We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Yard | [Alex Grecian]

The Yard

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley.
Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (758 )
5 star
 (280)
4 star
 (303)
3 star
 (122)
2 star
 (26)
1 star
 (27)
Overall
4.0 (664 )
5 star
 (245)
4 star
 (263)
3 star
 (109)
2 star
 (30)
1 star
 (17)
Story
4.2 (664 )
5 star
 (307)
4 star
 (246)
3 star
 (81)
2 star
 (19)
1 star
 (11)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    M. Solis Yucatan, MX 08-23-12
    M. Solis Yucatan, MX 08-23-12 Member Since 2007

    Malena

    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    157
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, very entertaining, characters to care about.


    What other book might you compare The Yard to and why?

    The Sherlock Holmes series, about the same period, crime suspense, investigation.


    What does Toby Leonard Moore bring to the story that you wouldn???t experience if you just read the book?

    Giving voice to the different characters makes you care more for them


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Just the final chapters


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michele Glen Cove, NY, United States 08-20-12
    Michele Glen Cove, NY, United States 08-20-12 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Whole Package"
    What made the experience of listening to The Yard the most enjoyable?

    Story, narration, characters all fantastic. Totally absorbing.


    What did you like best about this story?

    A realistic look inside Scotland Yard in the Victorian era.


    Have you listened to any of Toby Leonard Moore’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    no


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The flashbacks to when Hammersmith was a boy working in the mines.


    Any additional comments?

    Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol CLINTON, ME, United States 08-20-12
    Carol CLINTON, ME, United States 08-20-12 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good read"
    Where does The Yard rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    For this type of book it rates above a average! Would enjoy another like it.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Fin. Very brave little boy.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    ?


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Neither! Some of it very sickening & to think it could have actually happened in those days.


    Any additional comments?

    No

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Debbie BERTHOUD, CO, United States 08-16-12
    Debbie BERTHOUD, CO, United States 08-16-12 Member Since 2014

    Northwest transplant

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Suspense, mystery, and understated humor"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I have recommended this book to my friends. The narration is great, the various plotlines and characters are fascinating, and every once in a while there's a sliver of good British humor woven through to lighten things up when it gets a little dark. I could not put it down. It was fascinating to get a glimpse at what early forensics might have been like.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    i came to care about the characters, and there was just enough of a believable threat that I worried about who would be next, what would become of a child in danger, and how the parts were interwoven.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Can't tell about my favorite scene without giving away an important event in the story.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes. It kept me up late more than once.


    Any additional comments?

    Cannot wait for the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles DANVILLE, CA, United States 08-13-12
    Charles DANVILLE, CA, United States 08-13-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent read!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Yard to be better than the print version?

    Don't know.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Yard?

    Fenn's escape.


    What about Toby Leonard Moore’s performance did you like?

    His characterizations.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Scotland Yard and the men who made it great!


    Any additional comments?

    The book was thoroughly engrossing from start to finish.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sheila Milladore, WI, United States 08-06-12
    Sheila Milladore, WI, United States 08-06-12 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Possible good start for a seies"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I read a lot of this type of books. I thnk for the era Anne Perry is better. For the story aspect modern era Minette Walters is great.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Alex Grecian? Why or why not?

    Yes, I think the writer has potential.


    What does Toby Leonard Moore bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He is an excellent reader.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-01-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good plot, but a bit dark for my taste"
    Would you try another book from Alex Grecian and/or Toby Leonard Moore?

    I enjoyed the overall theme and plot of this book very much; I am intrigued to go find out if any of the main Yard characters were based on any actual historical figures. The only problem I had with it was that main characters being attacked too much - I know it's wimpy, but I can't stand the suspense. If you, on the other hand, enjoy it - then this book could be just the thing for you! I listened to the 1st section, but fast forwarded through most of the 2nd, to the final hour of the book. I did want to find out how it ended ;)


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pamela 08-01-12
    Pamela 08-01-12 Member Since 2011

    I love mysteries!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"
    What did you love best about The Yard?

    The characters were very interesting. The setting (London) was well portrayed.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    Knowing who the killer was and hoping the police would catch him soon was suspenseful.


    What about Toby Leonard Moore’s performance did you like?

    He did the London accents very well.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Some of the characters were very funny, but the scared little boy made me sad.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Helen 07-30-12
    Helen 07-30-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    561
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Be aware that this is an ENGLISH murder mystery"
    Any additional comments?

    This is a good mystery, but it is written from an English point of view, which isn't the same as say a California point of view. They seemed to spend an inordinate amount of time being "polite". It isn't my "cup of tea". I'll not be buying anymore from this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah BLOOMINGTON, IN, United States 07-06-12
    Sarah BLOOMINGTON, IN, United States 07-06-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    57
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I want to listen but I can't stand the narration"
    How could the performance have been better?

    The narrator reads every single sentence in the EXACT same rhythm. After fifteen minutes it's grating. After 30 I turned it off. The story was interesting but I just couldn't overcome the tedious narration.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 51-60 of 63 results PREVIOUS1567NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.