We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Black Rabbit Hall Audiobook

Black Rabbit Hall

Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, here's a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall.

Ghosts are everywhere - not just the ghost of Momma in the woods but ghosts of us, too, what we used to be like in those long summers....

Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family's country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, of course, it does.

More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she's drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface, and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor's labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate.

Stunning and atmospheric, this debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.

©2016 Eve Chase (P)2016 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"The ominous tone of this audiobook draws in the curious listener from the first scene. Three narrators collaborate, stitching together the lives of the characters in a seamless listening experience.... Buscombe, Scarfe, and Campbell create artistic portraits of each character, including the gruff masculine ones." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (171 )
5 star
 (84)
4 star
 (60)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (154 )
5 star
 (74)
4 star
 (55)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.6 (155 )
5 star
 (105)
4 star
 (36)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Laura 02-11-16
    Laura 02-11-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    115
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    365
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you love Kate Morton"

    If you love Kate Morton, Black Rabbit Hall is a must read. Like Morton, Eve Chase weaves together rich characters with scenery so breathtaking, it almost becomes a character itself. The storyline made me never want to pause. I loved this book and look forward to more books by this author.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ashley N Mayfield Florida, USA 03-25-16
    Ashley N Mayfield Florida, USA 03-25-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    151
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A story that works into your soul"

    A mixture of love, horror, and the truth behind it all this is a strong novel that forces the listener to picture the haunted lives that are linked through time. Few books leave me rethinking my own darkest moments and thoughts but this one did, it will be with me for a long time as one of my favorites.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S.Edwards 02-29-16
    S.Edwards 02-29-16 Member Since 2012

    Bookworm

    HELPFUL VOTES
    43
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    110
    92
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good story in the Kate Morton school of writing."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I'm not sure I would as I really found one of the narrators very hard to listen to.In fact, she starts the story and I nearly gave up with the whole thing because of her. She has a terribly grating tone and their is something innately annoying about her. She manages to make Lorna and John terribly annoying too. I couldn't like Lorna because of the whiney voice the narrator gives her which makes her seem very weak. John is made overbearing and patronizing by what I think is overacting on the part of the reader. I have a feeling I would have enjoyed this story far more if I had read it myself. I would be likely to recommend the book, but not the audio.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Lucian because he was brave and honorable and kind.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by the narrators?

    No.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    All the losses were very moving and unsettling. I hated what happened to poor, Old Harry.


    Any additional comments?

    This is a good story which is most certainly in the school of Kate Morton. I wish the main character of Lorna had been portrayed as stronger and more positive, but I think a lot of my dislike of this character must stem from the narrator. I think I will avoid audiobooks that involve Nathalie Buscombe.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Fan Dunlap, Illinois United States 02-15-16
    Amazon Fan Dunlap, Illinois United States 02-15-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book Go ahead and fall down the rabbit hole too."

    Good adventure I have just poked my head up from the rabbit hole. Blinked and returned to present day and time.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kimpatbrad 02-24-16
    kimpatbrad 02-24-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "black rabbit hall, wish it could have gone on..."

    the narrator was really good I really enjoyed her! the kind of story you wish could go on and on further into the future with the family be able to know what happened to black rabbit hall afterwards thought that was Toby coming but wasn't sure of that. use the book for traveling 426 miles each way still wish it could have gone on

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie French USA 07-14-16
    Katie French USA 07-14-16 Member Since 2012

    Underground Book Reviews: Erasing the boundaries between traditional and non-traditional publishing

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very well done"

    I really enjoy this story. The mystery kept you guessing. Good combo of YA and adult.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    WONDER Russell Spokane, WA 06-19-16
    WONDER Russell Spokane, WA 06-19-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    And absolutely gorgeous, Gothic tale of love and the loss, with insights that are sharp and sweet. The mystery unfolds this tantalizing twists and turns that kept me riveted.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lauren 05-05-16
    Lauren 05-05-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Phenomenal story and storytellers"

    The narrators are FABULOUS. Amazing story brought even more to like by each voice I felt like I knew each person and character through the performance. Highly recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Angela Bulkley 04-29-16 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great read"

    I sped through this book enjoying the wild ride. I will definitely look for more by this author

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary 02-15-16
    Mary 02-15-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    110
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stupidest story ever."

    This book was such a disappointment. The story is foolish, disjointed, unbelieveable. The reader is quite good, but wasted on this rediculous novel.

    0 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.