We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5 | [George R. R. Martin]

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.
Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (12076 )
5 star
 (7079)
4 star
 (3146)
3 star
 (1238)
2 star
 (345)
1 star
 (268)
Overall
4.4 (10581 )
5 star
 (6653)
4 star
 (2410)
3 star
 (1048)
2 star
 (294)
1 star
 (176)
Story
4.3 (10539 )
5 star
 (6048)
4 star
 (2473)
3 star
 (1229)
2 star
 (434)
1 star
 (355)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Radford Arlington, VA, United States 10-13-11
    Radford Arlington, VA, United States 10-13-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So worth the wait"

    This book focuses on Jon Snow, Tyrion, and Daenarys with some followup on Arya and Cersei. Without Spoiling anything, I can tell you that there seems to be a death of one of the major characters. Of course once I finished it, I wanted more. I hope it doesn't take as long to get the next book out.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patrick Woodstock, GA, United States 10-09-11
    Patrick Woodstock, GA, United States 10-09-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I am a fan"

    A long wait but Martin hit it again, One of the best living authers today.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Barbara C Houston Durham, NC United States 09-06-11
    Barbara C Houston Durham, NC United States 09-06-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    360
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Performance is lacking,"

    I;ve read the entire series, In the early books, Roy Dotrice is magnificent but in this novel, he seems to be limping along. Characterizations so crisp in the earlier books are less clear. Still a good reader, Mr. Dotrice appears to be aging..

    Mr, Martin needs to write more quickly if he wants Mr. Dotrice as the reader for subsequent books,

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Samantha Snyder, TX, United States 08-10-11
    Samantha Snyder, TX, United States 08-10-11 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    111
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Another great one"

    This was another great Ice and Fire book. As always, the story was great. My only gripe is the narrator. I never realized how much better the story was with a different narrator until I hear John Lee narrate book 4. Roy Dotrice does a good job but his character voices are limited and it just seemed to flow better with John Lee.

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lupe LOMITA, CA, United States 08-05-11
    Lupe LOMITA, CA, United States 08-05-11 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    "Finish it please!"

    I want to rate DD a 5 star rating but I feel as if the Author is just dragging it along for more seasons on HBO!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    William San Pablo, CA, United States 07-23-11
    William San Pablo, CA, United States 07-23-11 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    70
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    126
    22
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "A Dance with Dragons"

    Great story, I really like this Series, great character development and action. Five star all the way

    3 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dave Minster, OH, United States 07-12-11
    Dave Minster, OH, United States 07-12-11 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent!"

    GRRM is an astonishingly great story-teller, and Roy Dotrice is a theatrical wizard. Together they once again have created a masterpiece!

    10 of 32 people found this review helpful
  •  
    07-18-11
    07-18-11 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    "A Dance with Dragons"

    Roy Dotrice is captivating as a narrator. He's perfect for this setting. It's been so long since Martin's last book in the series that it was good that I went back and listened to Books three and four before I listened to this one; otherwise, I would have been lost. I only hope it doesn't take him as long to produce another.

    4 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Hayes Pennsylvania 10-23-13
    S. Hayes Pennsylvania 10-23-13 Member Since 2013

    Brown Sugar

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't waste your time!!!!!"
    What disappointed you about A Dance with Dragons?

    This author clearly does not like women. If you want to hear women disrespected in a repetitive fashion then maybe you will like this. I was DISGUSTED! The author is no Tolkien.


    Has A Dance with Dragons turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Yes. I will not be able to continue to purchase this book, audiobook series.


    How could the performance have been better?

    For the money a female performer is needed. But the book is so poorly written it would not help.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    No. Martin is no Tolkien. I don't know why people praise this author and compare him to such a great mind. Martin is a terrible writer and with disconnected scenes.


    Any additional comments?

    Martin is clearly trying to ride the wave of the success the HBO series. But he needs to know that people are intelligent and can see through this strategy. I wouldn't. Waste another minute and intend to request a refund from audible.com

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Human 07-06-12
    Human 07-06-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "PAY CLOSE ATTENTION / KEEP TRACK OF THE CHARACTERS"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    YES
    HAVE TO READ ALL OF THE BOOKS, TO UNDERSTAND AND KEEP UP WITH THE HBO SERIES.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    BABY LANISTER BROTHER.
    HE HAS LEARNED TO LOOK AT LIFE FROM DIFFERENT POINTS OF VIEW.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    EACH SCENE BUILTS THE STORY LINE.
    MAKES ME KEEP LISTENING.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    THE STORY MOVES FROM MAGIC TO MYSTERY.
    ALWAYS WONDERING WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN !


    Any additional comments?

    THE FIRST BOOK WAS MORE INTERESTING THAN THE SECOND BOOK.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 651-660 of 667 results PREVIOUS1656667NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.