We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (25888 )
5 star
 (17421)
4 star
 (5826)
3 star
 (1856)
2 star
 (463)
1 star
 (322)
Overall
4.6 (22871 )
5 star
 (16066)
4 star
 (4532)
3 star
 (1650)
2 star
 (401)
1 star
 (222)
Story
4.4 (22837 )
5 star
 (14439)
4 star
 (4904)
3 star
 (2287)
2 star
 (685)
1 star
 (522)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kindle Customer Alachua, FL 03-12-15
    Kindle Customer Alachua, FL 03-12-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    "Great Story/ bad narrator"

    Another great novel in an awesome series. I wasn't quite satisfied with the ending and I hope there's a follow on book to tie everything up. Roy did a great job in the first three books but lost it in the last two. Was it really a bridge to far to go back and listen to the voices you did in the 1st 3? How do you mis pronounce names? A female character who is 1 and 10 should not sound like the crypt keeper. You got lazy Roy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles Maitland 03-11-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is Addictive!"

    A Dance with Dragons takes us deeper into plots and mayhem. Looking forward to the next book that brings us closer to the ultimate battle!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katrina 03-11-15
    Katrina 03-11-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good"

    Was not truly unabridged. Awkward pauses throughout. I'm not sure why they were there. However, the story was still great.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    christopher park 03-11-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "headline"

    a good book and a good story. 1 repeating chapter from previous book got mixed in which was very annoying.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Yelxab 03-10-15
    Yelxab 03-10-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "read it, for the good of the realm"

    Just when you think good will win out, bam. More plots and twists. Eagerly awaiting the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brandi 03-10-15
    Brandi 03-10-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love this book it's a great read."

    I love this book but I'm kind of upset because I don't know how the f****** story ends

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Orosz 03-10-15
    Orosz 03-10-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book"

    narrator is a genius I don't know how he keeps all the voices straight with all the different characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Randy Wilmington, De United States 03-09-15
    Randy Wilmington, De United States 03-09-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Waiting for Winter Winds"

    Absolutely fantastic story can't wait for book number six can't believe how many twists and turns there are in this book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Adam S. 03-08-15
    Adam S. 03-08-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoy"

    Great story, okay performance. I wasn't in to his voices. It's George Martins writing though, so come on, who cares!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erika 03-08-15
    Erika 03-08-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love it!"

    I have now listened to it 2 times! may go back for a 3rd before the next book is out!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.