We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Owl and the Japanese Circus Audiobook

Owl and the Japanese Circus

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day "Indiana Jane" who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world.

Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief Alix - better known now as Owl - has one rule. No supernatural jobs. Ever. Until she crosses paths with Mr. Kurosawa, a red dragon who owns and runs the Japanese Circus Casino in Las Vegas. He insists Owl retrieve an artifact stolen 3,000 years ago and makes her an offer she can't refuse: He'll get rid of a pack of vampires that want her dead.

A dragon is about the only entity on the planet that can deliver on Owl's vampire problem - and let's face it, dragons are known to eat the odd thief. Owl retraces the steps of Mr. Kurosawa's ancient thief from Japan to Bali with the help of her best friend, Nadya, and an attractive mercenary. As it turns out, though, finding the scroll is the least of her worries. When she figures out one of Mr. Kurosawa's trusted advisors is orchestrating a plan to use a weapon powerful enough to wipe out a city, things go to hell in a handbasket fast...and Owl has to pick sides.

©2015 Kristi Charish (P)2015 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (63 )
5 star
 (24)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.1 (55 )
5 star
 (23)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.3 (55 )
5 star
 (29)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Shelley Reif San Diego, CA 02-27-16
    Shelley Reif San Diego, CA 02-27-16 Member Since 2010

    Shelley Reif

    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    383
    40
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Supernatural meets Indiana Jones!"

    Loved this book! Great characters & lots of action! You get a wide range of supernatural beings and the archeology and adventure of Indiana Jones! What more could you ask for? A trained, vampire attacking cat? Well you get that too! Can't wait to listen to the next book!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jelehan Apollo Beach 01-28-16
    Jelehan Apollo Beach 01-28-16 Member Since 2012

    I'm a Sci-Fi Fan, during a road trip we stopped by a bookstore and I found an audiobook of L. K. Hamiltion's "Cerulean Sins" & I was hooked.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    146
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A shot of Smiles , with a bottle of Corona chaser"
    What did you like best about this story?

    The story is written in the manner that reminds me of Sam Spade, (if it was written by Darynda Jones). It's gritty, funny, has a few wtf parts and is written so well that I had a hard time putting it down. If you like tough women that have a chronic case of smart-assidness then you'll like this book.


    What does Christy Romano bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Christy has the smart-ass tone down pat for this character. It made this story just that much better. She does a pretty decent Russian and Japanese accent but she's got Naga's down pat though


    Any additional comments?

    Look I took a chance with this author for I had never heard of her and I was very happy with what I read/heard

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacy Pikeville, KY, United States 08-19-16
    Stacy Pikeville, KY, United States 08-19-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator sounded like Kirk too often"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Owl didn't really grow on me. The other characters were fine, but she was really flat the entire time. The author made a point to tell us Owl's motivations more times than she showed us. You don't have to say how crazy you are every single time you talk to your cat.


    What didn’t you like about Christy Romano’s performance?

    She emphasized random words in sentences, which often ended up sounding like William Shatner as James T. Kirk. She also mispronounced so many words! Please learn how to say Byzantine since it's used so often. There were other words that she said wrong throughout, but the way she said Byzantine was like nails on a chalkboard after a while.


    Any additional comments?

    After getting used to the strange narration, the story wasn't bad. It could have been better, but I still got the second one in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alison 07-21-16
    Alison 07-21-16 Member Since 2012

    I like books with humor and heroics. I like the good old fashion good guy.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not really a hero or thief"
    Would you try another book from Kristi Charish and/or Christy Romano?

    This book is interesting and fun but the major flaw is the main character. She doesn't solve any of the conflicts in the story her sidekicks do. The boyfriend, best friend, and even her cat fight all of her fights. She isn't the hero of story she is the damsel in distress that bumble into every problem and the side characters have to save her.

    They also say on the summary that she is an international their bringing illusion of her breaking into buildings in the middle of the night circumventing security systems. No in the book her theiving is closer to the Nazis in Raider of the Lost Arc. She goes to the dig site and steals the stuff from the archeologists who are escalating.

    Even her cool nick name the owl was her idea. She gave herself a nick name and she cost it because she has big eyes

    She can read and write several language even long dead language but can' understand the laguange when spoken around her. That made little sense to me

    This being said the story did keep my interest and the side character are really good. The story sets up and interesting series. I just hope that the Owl gets to become more of a bad character not the weak damsel everything happens to. I admit I am tempted to get the next book


    Would you recommend Owl and the Japanese Circus to your friends? Why or why not?

    Maybe with a little warning


    Which character – as performed by Christy Romano – was your favorite?

    All but the main


    Could you see Owl and the Japanese Circus being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    Not from this book


    Any additional comments?

    Hope you like it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James 01-21-16
    James 01-21-16 Member Since 2008
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Did we miss a literary trope anywhere?"
    What disappointed you about Owl and the Japanese Circus?

    The plot (what there is of it) consists almost entirely of a Lara Croft wannabe, making bad decisions over and over again and being rescued by the incredibley handsome... oh you get the idea. The author makes the mistake of confusing plot with complication and emotion with angst. I have to admit I made multi runs at 'reading' this and finally gave up and left it unfinished.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Kristi Charish again?

    no


    What aspect of Christy Romano’s performance would you have changed?

    Nothing she was fine, but there is a saying that no matter how much mayonnaise you add, you can't make chicken salad out of chicken sh*t


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Owl and the Japanese Circus?

    all of them


    0 of 4 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • L
    10/16/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very enjoyable."

    I bought this title not really knowing what to expect, but I have to say I really enjoyed it. The story is quirky and funny, and the characters are well thought out. There were moments that had me rolling my eyes and the main characters use of the same saying over and over did get a bit annoying towards the end, but despite that it was still a very good listen. In fact I enjoyed it so much I have now bought the next in the series and very much look forward to listening to it.

    The narrator has a pleasant voice and her accents aren't too bad. She is well spoken and her voice is very clear and easy to understand. I would happily listen to another book narrated by her.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.