We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Girl with All the Gifts | [M. R. Carey]

The Girl with All the Gifts

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius". Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh. Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.
Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, June 2014 - All I knew going into M.R. Carey's The Girl with All the Gifts was that it is a zombie novel centered around a special, enigmatic little girl named Melanie. Now that I've finished, I have a dilemma — I want to convince everyone I know to listen to it, but I don't want to give a single thing away. What I will say is this: The Girl with All the Gifts is one of the most imaginative, original, and deeply human takes on the zombie genre I have ever encountered in any form. It's definitely a thriller in the true sense of the word: every time I thought I knew where the story was going, Carey completely changed the game, and there were plenty of those harrowing, suspenseful scenes that make the genre so irresistible. But what made this story truly unique were the characters — multidimensional, believable, and sympathetic personalities that stayed with me long after the story was over. If you like zombie fiction, or just great, smart thrillers, make this your next listen. And don't dare let anyone spoil the ending for you. —Sam, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius".

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

©2014 M.R. Carrey (P)2014 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"A great read that takes hold of you and doesn't let go.""If you only read one novel this year, make sure it's this one, it's amazing.""The story of Melanie and the people around her is so thoughtfully crafted, so heartfelt, remorseless and painfully human, that it takes the potentially tired trope of the zombie apocalypse and makes it as fresh as it is terrifying. The story spirals towards a conclusion so surprising, so warm and yet so chilling, that it takes a moment to realize it's been earned since the first page, and even before. It left me sighing with envious joy, like I'd been simultaneously offered flowers and beaten at chess. A jewel."

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (5964 )
5 star
 (2930)
4 star
 (2150)
3 star
 (649)
2 star
 (160)
1 star
 (75)
Overall
4.2 (5368 )
5 star
 (2576)
4 star
 (1836)
3 star
 (690)
2 star
 (173)
1 star
 (93)
Story
4.5 (5374 )
5 star
 (3452)
4 star
 (1513)
3 star
 (325)
2 star
 (44)
1 star
 (40)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Valerie Perdue USA 03-13-15
    Valerie Perdue USA 03-13-15 Member Since 2014

    VP Phoenix

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    167
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not just any zombie story"

    I'm not a zombie fan and I loved this book for it's complexities; exploring human nature and morality/ethics. A fun read with plenty of biomedical and psychological material along with some thrill and twists.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    tiffany olympia,wa 03-12-15
    tiffany olympia,wa 03-12-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    29
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good narrator"
    What made the experience of listening to The Girl with All the Gifts the most enjoyable?

    It is a really good story, and the storyline moves along enough to keep you from becoming bored.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Girl with All the Gifts?

    Especially in the beginning, they ease you into an understanding of what is going on. Although once you finally figure out the concept, you wish that they assume the reader is not stupid and quit alluding to the concept, but instead just run with it.


    Any additional comments?

    Worth listening to, probably only once though.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melissa S. Martinez Fayetteville, GA 03-11-15
    Melissa S. Martinez Fayetteville, GA 03-11-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story"

    The story was well put together and had enough science to make it believable. The characters were well developed and by the end of the story you were invested in them

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Motorjaw California 03-09-15
    Motorjaw California 03-09-15 Member Since 2011

    Love every genre - read a book every 2 weeks or so- I mix between business books, classics, modern fiction, and biographies

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    128
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprisingly great"

    I had no idea this was an undead book and normally steer clear but it was very well done - good beginning middle and end - would be a great movie.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Myron 03-09-15
    Myron 03-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No spoilers; must read to understand comments."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Absolutely, the story starts out a little strange, with the reader/listener guessing and wondering, but at the same time knowing what the story line is all about. You keep with the story to see if you guessed right, while fascinated at the turn of events.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Sergeant (everything, beginning to end), Melanie (self-acceptance and determination), Ms. Justineau (her compassion)


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Melanie’s explanation to Sergeant.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No; good story but not really a “must see what happens next” type of story.


    Any additional comments?

    I like the narrator, did not try to sound like a man, she was natural, you knew the characters when they spoke. My problem, not the narrator, was attuning my ears to an English narrator. This audio book I will return to often.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Avid Reader Girl CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI, United States 03-08-15
    Avid Reader Girl CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI, United States 03-08-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Long winded"

    The story started off intriguing but quickly became boring and drawn out. I was expecting something big to happen at the end which never did.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christopher.h.ferguson 03-07-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    One of the best performances I've heard. Well done! The story was well paced, and was a great mix of plausible and unexpected development.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carmilla DeLioncourt 03-06-15 Member Since 2013

    Carmilla

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    103
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "going into this blind"

    what a great book!! I had no idea what it was about. it was selected for my book club's monthly listen. I'm glad it won because I probably would have never picked it out.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe 03-06-15
    Joe 03-06-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Okay, so I didn't know it was a zombie book... So?"
    What did you love best about The Girl with All the Gifts?

    Finty Williams, soothe me with your sweet voice... I could seriously just listen to her narrate a history book and it would be good...

    But seriously, it was pretty cute and novel for another zed story.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Dark stories from the perspective of children are always a lot of fun. The relationships and character growth based around Melanie and her innocent wisdom really made this a charming read. The ending, while not the most novel convention in the genre, still managed to surprise and put a unique spin on the trope.


    Any additional comments?

    This book seems ripe for a big-screen treatment, that is, if the zed adoring public hasn't grown as sick of the unkillable undead as I have.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dominique D. De Vastey Dijon, France 03-04-15
    Dominique D. De Vastey Dijon, France 03-04-15 Member Since 2015

    DD

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great listen. Interesting twist at end."

    For those who like zombies and a good plot, I strong recommend this book. I couldn't get enough! I wish there was a sequel.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 31-40 of 583 results PREVIOUS134559NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.