We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Sisters of Versailles Audiobook

The Sisters of Versailles: Mistresses of Versailles Series # 1

Regular Price:$31.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters - Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne - four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail.Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot - and women - forward. The king's scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the king. Over the following decade, the four sisters - sweet, naïve Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne - will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power. In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood - of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

©2015 Sally Christie (P)2015 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy." (Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (128 )
5 star
 (42)
4 star
 (45)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
3.8 (119 )
5 star
 (38)
4 star
 (43)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (11)
Story
3.9 (119 )
5 star
 (50)
4 star
 (34)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (9)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Alexis OAKLAND, CA, United States 01-09-16
    Alexis OAKLAND, CA, United States 01-09-16 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best book I've listened to in ages"
    Would you listen to The Sisters of Versailles again? Why?

    This book is just amazing and totally fascinating to listen to. The story is told in the form of letters and is like a multi-person memoir. The subject of the book is the relationship that 5 sisters had with Louis the XV over about 10 years, and it is personal history at its finest. If you love that type of book, this is one of the best I have read.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The story has a lot of different authors and viewpoints, which ends up being really interesting, and all the characters are extremely believable.


    Any additional comments?

    Also, the narrator for this book does an amazing job! Her "voices" for each sister seem really appropriate and are consistent through the book. I really think that this narrator is an artist at doing what she does. To me that really makes a different in an audio book, some narrators can really ruin a great book.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maymm 02-06-16
    Maymm 02-06-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stay with it."

    Initially I was bored, however, I'm glad I persisted. Give it a chance and you will enjoy the story.. quite humorous at times!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Quinn 05-30-16
    Quinn 05-30-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Like listening to a narrated movie!"

    Was looking for something a little different from the typical romance story and this was perfect. Good story with hints of romance but more for story purpose. This is told from each sisters point of view at varying times and the narrator did an excellent job. The first few minutes I wasn't sure if I would like it, then I realized I had already progressed to hooked. I felt like I had a visual movie playing out in my head the whole time.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ashley 08-16-16
    Ashley 08-16-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hated the narration"

    I thought the peculiar accents and voices distracted me from the story. They didn't suit the theme of the book.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Renee M. Tierney 08-16-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Magnificent"

    The story was wonderful and the narrative was perfect. I am so glad I purchased this audio book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.