We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Solitaire | [Alice Oseman]

Solitaire

In case you're wondering, this is not a love story. My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year - before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people - I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now. Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.
Regular Price:$9.81
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In case you're wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year - before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people - I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.

Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.

©2014 Alice Oseman (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"The most honest and authentic account of modern teenage life that you'll read this year…outstanding contemporary fiction with appeal to fans of John Green." (The Bookseller)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • baharnn
    Brunei
    5/13/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Different. More realistic. Not bad."
    What did you like best about Solitaire? What did you like least?

    I like the realism and the bitter honesty of the protagonist. Tori is one of those characters whom you either love or hate. She isn't a happy character. She spends time ranting and seeing no point in everything and in the world around her. She doesn't even like her friends or the school she goes to. She's very cynical and pessimistic about life. Although she may seem like an unlikeable character, I felt that her voice rings a familiar bell with many teenagers and young adults. I myself felt like I can relate to her thoughts and pessimism about the world. Reading/listening about her reminded me of my own time in secondary school - and this was something that I liked about this book.

    The book may seem draggy at times in pacing as whole chapters go past with hardly anything happening or have anything significant to take note. Despite that, I didn't mind this feature at all. I felt that the pace captures what real life is like, being slow and uneventful. Although there is something of a plot in this book - the mystery of this Solitaire blog - it doesn't take central stage.

    The cast of characters were interesting at most. I find Michael Holden quirky and likeable, and enjoyed his and Tori's interactions very much. I think their friendship is one of the highlights of this book.


    If you’ve listened to books by Alice Oseman before, how does this one compare?

    This is the first book I've read/listened from this author.


    Have you listened to any of Holly Gibbs’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Again, this is the first time I've listened to this narrator. She did a pretty good narration capturing the bitterness and frustration in Tori's voice. The narrator doesn't distinguish her voice for different characters though, so it is more like she is reading the book aloud rather than performing it. However, I don't have much of an issue with that.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.