We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Conspiracy of Us Audiobook

The Conspiracy of Us

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance - perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle - beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family - but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.

©2014 Maggie Hall (P)2014 Listening Library

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (567 )
5 star
 (246)
4 star
 (189)
3 star
 (94)
2 star
 (25)
1 star
 (13)
Overall
4.0 (515 )
5 star
 (219)
4 star
 (163)
3 star
 (83)
2 star
 (33)
1 star
 (17)
Story
4.4 (515 )
5 star
 (306)
4 star
 (155)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Emily - Audible NJ, United States 06-24-15
    Emily - Audible NJ, United States 06-24-15 Member Since 2010

    As an Audible Editor I listen for a living! British classics, YA novels, speculative fiction, and anything quirky, fascinating, or heart-wrenching.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1203
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    186
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    633
    113
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect for My Roadtrip"

    Last weekend I took a road trip with my toddler. I was facing ten hours of driving with only a nonverbal and mostly asleep passenger as company: I needed something that would keep me awake, engaged, and on the edge of my seat, but not scandalize my little guy’s delicate ears (he’s at that stage where he understands WAY more than he lets on). A recommendation from fellow editor Katie, The Conspiracy of Us, fit the bill perfectly. The publisher describes it as a Da Vinci Code with teens, and while this is fairly accurate, I think it undersells it somewhat. This first book in Maggie Hall’s planned trilogy is intriguing but light, with touches of romance, and plenty of fast-paced action. Enter one world-controlling secret organization and a high-stakes treasure hunt, and my imagination was completely captured. Julia Whelan’s accents (necessary with such an international cast of characters) were spot on and totally sucked me right into the story. And best of all, it wrapped up exactly as I pulled back into town at the end of my trip!

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie - Audible Hoboken, NJ 06-04-15
    Katie - Audible Hoboken, NJ 06-04-15 Member Since 2013

    Audible Editor, fiction lover, chocolate addict. "Every book is a children's book if the kid can read!" - Mitch Hedberg

    HELPFUL VOTES
    114
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    121
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hooked on Julia Whelan"

    This was my first time listening to a book narrated by Julia Whelan, and I'm officially a fan-girl. She did an excellent job with the stories and the characters (and the Russian accents!), and I'm eager to find my next listen with her at the helm.

    The Conspiracy of Us was a fresh, Da Vinci Code-esque book for YA fans. I loved the Russian/Alexander the Great angle -- highly original given that most conspiracy / historical fiction books these days center on historical figures from Italy/France etc. The book is begging for a sequel, and I can only hope that Hall doesn't keep us waiting too long!

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tonyalee Georgia 05-03-15
    Tonyalee Georgia 05-03-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    41
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I enjoyed this one!"
    Any additional comments?

    I went into this book with zero reservations or expectations. Honestly, I snagged this up with my credit because the narrator was recommended to be by another avid audiobook listener. I was pleasantly surprised by both the book and Julia’s narration.

    The plot – while far-fetched – was fun and beyond intriguing. It’s fast pace, mystery and non stop action had my gripping my steering wheel and listening way beyond my break times. The romance, while subtle, was so cute and added flare of the “forbidden” of it made it that much sweeter. There is a slight hint at a possible triangle – but I don’t think it will go that far.

    Julia is a fantastic narrator! I can see why she is a favorite (and now one of mine). I always have issues when the narrator sounds too mature for the character and that just was not the case with The Conspiracy of Us. There are many different accents in this book and she nailed each one.

    Also, hello cliff hanger! Absolutely adored this one!

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacey FRESNO, CA, United States 03-19-15
    Stacey FRESNO, CA, United States 03-19-15 Member Since 2011

    Whimsical Reader

    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    158
    39
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book but ended on a sequel note."

    I enjoyed this book. It had a fast pace and action. I did wish the heroine had a few more fighting skills: with a blade or kick ass karate. She seemed to "throw up" a lot. But overall I liked her as she was intelligent and well-read. She figured out all the clues to the mandate. She is also 16 so this may be more of a YA selection. The narrator was very good and kept the pace and interest going. I am looking forward to a sequel ASAP.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anonymous Kate 04-12-16

    Anonymous Kate

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "NOT like da vinci's code! more like twilight...."
    Would you try another book from Maggie Hall and/or Julia Whelan?

    No I would not try a another book by maggie hall. This book was far too childish for me.


    What was most disappointing about Maggie Hall’s story?

    cliche romantic intrigue.


    What about Julia Whelan’s performance did you like?

    Julia Whelan's performance was great, but the story was so ridiculous I only listened to half of it


    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    cristina Somerville, MA, United States 01-12-16
    cristina Somerville, MA, United States 01-12-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2270
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    284
    248
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    338
    83
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Warning: it's clearly Part One"

    Entertaining and fun if you like fantasy (I do). And yet, I was unprepared for the ending, which leaves you hanging (the reason why the "overall" score is three stars even though I'm giving the story four). Still, I will quickly download the sequel when it arrives.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cydney Musial 07-05-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Impressive narration for an intriguing story!"

    Story was intriguing and entertaining. Very much have a love/hate relationship with some of the characters. Julia Whelan did an amazing job with the all different accents and there were many. Can't Wait for the next book!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Suechecker North Dakota, USA 04-10-15
    Suechecker North Dakota, USA 04-10-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Captivating"

    I thoroughly enjoyed this audio book. The writing was captivating and the reading performance was superb. I look forward to the second book.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebekah 05-02-16
    Rebekah 05-02-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too wordy!"

    I was very disappointed in this book after reading all the reviews. The author goes on and on and drags things out way to long. A good part in the book gets lost because the author feels the need to over explain everything. Thus ruining a good part of the book. The main character drives me batty. She is very whiney. The narrator was the best part of the book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    patricia 03-02-16
    patricia 03-02-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A little too silly for me"

    I bought this book based on listener reviews but I did not enjoy it. The plot seemed silly and cliched. Very sophomoric. Maybe good for young adult fiction but just not my cup of tea. I couldn't finish the book. The only thing that kept me listening longer was the narrator who did a good job despite the material.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.