We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Girl with All the Gifts Audiobook

The Girl with All the Gifts

Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, June 2014 - All I knew going into M.R. Carey's The Girl with All the Gifts was that it is a zombie novel centered around a special, enigmatic little girl named Melanie. Now that I've finished, I have a dilemma — I want to convince everyone I know to listen to it, but I don't want to give a single thing away. What I will say is this: The Girl with All the Gifts is one of the most imaginative, original, and deeply human takes on the zombie genre I have ever encountered in any form. It's definitely a thriller in the true sense of the word: every time I thought I knew where the story was going, Carey completely changed the game, and there were plenty of those harrowing, suspenseful scenes that make the genre so irresistible. But what made this story truly unique were the characters — multidimensional, believable, and sympathetic personalities that stayed with me long after the story was over. If you like zombie fiction, or just great, smart thrillers, make this your next listen. And don't dare let anyone spoil the ending for you. —Sam, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius".

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

©2014 M.R. Carrey (P)2014 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"A great read that takes hold of you and doesn't let go.""If you only read one novel this year, make sure it's this one, it's amazing.""The story of Melanie and the people around her is so thoughtfully crafted, so heartfelt, remorseless and painfully human, that it takes the potentially tired trope of the zombie apocalypse and makes it as fresh as it is terrifying. The story spirals towards a conclusion so surprising, so warm and yet so chilling, that it takes a moment to realize it's been earned since the first page, and even before. It left me sighing with envious joy, like I'd been simultaneously offered flowers and beaten at chess. A jewel."

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (17482 )
5 star
 (8702)
4 star
 (6170)
3 star
 (1940)
2 star
 (452)
1 star
 (218)
Overall
4.2 (16075 )
5 star
 (7798)
4 star
 (5442)
3 star
 (2073)
2 star
 (505)
1 star
 (257)
Story
4.6 (16070 )
5 star
 (10532)
4 star
 (4329)
3 star
 (950)
2 star
 (159)
1 star
 (100)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kindle Customer 09-14-16 Member Since 2016

    stacy

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very entertaining, and surprised ending."

    I throughly enjoyed this book. Very entertaining. And a nice twist on the whole Zombie genre I highly recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    abacuscode 09-14-16
    abacuscode 09-14-16 Member Since 2001
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprisingly good"

    I wouldn't have chosen this book if I had known the basic idea. I'm glad that I didn't look it up. It was really better than I would have looked for in a (zombie-like apocalyptic type) book. I would suggest it to friends and that says a lot for me as I don't toss titles out easily.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kirsti Schellenberger 09-13-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not your typical zombie novel!"

    Fascinating exploration of what being human, being moral, and being "right" mean when society doesn't exist any longer. A very well crafted story, with fully realized characters and a very unpredictable plot line. Melanie the child protagonist of this story, is very precocious -- but it pretty much works for me in this context. Fascinating and haunting!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Josh 09-13-16
    Josh 09-13-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Strong storyline"

    Strong storyline and even stronger ending. I'm very glad I gave this one a listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lottada 09-11-16
    Lottada 09-11-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Haunting and beautiful"

    anazing writing, incredibly imagined story and the best reading performance of any audio book I've encountered.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nancy 09-10-16
    nancy 09-10-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I guess I'm not a zombie book fan. "

    good story if you like zombie stories..just not for me. good reading though. entertaining read

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris K. 09-09-16
    Chris K. 09-09-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mediocre but good for background noise"

    Brandon Sanderson has ruined other authors for me. After reading the stellar reviews for this audiobook I gave it a go, however I struggled to get into it and could never fully connect with the characters. The supposedly surprise twist at the ending left me feeling like "That was it"? I struggle to find stories of the caliber of Sanderson, and after reading the reviews for this book, I hoped for something remarkable, but was left wanting. Sigh.

    Michael Kramer and Kate Reading have also made it difficult to listen to less engaging performances by other less talented audio narrators.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zenobia 09-05-16
    Zenobia 09-05-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Writing was great. Story a little long."

    Loved the wording, easy to visualize. Why do I need to write 15 words to review?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Debbie 09-03-16
    Debbie 09-03-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping and Thought Provoking"

    I read the book about a quarter way through and knew I had to have the audiobook as well. excellent. in all respects. the viewpoints frkm Melanie, a ten year old girl, the researcher, teaher and then sergeant were believable and entertaining. I will read and listen again and again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Yankovich Pleasanton, CA USA 08-04-16
    Michael Yankovich Pleasanton, CA USA 08-04-16 Member Since 2016

    Sci-Fi nerd, musician, reading enthusiast

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A new take on horror"

    "The Girl with All the Gifts" tricked me into reading a zombie novel. Not that I have anything against the genre, it's just not at all what I was expecting. That being said, this novel was such a interesting and well done twist on the idea of a zombie book. There are twists and turns galore, characters you can truly feel something for, and a very creative twist on the zombies themselves. Carey manages to beautifully create an utterly dead world that is both believable and horrifying. This book should appeal to both genre readers and casual readers alike.

    For the audio edition: Finty Williams fits this story and the characters perfectly, providing a perfect dichotomy between the apocalyptic setting and her gentle and innocent voice.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.