We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Girl with All the Gifts Audiobook
The Girl with All the Gifts
Written by: 
M. R. Carey
Narrated by: 
Finty Williams
The Girl with All the Gifts Audiobook

The Girl with All the Gifts

Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, June 2014 - All I knew going into M.R. Carey's The Girl with All the Gifts was that it is a zombie novel centered around a special, enigmatic little girl named Melanie. Now that I've finished, I have a dilemma — I want to convince everyone I know to listen to it, but I don't want to give a single thing away. What I will say is this: The Girl with All the Gifts is one of the most imaginative, original, and deeply human takes on the zombie genre I have ever encountered in any form. It's definitely a thriller in the true sense of the word: every time I thought I knew where the story was going, Carey completely changed the game, and there were plenty of those harrowing, suspenseful scenes that make the genre so irresistible. But what made this story truly unique were the characters — multidimensional, believable, and sympathetic personalities that stayed with me long after the story was over. If you like zombie fiction, or just great, smart thrillers, make this your next listen. And don't dare let anyone spoil the ending for you. —Sam, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius".

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

©2014 M.R. Carrey (P)2014 Hachette Audio

What the Critics Say

"A great read that takes hold of you and doesn't let go.""If you only read one novel this year, make sure it's this one, it's amazing.""The story of Melanie and the people around her is so thoughtfully crafted, so heartfelt, remorseless and painfully human, that it takes the potentially tired trope of the zombie apocalypse and makes it as fresh as it is terrifying. The story spirals towards a conclusion so surprising, so warm and yet so chilling, that it takes a moment to realize it's been earned since the first page, and even before. It left me sighing with envious joy, like I'd been simultaneously offered flowers and beaten at chess. A jewel."

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (16585 )
5 star
 (8186)
4 star
 (5883)
3 star
 (1861)
2 star
 (442)
1 star
 (213)
Overall
4.2 (15261 )
5 star
 (7333)
4 star
 (5197)
3 star
 (1992)
2 star
 (487)
1 star
 (252)
Story
4.6 (15255 )
5 star
 (9939)
4 star
 (4145)
3 star
 (917)
2 star
 (157)
1 star
 (97)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    patricia hall 07-23-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing!!"

    this book was amazing! I cannot wait to see the movie!!!! you really have to read this before the movie comes out.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DesertRelic California 05-23-16
    DesertRelic California 05-23-16 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic! I just listened again."

    Felt like I was there. we'll written and we'll read. I hope there is another as good as this in that same genre.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ronald East Syracuse, NY, United States 05-13-16
    Ronald East Syracuse, NY, United States 05-13-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Might make a great movie."

    I can't really describe this book without spoiling it. Another reviewer wrote something similar and it's true. This book was like a combination of "The Last of Us" (video game) and "I Am Legend" (the book not all the awful Hollywood adaptations.) Fans of apocalyptic stories might really enjoy this one.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Claude P. Foster 04-11-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Different Perspective"

    I’m not a reader of Zombie fiction but consistently good reviews and great word of mouth made it seem worth a try. Even after making that decision, I owned it for a year before I actually read it. I could pretend I was saving it but the truth is it was just hard to pick up. Once I did, it was even harder to put down. M.R. Carey took a real risk with a zombie apocalypse story from the point of view of a zombie. Regardless of the fact that it’s a little girl, it’s still a zombie. High risk can pay high rewards and it’s the reader who gets the biggest payout. A nicely woven plot, expertly paced. Characters developed to the point that the reader can understand them even when you may disagree with them. Carey never short changes and he doesn’t abuse your trust. I’m glad I took the risk.

    The narrator, Finty Williams, was excellent.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dani Long 04-06-16
    Dani Long 04-06-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow. What a story!"
    Any additional comments?

    This is a fascinating story. The characters are very interesting and complex and develop over the course of the story in a way that is natural and not forced. The setting is not of a genre I usually go for (post-apocalypse/"zombies"), but I'm glad I did. The zombie thing isn't trite, it's actually pretty cool sci-fi. And the ending. Wow. Wrapped up neatly and all, but totally not what I was expecting. It was excellent.

    The narration was very nice! I'm glad I've found a new favorite narrator and author. Will be looking for more from them.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    talyn Paw Paw, MI, United States 04-05-16
    talyn Paw Paw, MI, United States 04-05-16 Member Since 2012

    I think Stephan King is a genius

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excitement from beginning to end!"
    What did you love best about The Girl with All the Gifts?

    The story kept me on the edge of my seat. Very exciting yet believable. It didn't slow down once!


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Sergeant is probably my favorite character. The author gives us just enough information to draw conclusions on his backgrounds and what makes him tic while still creating a strong personality with every scene he is in.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The scenes in the labs are my favorite because they are so intense.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes! I got mad every time I was interrupted and, when it was done, I started right back over at the beginning. It felt like there was so much momentum that I couldn't get bored listening to it a second time.


    Any additional comments?

    Great ending. There are so many books these days hoping for a sequel and not giving you much of an ending. This book leaves room for more but also wraps up the current conflict nicely making the reader feel they have the answers they seek.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Coraline Jones Detroit, MI USA 03-09-16
    Coraline Jones Detroit, MI USA 03-09-16 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spectacular"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Girl with All the Gifts to be better than the print version?

    I've only ever owned the audio version, so I'm biased.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    ******SPOILER******




    As strange as it may sound, Dr. Caldwell. I don't think she was a monster, but an accurate representation of what would happen if the human race were really facing extinction. As easy as it is to hate her, she was the only one who persevered long enough to find answers. Her bedside manner was sh*t, but it is what it is.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The very end, it was so poetic and redeeming in a way.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    I BELIEVE THE CHILDREN ARE OUR FUTURE


    Any additional comments?

    Wonderful read, slightly different than other books in it's genre. Layers to the plot and the characters.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dan 02-11-16
    Dan 02-11-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceptional and brilliant"

    The narrator was incredible and the authors word choice was impeccable. I'm working on getting my wife to listen as I know she would love it also.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J Bell 02-10-16
    J Bell 02-10-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable and a different twist on a hot genre"

    There are a lot of post apocalyptic books out there, but this one had a good combination of unusual perspective, good narration, and a good pace. I purchased it on a basic recommendation from a friend without knowledge of the subject matter, and despite the fact that it wouldn't be my typical subject matter, I very much enjoyed it.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada 02-04-16
    Kathleen Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada 02-04-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fascinating listen"

    Well narrated. Well written. Eerily compelling story. This was not my usual choice of an audio book but I have to say it grabbed me with a "hungry" chokehold.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.