We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Beekeeper's Lament Audiobook

The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

Regular Price:$20.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations.

In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus' stunning exposé illuminates one of the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

©2011 Hannah Nordhaus (P)2016 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"A fascinating read from cover to cover." (Associated Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (22 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (22 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (22 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    C. Garcia Littleton, CO 06-27-16
    C. Garcia Littleton, CO 06-27-16 Member Since 2016

    stone_mountain

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An excellent, very poetic read."

    This has been one of the best books on bees I've read in some time, highly recommended.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06-03-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the book"

    Well worth the read. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the author is a good storyteller. I also enjoyed the history of beekeeping through the book comma and I feel like I understand the background and importance of bees. I will listen to this again on Audible.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jaime l ade port st joe, fl, US 05-25-16
    jaime l ade port st joe, fl, US 05-25-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you are a bee enthusiasts this is a great book."

    I will read this book again and share it with my beekeeper friends. Nice narration also.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.