional comments?

    I gave the story 3.5 stars, but since Audible doesn't allow half stars, it will show as just a 3

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    berenis chavez 08-22-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "monster monster in the wall with blood and claws"

    story pulls you in with relatable characters and dark atmosphere, performance was absolutely powerful woo

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erica K. 08-17-16
    Erica K. 08-17-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "could not stop listening"
    What made the experience of listening to This Savage Song the most enjoyable?

    I enjoyed how unique the characters were. It was a topic everyone already knows but its spun in a new and creative way.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-09-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ok"

    Ending was some what disapointment, but overall I enjoyed it. Reader did excelent job, I would definitelly listen her again!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-30-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome book!!"

    This book is just all around awesome. It really caught my attention and it keeps you wanting more. Love Love Love it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.