We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Yard Audiobook

The Yard

Regular Price:$24.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....

When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

©2012 Alex Grecian (P)2012 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (1314 )
5 star
 (511)
4 star
 (528)
3 star
 (195)
2 star
 (42)
1 star
 (38)
Overall
4.1 (1171 )
5 star
 (456)
4 star
 (457)
3 star
 (186)
2 star
 (46)
1 star
 (26)
Story
4.3 (1172 )
5 star
 (610)
4 star
 (395)
3 star
 (119)
2 star
 (30)
1 star
 (18)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Julie Chicagoland Area 06-05-15
    Julie Chicagoland Area 06-05-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    I love the English Murder Squad book series genre - so I wasn't sure I'd like this style. But I loved it! This was really entertaining - and didn't get bogged down trying to explain the period in time. A little graphic - but I knew what I was getting into before I started listening. Good stuff!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon 06-04-15
    Sharon 06-04-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    129
    40
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great step back in time"

    Wonderful performance with a good story. Easy to visualize London in the 1800's. Very much enjoyed the characters and the plot

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JONATHAN LLOYD 03-30-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Will Continue With Series"

    Well done all around - excellent story and well told. Very likeable core of characters, very unlikeable villain. All brought to life very well

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Avid Listener and Reader 03-07-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Good Listen"

    Took a while to get the story going but once the scene was set and characters drawn out the pace picked up.

    Narrator is excellent. He mastered different tones, accents and dialects for so many men, a handful of women and children brilliantly!

    My favorite parts were in Dr. Kingsley's lab. These weren't fast paced chase scenes, I but found them riveting as this was where the mystery's puzzle pieces were put together.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zoe Morgan 02-23-15
    Zoe Morgan 02-23-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Long and tedious, with lots of historical detail."

    This was a bit long, and there et were simply too many characters in the beginning. I was hoping for something like Ripper Street, but the characters weren't as interesting. Furthermore, while I like forensics as much as any reader, having to watch yet another character 'discover' fingerprints and explain them was so tedious I wanted to cry. The mystery is decent, or I should say, one of them is....there is a subplot which is entirely unnecessary and could have been cut.

    As for the narrator, he has a beautiful voice and did a great job distinguishing among the numerous characters (almost all male, but when he did the women, he didn't do the annoying falsetto thing so many male narrators do). That said, the most annoying and distracting thing ever (and this could be more of an editing problem) was that he took an audible breath before every single sentence. I never got used to it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Glendale, Arizona, United States 09-06-14
    Amazon Customer Glendale, Arizona, United States 09-06-14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting First Encounter with This Author"

    I found "The Yard" to be an interesting first encounter with Alex Grecian. I really had no idea what to expect but enjoyed being taken back to the days when crime solving did not have all of the advantages of today's wonderful forensic medicine capabilities.

    As I listened, I could clearly envision the misty streets of London and the gray stone walls of Scotland Yard. At times it was a little difficult for me to follow the British accent, but, all in all, I was able to follow the story quite well.

    One can easily imagine the thoughts and concerns of detectives at the new process of fingerprints was beginning to be discussed and not at all thoroughly trusted.

    I would suggest that the crime solving presented in this book is quite realistic as it often times just happens upon a matter of blind luck more than any super detective work.

    Being as London was rocking under the time frame of "Jack the Ripper", some aspects of the book may be a little bit grisly for some readers, but all in all a good listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Blue Dragonfly 09-01-14

    BlueDragonfly

    HELPFUL VOTES
    302
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    141
    84
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the finest stories I've ever listened to"
    Would you listen to The Yard again? Why?

    Absolutely! It was a wonderful story filled with so many intriguing characters, great action and adventure and poignant human interactions.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The humanity of the characters as they interact with each other. Even the villains were forgivable in their flaws.


    Which character – as performed by Toby Leonard Moore – was your favorite?

    There were so many wonderful characters that it is hard to pinpoint just one. I liked all of the detectives and their helpers who came out from the underworld of London to assist them. The "Dancing Man", the Doctor, and the boy, Fen, were especially interesting. You see, it is hard to choose!


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I was very touched by the kindness shown by the detectives and the doctor and their respect for humanity and their dedication to the populace who depended on them.


    Any additional comments?

    This book took me several days to listen to and I could hardly wait in between to listen to the next part. I had recently seen a documentary on the history of Scotland Yard and the Metropolitan Police and this stayed very close to the historical background. The author did his research well. The characters are wonderful and diverse and the back stories for each are great and help the listener to understand their motivations for their behavior. The poignancy of the interactions made it very heart-warming, even though it is essentially a story about solving crimes and apprehending criminals. I can't wait to listen to the next book in the series. Alex Grecian is a truly gifted and lyrical writer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Simone 05-19-14
    Simone 05-19-14 Member Since 2016

    Follow me on Goodreads too!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1100
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    633
    511
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    96
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Glad I Took the Chance"

    I don’t usually like murder-mysteries, but I took a chance on this one because I liked the background of London in the late 1800s.

    I enjoyed it! I was drawn to the intrigue and the setting and I appreciated that it was not jammed with gratuitous maniacal serial killer gore and violence; sure there was some but it wasn’t over-blown.

    Less murder and more mystery – that’s the balance I like.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris Lausanne, Switzerland 03-06-14
    Chris Lausanne, Switzerland 03-06-14 Member Since 2005
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    228
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very well written with interesting characters"
    Would you listen to The Yard again? Why?

    I found the characters very lively and I almost regretted that some were only in the book.


    What did you like best about this story?

    It depicted the 19th-century London with accuracy, as far as I can tell, as well as the social difficulties of that time.


    What does Toby Leonard Moore bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Mr. Moore imitated the different accents and prosody attached to them and to the lower and middle class. This made the different characters even more unique and almost real--if you decide that you want to believe this, of course. I liked his voice and it gave me the feeling to share the reading with a friend as if we were having a conversation.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Definitely! But as the reading lasts about 14 hours, it took me two days to listen to it.


    Any additional comments?

    I'm looking forward to reading the second book in the series!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Booklover 03-05-14
    Booklover 03-05-14

    wrytermom

    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator sounds as if he is gasping"

    I only made it through about 15 minutes of the story before I just couldn't endure it any longer. The narrator takes a deep, audible breath in between each sentence. It is so distracting and annoying that I gave up. Awful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.