We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Yard Audiobook

The Yard

Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (1424 )
5 star
 (563)
4 star
 (566)
3 star
 (210)
2 star
 (46)
1 star
 (39)
Overall
4.1 (1269 )
5 star
 (505)
4 star
 (487)
3 star
 (201)
2 star
 (49)
1 star
 (27)
Story
4.3 (1271 )
5 star
 (678)
4 star
 (419)
3 star
 (125)
2 star
 (31)
1 star
 (18)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Caitlen Hudak 11-06-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Delightful"

    Drew me in completely and kept me engrossed the whole time.
    The story was well developed and well narrated.
    Definitely recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 08-07-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    129
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "challenging"

    police procedural that shows the very human detectives trying to solve a difficult pair of cases in post ripper London. excellently well done

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lindsay 07-16-15
    Lindsay 07-16-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    132
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I struggled with this one..."
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    So very many subplots that intertwined as if London was only 4 square miles assuring everyone would run into one another, thus making each subplot tangle up with another. Just a bit too much to tolerate at times.


    If you’ve listened to books by Alex Grecian before, how does this one compare?

    N/A


    Which scene was your favorite?

    None in particular


    Do you think The Yard needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    yes - fairly decent Yard characters.


    Any additional comments?

    I think the author needs to spend more time developing the main plot and it's subtle aspects and minimize the subplots. A side-bar now and again is nice, but there is too much competition for the listeners attention. I think the main characters from the Yard are well done and hold my interest, but the two whores were a complete waste of time and listening. I give it a B minus.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alcairha Brooklyn, NY 06-24-15
    Alcairha Brooklyn, NY 06-24-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    143
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    262
    64
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Scotland Yard in the Victorian Era"

    If you love Victorian era novels, then you will love this book! Tremendously atmospheric, populated by likable, believable characters and fast moving plot with highly satisfying ending- this story has it all. The depiction of the horrendous conditions of the poor and of many children in those times is not for the faint of heart, but it does make one appreciate the wealth of our current society and our social service network in spite of its failings. I had a bit of trouble with the narrator's habit of pausing after every sentence, but once I adjusted, I really liked him. His accent was perfect for the story and he managed to bring each of characters to life in their own way. Can't wait to listen to the next book in the series!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie Chicagoland Area 06-05-15
    Julie Chicagoland Area 06-05-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    I love the English Murder Squad book series genre - so I wasn't sure I'd like this style. But I loved it! This was really entertaining - and didn't get bogged down trying to explain the period in time. A little graphic - but I knew what I was getting into before I started listening. Good stuff!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon 06-04-15
    Sharon 06-04-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    73
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    149
    46
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great step back in time"

    Wonderful performance with a good story. Easy to visualize London in the 1800's. Very much enjoyed the characters and the plot

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JONATHAN LLOYD 03-30-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Will Continue With Series"

    Well done all around - excellent story and well told. Very likeable core of characters, very unlikeable villain. All brought to life very well

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Avid Listener and Reader 03-07-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Good Listen"

    Took a while to get the story going but once the scene was set and characters drawn out the pace picked up.

    Narrator is excellent. He mastered different tones, accents and dialects for so many men, a handful of women and children brilliantly!

    My favorite parts were in Dr. Kingsley's lab. These weren't fast paced chase scenes, I but found them riveting as this was where the mystery's puzzle pieces were put together.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zoe Morgan 02-23-15
    Zoe Morgan 02-23-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Long and tedious, with lots of historical detail."

    This was a bit long, and there et were simply too many characters in the beginning. I was hoping for something like Ripper Street, but the characters weren't as interesting. Furthermore, while I like forensics as much as any reader, having to watch yet another character 'discover' fingerprints and explain them was so tedious I wanted to cry. The mystery is decent, or I should say, one of them is....there is a subplot which is entirely unnecessary and could have been cut.

    As for the narrator, he has a beautiful voice and did a great job distinguishing among the numerous characters (almost all male, but when he did the women, he didn't do the annoying falsetto thing so many male narrators do). That said, the most annoying and distracting thing ever (and this could be more of an editing problem) was that he took an audible breath before every single sentence. I never got used to it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Glendale, Arizona, United States 09-06-14
    Amazon Customer Glendale, Arizona, United States 09-06-14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting First Encounter with This Author"

    I found "The Yard" to be an interesting first encounter with Alex Grecian. I really had no idea what to expect but enjoyed being taken back to the days when crime solving did not have all of the advantages of today's wonderful forensic medicine capabilities.

    As I listened, I could clearly envision the misty streets of London and the gray stone walls of Scotland Yard. At times it was a little difficult for me to follow the British accent, but, all in all, I was able to follow the story quite well.

    One can easily imagine the thoughts and concerns of detectives at the new process of fingerprints was beginning to be discussed and not at all thoroughly trusted.

    I would suggest that the crime solving presented in this book is quite realistic as it often times just happens upon a matter of blind luck more than any super detective work.

    Being as London was rocking under the time frame of "Jack the Ripper", some aspects of the book may be a little bit grisly for some readers, but all in all a good listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.