We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Girl with All the Gifts Audiobook

The Girl with All the Gifts

Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, June 2014 - All I knew going into M.R. Carey's The Girl with All the Gifts was that it is a zombie novel centered around a special, enigmatic little girl named Melanie. Now that I've finished, I have a dilemma — I want to convince everyone I know to listen to it, but I don't want to give a single thing away. What I will say is this: The Girl with All the Gifts is one of the most imaginative, original, and deeply human takes on the zombie genre I have ever encountered in any form. It's definitely a thriller in the true sense of the word: every time I thought I knew where the story was going, Carey completely changed the game, and there were plenty of those harrowing, suspenseful scenes that make the genre so irresistible. But what made this story truly unique were the characters — multidimensional, believable, and sympathetic personalities that stayed with me long after the story was over. If you like zombie fiction, or just great, smart thrillers, make this your next listen. And don't dare let anyone spoil the ending for you. —Sam, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius".

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

©2014 M.R. Carrey (P)2014 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"A great read that takes hold of you and doesn't let go.""If you only read one novel this year, make sure it's this one, it's amazing.""The story of Melanie and the people around her is so thoughtfully crafted, so heartfelt, remorseless and painfully human, that it takes the potentially tired trope of the zombie apocalypse and makes it as fresh as it is terrifying. The story spirals towards a conclusion so surprising, so warm and yet so chilling, that it takes a moment to realize it's been earned since the first page, and even before. It left me sighing with envious joy, like I'd been simultaneously offered flowers and beaten at chess. A jewel."

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (23621 )
5 star
 (12335)
4 star
 (7951)
3 star
 (2493)
2 star
 (565)
1 star
 (277)
Overall
4.3 (21773 )
5 star
 (11066)
4 star
 (7055)
3 star
 (2674)
2 star
 (638)
1 star
 (340)
Story
4.6 (21774 )
5 star
 (14732)
4 star
 (5506)
3 star
 (1218)
2 star
 (190)
1 star
 (128)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Karina Raczka 01-19-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "soft start, intriguing story line, glad I finished"

    interesting character developments, narrator was spectacular, wish there was more action in the beginning. enjoyed!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gregory Arthur Blackmore 01-19-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "best I have listened to in a long time"

    that is the best book I've listened to in a long time truly unique and original story and a nice spin on the zombie genre

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sherrywag 01-19-17
    sherrywag 01-19-17 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    "Stunning"

    Very interesting idea of post-apocalyptic outcomes! Thrilling and scary in it's scientific basis. I hated to be at the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    theKyirux 01-16-17
    theKyirux 01-16-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent! 50% read 50% listened"

    Half read and half listened to this one. Narration was very good. I thought the pace of the story was perfect. Kept me intrigued. Concept was fresh. Details were vivid. Thoroughly enjoyed and I highly recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jerome Mayne 01-15-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unbelievable! Awesome!"

    Couldn't put it down. The story and performance are unlike any audiobook I've ever experienced.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mom, CPA 01-12-17
    mom, CPA 01-12-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "interesting twist on a popular theme"

    this book kept my attention. interesting scientific twist. not entirely unique but a good read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer 01-11-17
    Jennifer 01-11-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Every Bit of a Yes!"

    This book isn't just another one of "those" books. Ya know, those books that you can predict every plot twist chapters before it happens. Yeah, this book isn't one of those. It's so unique in its delivery. I can't stress that enough. Not to mention the narrator is fantastic.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ian 01-11-17
    Ian 01-11-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "pretty cool"

    exciting with only a couple plot holes but really well put together otherwise hope to see more of this where it doesn't just take place in Britain

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 01-11-17 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a great story, worth reading."

    I loved this book, it brought something interesting to an overexposed genre. the relationship between Justineau and Melania is dark and unsettling but so sweet at the same time. My only complaint was that it was over too quickly!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SRK 01-10-17
    SRK 01-10-17

    uberbook

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Five stars from me!"
    What made the experience of listening to The Girl with All the Gifts the most enjoyable?

    I love "apocalyptic" stories and this was by far the most imaginative and suspenseful book I've listened to (or read) in this genre. Just when I thought the characters or story was getting predictable, the author would surprise me with a twist I hadn't anticipated.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Wow. Hard to say. The characters were real people, not physical or mental superheros. Their development was consistent throughout the book and it was so believable. Its one of the few "end of days" books I've read that stays true to its storyline and doesn't throw in a random alien or something.


    Which character – as performed by Finty Williams – was your favorite?

    First of all, Finty Williams is an exceptional narrator. She made subtle changes to each characters voice, yet there was no confusion as to which character was talking. If I had to pick a character, probably Melanie. The childlike voice was just right. But truthfully, all the characters were so engrossing.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Extreme! I adored it! I've already told my son to read it (we love the apocalyptic novels) and I'll also tell my mother and daughter. Probably one of the best I've listened to all year (and I drive at least 25 hours a week, so I do a lot of listening!)


    Any additional comments?

    One thing that stood out for me was the scientific research the author must have done. Everything the doctor does is explained down to minute details, which also defines her character and her motives. Just a wonderful listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.