We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Warlord Audiobook

Warlord: An Alex Hawke Thriller

Alex Hawke has all but given up on life. The British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative lost the woman he loved almost a year ago and has sought refuge at the bottom of a rum bottle ever since. But late one night at his home on Bermuda, he receives a wake-up call... literally. His Royal Highness Prince Charles, an old friend, desperately needs his help. The prince has discovered a not-so-subtle threat directed toward the British royal family.
Regular Price:$27.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Alex Hawke has all but given up on life. The British-American MI6 counterterrorism operative lost the woman he loved almost a year ago and has sought refuge at the bottom of a rum bottle ever since. But late one night at his home on Bermuda, he receives a wake-up call... literally.

His Royal Highness Prince Charles, an old friend, desperately needs his help. The prince has discovered a not-so-subtle threat directed toward the British royal family. What’s more, the evidence reveals an ominous connection to Charles’s godfather, Lord Mountbatten - the beloved family patriarch assassinated by an ingeniously designed bomb 30 years before. A shadowy figure from the past has the British crown in his sights, and has proven once before that his warnings are not to be taken lightly. Several clues point to IRA involvement, but the authorities have little to go on and answers are scarce. This is just the call to duty Hawke needs to get back into action - if the madman doesn’t strike first.

Take another thrill ride with Alex Hawke.

©2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Bell's fine sixth thriller featuring swashbuckling British spy Alex Hawke mixes action and suspense with just the right amount of humor and old-fashioned boys-book adventure." (Publishers Weekly)

“A James Bondish adventure brought up to date…. A meaty, entertaining thriller…just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming.” (Kirkus Reviews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (627 )
5 star
 (249)
4 star
 (212)
3 star
 (108)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (26)
Overall
4.0 (366 )
5 star
 (148)
4 star
 (125)
3 star
 (54)
2 star
 (28)
1 star
 (11)
Story
4.2 (370 )
5 star
 (177)
4 star
 (127)
3 star
 (49)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Anton S. Gardner 12-29-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't Finish This One"
    What would have made Warlord better?

    If the ranting about how the terrorist should all be taken out and shot because they are all pure evil could have been done in one part of the book instead of repeated over and over. Only outdone by the praise of how perfect Americans are in every way.


    Has Warlord turned you off from other books in this genre?

    It has turned me off of reading anymore of this series - which is too bad as I enjoyed the over-the-top adventures of Alex.


    Which character – as performed by John Shea – was your favorite?

    I always like Alex and he doesn't get as deep into the propaganda as his buddy does.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Warlord?

    Many of the tirades by Stokely.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Hagerstown, MD, United States 08-22-12
    David Hagerstown, MD, United States 08-22-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpectedly Entertaining"
    What did you love best about Warlord?

    This is my first book by Ted Bell or the narrator John Shea. I had minimal expectations before beginning, but was immediately immersed into a great story by an excellent reader.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Warlord?

    Since this is very similar to the epic adventures on a great James Bond book, you can say there is a single moment. The twists and turns, different venues, and outrageous situations are all memorable.


    Have you listened to any of John Shea’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not listened to any of John Shea's work. However, half way through the book I did a search to find other works he has done. One of the best I have listened to so far.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The book had some extreme action sequences and situations. I cannot believe that these books have not be good candidates for Hollywood action movies.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sherry Provost Atlanta, GA 05-24-12
    Sherry Provost Atlanta, GA 05-24-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I have enjoyed this series until this book. Perhaps not great literature, but at least enjoyable yarns. This story is contrived, disjointed and boring. Not even Princess Di could save it. It seems likely this is one where Bell owed his editor another book, but didn't want to write it. I may try one more (if he writes any more) in this series, but if it is not a lot better than this one, I'm done.


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    Human Blend by Alan Dean Foster.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Wasn't one.


    Did Warlord inspire you to do anything?

    Erase it before I was done.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Catherine SPRINGVILLE, IA, United States 12-04-11
    Catherine SPRINGVILLE, IA, United States 12-04-11 Member Since 2007

    dogwalker

    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    71
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poor Alex Hawke!"

    Poor Alex Hawke, he does not seem able to keep his mates alive. Then he goes into a terrible self destructive dive and then miracles, he recovers to work on another problem. The theme is getting old. The whole book seemed to be very formula driven. It was a difficult to listen to since it seemed so mechanical. I normally like Ted Bell style of writing but this book could have been by any thrill writer. I am probably done with listening to this series.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    D. WARD Midlothian, Virginia United States 10-21-11
    D. WARD Midlothian, Virginia United States 10-21-11 Member Since 2009

    Diana bookworm

    HELPFUL VOTES
    130
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    259
    75
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I didnt like it very much...."

    Maybe just not my cuppa tea. Rather long winded at times, distracting accents....I didnt get to the finish!!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    luke canberra, Australia 09-24-11
    luke canberra, Australia 09-24-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    362
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "tedious unrealistic in a juvenile way"
    Would you try another book from Ted Bell and/or John Shea?

    This one bought me so close to necking myself i wouldnt risk another.


    What could Ted Bell have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    not written it


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of John Shea?

    no one


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    all the above


    Any additional comments?

    complete crap

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brodie Mornington, Australia 04-22-11
    Brodie Mornington, Australia 04-22-11 Member Since 2009

    An unashamed Audiophile who has his own studio and business called iZENEARS which brings Australian travel and history to life for locals and visitor's alike.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    207
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    158
    101
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    17
    0
    Overall
    "Thin and predictable"

    Having just worked my way through the Clancy epics I needed a change of reader. This was so predictable once the characters had been established, I became impatient to have my predictions verified. Thin is the best descriptor because it feels like a novel that has been ‘built’ rather than written with knowledge and passion. One gets the impression the Mr Bell travels as a tax write off so he can manufacture a tale or, worse still, just Googles everything for his research.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James columbus, OH, United States 03-11-11
    James columbus, OH, United States 03-11-11 Member Since 2015

    sports announcer, cyclist, enjoys to travel and the outdoors.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    145
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    219
    108
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very good !"

    This was my first ted bell experience / Alex Hawke. I enjoyed the book, story line. It is a good book worth reading. my only negitive comment is that a few times in the book, when the story would change and go back in time, you did not know that until you had listened to it for a while. Bell needs to include dates when he jumps back and forth so the listener has that knowledge

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pat Martinez, CA, United States 11-05-10
    Pat Martinez, CA, United States 11-05-10 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent listen"

    Wow... is this a movie or going to be? This is everything the action movies of today are and more. Stokes is my absolute favorite! I have stayed away from the current wave of terrorist novels because I see enough of that on the news. I listen for entertainment and suspense. This book has opened a new world in listening for me and I will be enjoying another one of Mr Bell's books soon. - it really SHOULD be made into a movie, though!
    John Shea has to be one of the best male narrators as well. Kuddos for an excellent listen!

    4 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lesley 09-19-10
    lesley 09-19-10 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    226
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    137
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    16
    0
    Overall
    "Waiting for # 5"

    On a scale of 1-5 Warlord is a 6. Bell has absalutely done it again!!! This is the best of the series and will keep you laughing or intrench until the very end. Thank you Mr. Bell for such a wounderful batch of caractors with a narrator that is unmatch in a story that can only come from the vivid mind of Master Dr Bell.

    5 of 10 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.