We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Illuminae Audiobook

Illuminae: The Illuminae Files, Book 1

Regular Price:$38.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award, Multi-Voiced Performance, 2016

For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series.

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she'd have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival mega-corporations are at war over a planet that's little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra - who are barely even talking to each other - are forced to fight their way onto one of the evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what's really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents - including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more - Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

©2015 Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (P)2015 Listening Libary

What the Critics Say

"Brace yourself. You're about to be immersed in a mindscape that you'll never want to leave." (Marie Lu, New York Times best-selling author of the Legend trilogy)

"Ambitious, heartbreaking, and out-of-this-world awesome." (Kirkus Reviews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (884 )
5 star
 (596)
4 star
 (198)
3 star
 (57)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (17)
Overall
4.5 (818 )
5 star
 (521)
4 star
 (203)
3 star
 (59)
2 star
 (22)
1 star
 (13)
Story
4.7 (821 )
5 star
 (657)
4 star
 (112)
3 star
 (29)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (14)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Katheryne MD, United States 11-30-15
    Katheryne MD, United States 11-30-15 Member Since 2015

    Busy mom who loves to read but doesn't always have the time. I enjoy YA, Romance and the occasional Best Seller.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4414
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    352
    302
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1374
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Romantic Space Opera"

    This book is so unique that it is almost impossible to explain it. Told through interviews, emails, instant messages, translated video footage and an AI (Artificial Intelligence) named AIDAN it felt more like a congressional investigation than a YA novel. But don’t be turned off by that explanation. It’s so much more – there is romance, mystery, action, government conspiracies, sci-fi fantasy, etc. It was a unique and wonderful space opera and I loved every minute of this listen. It’s one of the most original books out there today. I bought the print version as well for all the diagrams and pictures that can’t be experienced through audio. This is the rare book that both print and audio come together so perfectly.

    29 of 29 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ddavis.97 Crown City, Ohio USA 11-25-15
    ddavis.97 Crown City, Ohio USA 11-25-15 Member Since 2011

    ddavis.97

    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "AWESOME!"
    What made the experience of listening to Illuminae the most enjoyable?

    The four readers really added to the realization of the story


    What other book might you compare Illuminae to and why?

    The Pentagon Papers because the book is written like declassified government documents. I've never read a book written like this. It's a pretty cool format!


    Any additional comments?

    In other reviews, people are commenting that the audio version has been edited and the profanity beeped out. This is not the case. I read the book in ARC. It's is written like a released confidential government report. The swear words are blacked out in the text which is why they are beeped out in the audio. In my opinion, this doesn't ruin the story at all. If a story requires swearing to keep the reader's attention, it's probably not a very good story to begin with. Just saying....😎

    26 of 28 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Caitie F 12-07-15
    Caitie F 12-07-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best book of the year has the best audio as well"

    This is by far the best book I have read in 2015 and the audio production is incredible as well.

    The full cast adds so much to it and the sound effects build the tension.

    The writing in this book is incredible as are the characterizations and the plot. It is smart, funny, and absolutely thrilling.

    This is a great choice for anyone who likes adventure, space, love, or humor. It has it all.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JP 12-01-15
    JP 12-01-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Highest production values I have ever heard"
    Any additional comments?

    If they adapted this into a movie, only James Cameron could do this book justice.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jaqe 11-09-15
    Jaqe 11-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "WOW"

    AMAZING story, FANTASTIC performance. Talk about emotional roller coaster. It is a bit difficult to adjust to the radio theatre type narration, but once you've got the hang of it,.you're golden. Can't wait for the next book.

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tommy 09-20-16
    Tommy 09-20-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful"

    If you're an impressionable teen who thinks two idiot teenagers can save the day because they're "good at computers" or cocky, then yeah maybe you'll love this book. The dialogue is terrible. The voice acting is mostly fine, they didn't have anything to really work with here.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eli Manila 12-04-15
    Eli Manila 12-04-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    50
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book + audiobook is just mind blowing!"

    I bought the book and the audiobook. Oh, my god, I don't regret sending for both. It was such an amazingly immersive experience. The book is marvelous. Beautiful! Amazing performance, the audio book is too! Illuminae is beyond galaxy, space and time!

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret 10-31-15
    Margaret 10-31-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    86
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Illuminae"

    Really enjoyed this book. This production is beautifully executed and very immersive. The many voices make the characters come alive - almost like watching a good movie!

    11 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jonas Rapid City 10-28-15
    Jonas Rapid City 10-28-15 Member Since 2015

    I love stories and traveling in a world beyond my own. I write them, read them, view them and now listen to them!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    73
    69
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mind + Illuminae = Blown"
    If you could sum up Illuminae in three words, what would they be?

    Cataclysmic
    Imaginitive
    Awesomeness


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I honestly felt the most for AIDAN. I was equally scared of what he might do and remorsing his life playing out


    Which scene was your favorite?

    My favorite scene was when AIDAN and Grant were sharing a moment at the end after the Lincoln arrived and the Infected were trying still to desperately get at her.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Survive the black to show the light


    Any additional comments?

    This is a re-read for sure. Normally I buy audio books because I think I might take too long to read, but in this case, I'll be looking for a physical copy.

    11 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margo 05-14-16
    Margo 05-14-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good story but"

    good storyline but the format was cumbersome and hard to follow
    I would have enjoyed it more if it was more dialog

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.