We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic | [Emily Croy Barker]

The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

Emily Croy Barker’s riveting debut novel is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world. Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she is to have any hope of survival...
Regular Price:$45.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Emily Croy Barker’s riveting debut novel is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world.

Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she is to have any hope of survival...

©2013 Emily Croy Barker (P)2013 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (578 )
5 star
 (221)
4 star
 (177)
3 star
 (102)
2 star
 (48)
1 star
 (30)
Overall
3.8 (543 )
5 star
 (208)
4 star
 (153)
3 star
 (100)
2 star
 (50)
1 star
 (32)
Story
4.1 (535 )
5 star
 (247)
4 star
 (158)
3 star
 (88)
2 star
 (26)
1 star
 (16)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Katie Luense Cartersville, GA 01-18-15
    Katie Luense Cartersville, GA 01-18-15 Member Since 2015

    Cluense

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome Book - I loved it!"

    I could not put this audio down! It took me three days to finish it and I cannot wait for the next book in this series. I hope it comes soon! Wow! What a story!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Desarae 11-15-13
    Desarae 11-15-13 Member Since 2015

    Designer. Aviation Enthusiast. Fitness Instructor. Love books. Prefer long series with happy endings in mystery, comedy, fantasy, & romance.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    210
    50
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hours of Entertainment that will Fly By on Magic"

    Noami is a sad somber character in a normal gray world dropped out of the fictional boredom into a Wizard of Oz style version of Pride and Prejudice. The story will set you up with tid bits to be explained far later, which is the best part. I promise my analogies will not ruin the story for you or give you any insights what-so-ever.

    This is a love tale awry. The puzzle of Naomi's life smoothly cleans up in a way you wouldn't expect as the story progresses. Unlike many modern magical tales this author, Emily Croy Baker, does a good job of not leaving you hanging at the end. I think she has a nice setting and good lines to move onto another book if she chooses but she cleans up all her bread crumbs and dots all her i's nicely.

    You will not be disappointed by the author or the narrator. Both did a fantastic job in this book. Five stars well earned.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sophie BELCAMP, MD, United States 10-13-13
    Sophie BELCAMP, MD, United States 10-13-13 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed the story"
    If you could sum up The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic in three words, what would they be?

    Imaginative, fresh, good


    What did you like best about this story?

    I like the author's take on real magic, the lead character Nora creative way of working out problems.


    Which character – as performed by Alyssa Bresnahan – was your favorite?

    I felt in love with the King's dead grandmother from the painting, and I liked the wolfe alot


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Laugh and cry


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth ARVADA, CO, United States 03-22-14
    Elizabeth ARVADA, CO, United States 03-22-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My first 1 out of 5 rating ever for audible"
    What would have made The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic better?

    A better narrator, a better writer and a non-whinny heroine.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    I'm going back to George RR Martin - hopefully he'll wrap up some loose ends, but I'm not counting on it.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Alyssa Bresnahan?

    Anyone - she added to the whinny, overly educated, snobbish, poor decision making, and immature main character.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    anger and disappointment - I sure hope the younger generation of women are smarter than this. I was so looking forward to a good book with magic.


    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tara HUDSON, NH, United States 10-08-13
    Tara HUDSON, NH, United States 10-08-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enchanting"
    Would you listen to The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic again? Why?

    I would listen to this again. It was pure magic and made my long commute to work a joy. I looked forward to listening to it every day and even had to sneak in some non-commute listening during especially absorbing passages.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Nora and Aruendiel were electric in their scenes together. So much tension, and I never knew how it would turn out.


    Any additional comments?

    Loved.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John Sarasota, FL, United States 08-26-13
    John Sarasota, FL, United States 08-26-13 Member Since 2013

    I'm64 years old and a retired design engineer. Rreading audio books since 1954...59 years. Strong interests are music and sf/fantasy, all of which I create myself and enjoy from others.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Reminiscent of Outlander, but really..."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I have already suggested that my daughter and my sister read it. As aman who they know loves science fiction and fantasy (overmuch perhap), they are sometimes leary of my recommendations. Too much gore, too much war... too much of everything and not enough or even a tinge of love and sensitivity. Not so in this case. LIke TheOutlander (and the rest of that phenomenal series, it has just enough of everything.Outlande0500009+++++++++r08 In fact, almost too much... the love doesn't get rquited... unless in the sequel, which I am now anxiously awaiting.


    What did you like best about this story?

    distinction made between Wizardry and Magic is wonderful to the point of ringing more true than many other schema.09++0


    What about Alyssa Bresnahan’s performance did you like?

    Absoltuely perfect. Great women's voices, men's voices, little girl spirit voices and more... Unbelivably a major character in the book is also name Alyssa... but since I've only listened to the audible version, I don't know if the spelling is the same. :-)


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    No, it was just a very, very good read... and I've been waiting for one for awhile.


    Any additional comments?

    Okay, so I will make a *man* comment. The fall back to a women's lib version of reality from the pre-70's is overlaid on top of this beautifully constructed "other" world. I did not see the need for doing that. It sort of works, but on the whole I thought that small thread in the book was alittle forced and not supported well enough by the characters or situations. Too much over-reaction and over-dramatizatioin. Still it breezes by, so I suppose it is there for a reason. However, like some of the very minimal (but noticeable) remarks about race/color... it doesn't work for me. I think weas readers of a book like this have moved past that... indeed from ourown upbringings in this country... America.

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen Lexington, KY, United States 04-14-15
    Kathleen Lexington, KY, United States 04-14-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great for Adult Fans of Fantasy"

    Finally! An entertaining fantasy book for the adult reader. I've always enjoyed the genre but quite frankly am sick of whiny female characters that only care about their latest male love interest. This went way beyond that and felt like a mature take on fantasy, satisfying on many levels: plot, character development, storyline premise, etc. I am looking forward to reading more from Emily Barker.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cluelass HARVEST, AL, United States 04-13-15
    Cluelass HARVEST, AL, United States 04-13-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    Really enjoyed the story. A traditional fantasy with a nice twist on Pride & Prejudice!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary Elizabeth Reynolds SUMMERVILLE, SC, United States 04-02-15
    Mary Elizabeth Reynolds SUMMERVILLE, SC, United States 04-02-15 Member Since 2013

    author of Lowcountry Legend's series

    HELPFUL VOTES
    100
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    60
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book, bad title"

    I do not have much to compare this book to, and I like that. It's not all magical, nor romance, nor fighting, but plenty of fairies and believable characters who do reasonable things.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kaitrin Shirazi 04-02-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bland, drawn-out and whiny."

    What an utter bore. I would not recommend this book to anyone. Waste of money.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 11-20 of 53 results PREVIOUS1236NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.