We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Silver Borne: Mercy Thompson, Book 5 | [Patricia Briggs]

Silver Borne: Mercy Thompson, Book 5

When mechanic and shapeshifter Mercy Thompson attempts to return a powerful Fae book she'd previously borrowed in an act of desperation, she finds the bookstore locked up and closed down. It seems the book contains secret knowledge - and the Fae will do just about anything to keep it out of the wrong hands.
Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

All-new action in the number-one New York Times best-selling urban fantasy series.

When mechanic and shapeshifter Mercy Thompson attempts to return a powerful Fae book she'd previously borrowed in an act of desperation, she finds the bookstore locked up and closed down. It seems the book contains secret knowledge - and the Fae will do just about anything to keep it out of the wrong hands.

And if that doesn't take enough of Mercy's attention, her friend Samuel is struggling with his wolf side - leaving Mercy to cover for him, lest his own father declare Sam's life forfeit.

All in all, Mercy has had better days. And if she isn't careful, she might not have many more to live.

Have Mercy: listen to another Mercy Thompson chiller.

©2010 Patricia Briggs (P)2010 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (3366 )
5 star
 (2350)
4 star
 (843)
3 star
 (152)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (12)
Overall
4.7 (2376 )
5 star
 (1699)
4 star
 (551)
3 star
 (112)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.7 (2369 )
5 star
 (1824)
4 star
 (471)
3 star
 (68)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Megan Colorado Springs, CO, United States 04-19-12
    Megan Colorado Springs, CO, United States 04-19-12 Member Since 2007

    I am extremely dyslexic and if it was not for audio books I probably would never read. I travel a lot and love to have a audio book playing

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Briggs does it again"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    If they liked the previous books of this series then they would like this one.


    What other book might you compare Silver Borne to and why?

    A lot like Laural K Hamilton without all the sex


    Have you listened to any of Lorelei King’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Yes I love this readers she is so good


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carolynn Cedar City, UT, United States 04-17-12
    Carolynn Cedar City, UT, United States 04-17-12 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    838
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great addition to Mercy Thompson series"
    Any additional comments?

    This series continues as strongly in this book as in the very first. a great series to listen to while cleaning house to working on many creative hobbies

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer San Carlos, CA, United States 01-21-12
    Amazon Customer San Carlos, CA, United States 01-21-12 Member Since 2011

    The World According to JimG944

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    62
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Much like a who-done-it story"

    I rate the werewolf/fantasy novel Silver Bourne (Mercedes Thompson #5) by Patricia Briggs 5 of 5 stars. This series of books is working nicely after a slow start in books one and two. The main characters are fully developed and functioning in their world. There are several loose-end hold-overs from earlier books which get addressed in this installment. The storyline was interesting and built-up much like a “who-done-it”. Some new elements got added to this world of Fae, Werewolves and people. The build-up to the finale was surprising, but, I was a bit let-down with the finale events which could have been more difficult and challenging for Mercedes (I’m reminded of the Raiders of the Lost Ark sword fight where Indiana Jones simply shoots the swordsman with a pistol; done). I do recommend this book and this series. I’ve already started on book 6 which is the last available in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Garry Cornwall, ON, Canada 12-17-11
    Garry Cornwall, ON, Canada 12-17-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    234
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "In the tradition of Carrie Vaughn, Dawn Cook ..."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I recommend this audiobook because the narration of Lorelei King brings the whole series to life.


    What other book might you compare Silver Borne to and why?

    It is in the tradition of Carrie Vaughn's Kitty and the Midnight Hour and Dawn Cook's Truth Series


    Have you listened to any of Lorelei King’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have listened to the first five stories of the Mercy Thompson series and enjoyed them a great deal


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Movies are never as good as the audiobooks.


    Any additional comments?

    Patricia Briggs has writer a wounderful series of romantic adventure stories. I love the stories and the narration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan Blounts Creek, NC, United States 08-16-11
    Susan Blounts Creek, NC, United States 08-16-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    68
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "My Favorite of the Series"

    I enjoy listening to series so that the characters can develop over the books. I have enjoyed all of the Mercy Thompson books, and this one is my favorite. The relationship development between Mercy and the pack members was interesting as well as Samuel's relationship development! Lorlei King is the perfect narrator for this series. Her voice changes so much that I never have trouble knowing which character is speaking.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brighyehn Evergreen, AL, United States 07-01-11
    Brighyehn Evergreen, AL, United States 07-01-11 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Great Book"

    Huge fan of Mercy, and this book didn't disappoint. I'll def. be reading the next book. (or listening.)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gary Colorado Springs, CO, United States 04-09-11
    Gary Colorado Springs, CO, United States 04-09-11 Member Since 2010

    Give me water to swim and surf in. That with a glass of white wine and the sun. That's heaven.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    143
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    335
    150
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    17
    3
    Overall
    "Virgin reader"

    I never read any of Patricia Briggs books, nor heard of them. When looking for something to put into my library, I spotted the subject of shape shifter/mechanic and thought "Why Not!". I was extemely pleasantly suprised and enjoyed every minute of the book. I look forward to the next one out.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laurielu Austin, TX, United States 03-18-11
    Laurielu Austin, TX, United States 03-18-11 Member Since 2013

    Bona Fide Reflections

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    4
    Overall
    "Great Adventure!"

    Kudos to Patricia Briggs for creating such a harrowing and fulfilling story with the installment of Silver Borne. I absolutely loved this book!

    Mercedes Thompson sure can get into a few scrapes to put it mildly and this book is no different. The tension weaved into the storyline from the predicaments Mercedes finds herself in creates an edge of your seat reading experience. This series gets better and better as you read it.

    Mercedes finds herself involved with the Fae, the local werewolf pack (since she is the Alpha's mate), her mating bond and here roommate - Samuel's - drama. With all of the theatrics, pausing or stopping the book is almost impossible! I highly recommend this book!

    Happy Listening from Bona Fide Reviews!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    02-21-11
    02-21-11 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "diffrent twist on the werewolf"

    This is the 5th in the Mercy Thompson series. It's a great mystery series that has supernatural twist. I was looking for a series like that of Rachel Morgan or Sookie Stackhouse and this is it! It is a quick read and hard to put down!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    alexis walla walla, WA, United States 12-29-10
    alexis walla walla, WA, United States 12-29-10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "LOVE ALL HER WORK!!!"

    I have read all of her books and loved them. Even if a book seems slow at first; you are soon sucked in and can't remember how you got that far into the story. I Have gotten to meet Patty and Mike several times in-person (live near tri-cities) and the passion she has for writing and all of her characters beams through onto the pages. You need to read the rest of her books. And several more books for mercy to come, as-well as Alpha & Omega!!!!!!!!!! Dragons will come back soon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.