We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic | [Emily Croy Barker]

The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

Emily Croy Barker’s riveting debut novel is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world. Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she is to have any hope of survival...
Regular Price:$45.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Emily Croy Barker’s riveting debut novel is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world.

Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she is to have any hope of survival...

©2013 Emily Croy Barker (P)2013 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (422 )
5 star
 (156)
4 star
 (125)
3 star
 (79)
2 star
 (40)
1 star
 (22)
Overall
3.8 (397 )
5 star
 (152)
4 star
 (104)
3 star
 (80)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (26)
Story
4.1 (394 )
5 star
 (174)
4 star
 (116)
3 star
 (70)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (16)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sophie BELCAMP, MD, United States 10-13-13
    Sophie BELCAMP, MD, United States 10-13-13 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed the story"
    If you could sum up The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic in three words, what would they be?

    Imaginative, fresh, good


    What did you like best about this story?

    I like the author's take on real magic, the lead character Nora creative way of working out problems.


    Which character – as performed by Alyssa Bresnahan – was your favorite?

    I felt in love with the King's dead grandmother from the painting, and I liked the wolfe alot


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Laugh and cry


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jerri Volunteer State 07-30-14
    Jerri Volunteer State 07-30-14

    Tell us about yourself! Love supernatural fiction. ESP Trilies. Suspense and mystery.I read for pleasure not truth!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My kind of novel"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, although some may be put of my the length. But, this is a novel to sink your teeth in. So be patience and give it a read, you want be disappointed. It is rich with the use of magic, friendship, and overall great story line.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    The tutorship of Nora and the intricate details set the stage for a great novel. I love a book with details to the story line, setting, and each characters, probably why the book is more than >24 hrs long.


    Which character – as performed by Alyssa Bresnahan – was your favorite?

    Nora was my favorite. Although she was very rude to her delivers at first, but she was quick to apologize. She maintained her knowledge from her previous life and she use that knowledge to adapt to her new universe. She is passionate about the ill treatment of women in this alternate world.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    There were more than one moment that particularly moved me, so I will just say the entire novel was moving.


    Any additional comments?

    For those readers who enjoy a long novel , interesting character, great story line this is your book. I want rewrite book in this review. It is a great book and deserves FIVES across the board. This book is completely different than any other ( it's genre) I have read.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth ARVADA, CO, United States 03-22-14
    Elizabeth ARVADA, CO, United States 03-22-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My first 1 out of 5 rating ever for audible"
    What would have made The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic better?

    A better narrator, a better writer and a non-whinny heroine.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    I'm going back to George RR Martin - hopefully he'll wrap up some loose ends, but I'm not counting on it.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Alyssa Bresnahan?

    Anyone - she added to the whinny, overly educated, snobbish, poor decision making, and immature main character.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    anger and disappointment - I sure hope the younger generation of women are smarter than this. I was so looking forward to a good book with magic.


    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tara HUDSON, NH, United States 10-08-13
    Tara HUDSON, NH, United States 10-08-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enchanting"
    Would you listen to The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic again? Why?

    I would listen to this again. It was pure magic and made my long commute to work a joy. I looked forward to listening to it every day and even had to sneak in some non-commute listening during especially absorbing passages.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Nora and Aruendiel were electric in their scenes together. So much tension, and I never knew how it would turn out.


    Any additional comments?

    Loved.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janelle 12-13-14
    Janelle 12-13-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can not wait for the next book"
    If you could sum up The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic in three words, what would they be?

    glamor magic and untold love


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    nora she is bold and capable of anything


    Have you listened to any of Alyssa Bresnahan’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    no


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Nora finding out she loves the Arrowendile


    Any additional comments?

    when is the next book coming out !

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lora 11-16-14
    lora 11-16-14

    Mother of teenaged bear, Wife to chaos, Warrior

    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    112
    65
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No Deborah Harkness"

    I'm a big fan of Deborah Harkness and although Emily Croy barker is comparable she has a writing style all her own. She's choppy and ithe story I found didn't flow well. But overall it's ok. Thier are too many books out there to go for a reread on this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Claude D. Hayden Eustis, FL 10-20-14
    Claude D. Hayden Eustis, FL 10-20-14 Member Since 2012

    Beginning: Carpenter Middle: Marine then Firefighter Latter part: IT Admin; Books have always provided fuel for my imagination to feed on.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible then slow, frusting book. Good but...."
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Smack the editor for not forcing the author to fix the book?


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    The ending, for shame, so broken and rushed, unfinished. Incredible weak.


    What about Alyssa Bresnahan’s performance did you like?

    She did fine, kept me into a story I found very frustrating.


    Do you think The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    I think so to fix loose ends but I pray the author matures in her focus.


    Any additional comments?

    I am not an author so I feel bad writing this. It almost seems like the author is a newbie, the story seemed disjointed. The first part of the book was incredibly slow then once she gets rolling its great right up to the end and then its like a last minute term paper for an ending. Rushed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    eeebailey 08-14-14
    eeebailey 08-14-14

    eeebailey

    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    172
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth it"

    I was sorry it ended. And Even sorrier to see it's the author's first book and I'll have to wait to find out what happens...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mama Whodun 03-17-14
    Mama Whodun 03-17-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nora ....changes"
    What did you love best about The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic?

    The Magician's world.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    Make Nora less annoying and petulent


    Which scene was your favorite?

    When Nora's wedding ring was removed.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Nope.


    Any additional comments?

    One should find the main character congenial. Nora starts out that way but she changes and challenges her mentor in a most annoying way. She becomes preachy and judgmental. Her feminism seems a weapon that she is quite unskilled in using much like her magic.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wendyann 02-18-14
    Wendyann 02-18-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "no competition for Deborah Harkness"

    This thinking woman was not able to finish this book. About 3 hours in .. I gave up.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 11-20 of 33 results PREVIOUS1234NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.