We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit | [Michael Cannell]

The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell’s high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars.
Regular Price:$23.07
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell’s high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars.

Written with the pacing of a novel, The Limit pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. The Limit captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.

©2011 Original material Michael Cannell. Recorded by arrangement with Grand Central Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Group USA. (P)2011 HighBridge Company

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (15 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.9 (12 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.6 (12 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Scott Ottawa, ON, Canada 06-22-13
    Scott Ottawa, ON, Canada 06-22-13 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    57
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A wonderfully Entertaining Listen if You Enjoy F1"
    Would you listen to The Limit again? Why?

    It's not often that I could say that I'd listen to an audiobook a second time - but fortunately I can anticipate that I'd forget some of the detail; and I enjoyed this book so much that I might actually listen to it a second time


    Any additional comments?

    I really enjoy following F1 - and enjoy listening to stories about the hay day of racing - and I've watched Grand Prix many times - I never expected to be able to find an audiobook that actually recounts the true version of what was fictionalized in the movie. This audiobook is very well narrated, and it easily held my attention as it recounted the career growth and rivalry of two principal drivers from the Golden Years of F1. More importantly it really focuses on the story and atmosphere - and not on the intricate details of racing - and that made it enjoyable - and it was the perfect length.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Aser Tolentino Vacaville, California USA 01-19-13
    Aser Tolentino Vacaville, California USA 01-19-13 Member Since 2004

    I am a blind lawyer and aspiring writer, trying to read a little bit of everything but partial to sci-fi and military fiction.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    254
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    415
    43
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    50
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Intro to F1 History"

    Even though I have followed Formula 1 fairly closely for the better part of two decades, I must admit to having known very little about the sports golden age. I'd heard the outlines of course, about a time when the glamour and glory to be had was only heightened by the danger and sense of fatalism that colored racers' outlooks. This was, I'd heard, a time when racing legends were as likely to end up in an early grave as on a championship podium, and where things like safety measures were a far distant consideration next to performance on the track.
    So I was very happy to find in this book not only an account of an iconic American driver's life and times, but a vivid portrait of a world long lost in which death and fame were the fruits of success on the Grand Prix circuit. The author rather dramatically paints in the details of the 1961 rivals' lives, highlighting their contrasting upbringings and sketching in the careers of the drivers and other people who influenced their development. Along the way, there is a long series of tragic stories of men's demise after pushing the limits of their abilities and those of their fragile race cars, or simply being unlucky. By the end, as the author suggests his subject did as well, the reader is left in awe and dismay at the spectacle of this great era in motor sport and the terrible toll it took in lives destroyed.
    This book fills a rather specific niche. If you like me knew very little of the details of the early days of Formula 1 racing, it is very much a worthwhile listen. If you are well acquainted with the period however, aside from a few stories here and there with which you might not be familiar, I'd expect you'd get very little from this production.
    As for the narration, it is good enough but by no means outstanding. Also, the reader notably employs uncommon pronunciations of several foreign names and racing terms.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-2 of 2 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.