We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.
Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (23267 )
5 star
 (15328)
4 star
 (5414)
3 star
 (1768)
2 star
 (446)
1 star
 (311)
Overall
4.5 (20577 )
5 star
 (14165)
4 star
 (4230)
3 star
 (1579)
2 star
 (386)
1 star
 (217)
Story
4.4 (20532 )
5 star
 (12779)
4 star
 (4496)
3 star
 (2134)
2 star
 (641)
1 star
 (482)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lance United States 01-03-15
    Lance United States 01-03-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Simply georgous fiction"

    What can I say george rr Martin is the reigning king of fantasy. You would not want to be one of his characters though. Roy does a good job but cmon man all of the young girls sound like old hags.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    NiteVizn 01-01-15
    NiteVizn 01-01-15 Member Since 2014

    Nitevizn

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good"

    love it,! I hate waiting for the next one. I did not like the performer at first but he grew on me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Damion O. Lewis 01-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another excellent novel!"

    There were parts of this book that I absolutely loved and some portions I completely loathed. Overall it stands well above the previous entry. Can't wait for the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jason 01-01-15
    Jason 01-01-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Always a good story!"
    Would you listen to A Dance with Dragons again? Why?

    Much later, yes.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of A Dance with Dragons?

    Dude. This book is too long for a question like this.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by Roy Dotrice?

    This is actually the first book I've listened to by him. I usually read. But from what I've read about him, he's an excellent narrator, so yes. I would listen to other books that he has narrated. This book, being the first I've ever listened to, I wasn't impressed on his reading. But from other comments it seems he does perfectly fine with the previous four books.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    0.o


    Any additional comments?

    Can't wait for the next two books!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B. Word 12-31-14
    B. Word 12-31-14 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, bad narration"

    I really enjoy this series, but since book 4 Roy Dotrice has done a bad job with the narration. Voices are not consistent with previous books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ryan 12-22-14
    Ryan 12-22-14 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "is it over yet?"

    I struggled to finish this book. It's so drawn out. Wrap it up already!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ashley Roberts 12-21-14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best narrator in the business!"

    I could listen to the dictionary narrated by Roy Dotrice. The book was pretty good, too.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sdean731 12-21-14
    sdean731 12-21-14 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "terrifically done."

    li really oved it. I am very excited for the rest of the series and hope it comes soon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DC 12-15-14
    DC 12-15-14

    A dreamer who loves the adventures hidden in every story!!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic...as expected!"

    As with all the books in the series, it took me forever to finish this and not because it was boring, I really enjoyed it. However there were parts where I was saying things like "oh c'mon, get on with it already." Apart from those few and far between instances the book was keeping me on the edge of my seat just like the others. The plot twists were amazing but not shocking like the ones in the past, maybe thats because I have learned not to get invested in any characters or assume that I know what will happen next hence the shock has been greatly reduced because the only thing I expect with George R.R. Martin is that nothing you think and expect will play out like you assume. Those that have read the series from start to finish will understand what I mean. If you haven't read the series and are skimming reviews to see if this is worth your while than look no further you have hit the jackpot. My only other issue with this was Roy Dotrice narration at certain points. Though overall he was exceptional as always in some cases he got confusing. Cersei started sounding more and more like Tyrion, as did the other characters of the Lannister family when in other books they each had they distinct way of talking. In other cases the character would go from sounding strong and confident to a complete weakling the next chapter even though the circumstance haven't changed much for the character. Besides those few quips I would recommend this series to anyone in a heartbeat.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steven PLAINFIELD, NJ, United States 11-25-14
    Steven PLAINFIELD, NJ, United States 11-25-14 Member Since 2014

    Steven A Sawyer

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Distracting new voices for old friends"

    As mentioned the change in the accent by Roy Dotrice is very distracting. After 4 books its really hard to hear a new accent for beloved characters. On top of that all the women start to sound alike. Even Dullorous ED sounds less funny and precise. The pronunciation of his name sounds more like Dolores. Brand sounds like Sam. Hodor sounds like Santa Clause. All this has been stated before but it is still distracting from the story. Be prepared...especially if you are listing to the books quickly in order. Roy is an excellent performer. But this only lends emphasis to this lack of continuity.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.