We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Frostblood Audiobook

Frostblood

Regular Price:$21.71
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The Frost King will burn.

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating - yet irresistible - Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king's tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her - and from the icy young man she has come to love.

Vivid and compelling, Frostblood is the first in an exhilarating series about a world where flame and ice are mortal enemies...but together create a power that could change everything.

©2017 Elly Blake (P)2017 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"Ruby's a spitfire who faces her challenges with grit...." (Kirkus Reviews)

"This is an enjoyable, fast-paced debut that blends romance into a story of suspenseful battles, royal prisons, and rebel schemes.... This series opener is perfect for fans of Red Queen and will delight those who love fantasy, adventure, and romance. A strong addition to any YA fantasy collection." (School Library Journal)

"This enchanting and fast-paced debut lights up the page with magic, romance, and action, all of which is expertly interwoven throughout the text. Readers will be eagerly anticipating the next book in the series." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (21 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (19 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (19 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    dennis wright 02-05-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love this book"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Absolutely, I think this is my new favorite book!


    What other book might you compare Frostblood to and why?

    It almost reminds me of the series' 'Throne of Glass', 'Poison study', and 'Possession'. Almost but not really.


    What about Jennifer English’s performance did you like?

    I loved how she narrated it, her emphasis, the way she genuinely sounded happy when the book needed it, and also just her voice.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Not sure


    Any additional comments?

    Later in the book, I found myself guessing most everything that was going to happen. Which wasn't such a bad thing, keeping me snared. Finishing it in only one night, I am antsy to read the next.
    -Kate

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.