We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Watching Edie Audiobook

Watching Edie

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: a dazzling work of psychological suspense that weaves together the past and present of two women's twisted friendship.

Beautiful, creative, a little wild...Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then - but it didn't take long for her to learn that things don't always turn out the way you want them to.

Now, at 33, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant, and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there's no one to turn to....

But someone's been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It's no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie's doorstep just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them - so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie's about to learn a new lesson: Those who have hurt us deeply - or whom we have hurt - never let us go, not entirely....

©2016 Camilla Way (P)2016 Penguin Audio

What the Critics Say

"Skilled performances by Heather Wilds and Fiona Hardingham give psychological insights into the two main characters.... Both Hardingham and Wilds are so good that there's no turning this off." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (24 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.1 (21 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.1 (21 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Nukkles San Diego, CA USA 08-21-16
    Nukkles San Diego, CA USA 08-21-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    93
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "READ the book, DON'T LISTEN to it"

    There are two major characters in the book, each portrayed by a different narrator. The narrator who plays "Heather" is totally inappropriate for the role. She's supposed to be a large, blond young woman from Wales, but sounds like anything but, with a strong accent from the West Indies. I really had difficultly getting through her sections, which were stacatto and sing songy.

    That being said, the book is very well written and if you can get past the voice of one narrator, the characters are very well drawn, as is the plot. You will recognize the characters, the motives, and perhaps even some of the behavior, from your youth and maybe the book will help you fill the gaps in your understanding of persons you once knew.

    I really recommend the book highly in print.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nikole 08-04-16
    Nikole 08-04-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator ruins the book"

    I tried listening to this book on multiple occasions but the narrator ruined a book I was so looking forward to. Too bad for the author to have her book limited to those only tolerant of the annoying narrator's voice and cadence.

    1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.