We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4158 )
5 star
 (2491)
4 star
 (1304)
3 star
 (290)
2 star
 (43)
1 star
 (30)
Overall
4.5 (3574 )
5 star
 (2254)
4 star
 (1046)
3 star
 (233)
2 star
 (27)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.4 (3594 )
5 star
 (2041)
4 star
 (1056)
3 star
 (340)
2 star
 (97)
1 star
 (60)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    bart syatauw 06-29-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not his best"

    Probably the least interesting story line in the Rapp series. The narrator was average at best.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberly L. Underwood St. Louis, MO 05-29-15
    Kimberly L. Underwood St. Louis, MO 05-29-15 Member Since 2014

    friendliestflower

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great!"

    Loved it and cant wait for the next! What a great series.
    People complain about the narrator but I think he's just fine.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maryann Birmingham, AL, United States 05-26-15
    Maryann Birmingham, AL, United States 05-26-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    234
    65
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another Thriller"

    This narrator is excellent. Each character has their own distinctive tone and quality. You feel like someone is telling a story not reading a book. And as usually with Vince Flynn the
    story is perfect, all well intertwined and each end finished with satisfaction. My favorite author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ethics consultant 247 05-14-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good read. Ending anticlimactic."

    The various threads of the story are skillfully interwoven, but the story ended too abruptly. I was listening on my commute home and was surprised when the book just ended!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pankaj 05-04-15
    Pankaj 05-04-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    66
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another good Rapp"

    I was bit doubtful about getting this due to negative feedback about the narrator but I am glad I got it. Good story and narration .... Just different from Guidall. You get used to the change in narrator after very short while especially if the last Rapp book you heard was a while ago. I m not going to plunge into Separation of Power whose narrator has worse feedback than Nick Sullivan....fingers crossed. After this one I will have completed whole Rapp series to-date.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul Fountain Valley, CA, United States 04-16-15
    Paul Fountain Valley, CA, United States 04-16-15 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    89
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    258
    67
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Even better the THIRD time"

    I have started the whole series over again and it like fine wine... gets better every time. If you follow the series in order, the only changes is in the Narrator.... Go get them Mitch

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    it is ok 03-29-15
    it is ok 03-29-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as bad as the reviews"

    This was an excellent story and perfect set up for the next book. Mr Sullivan is a different perspective of Mitch Rapp and it is not horrible yes the other guy gives more layers in his voice but Sullivan is good. I enjoyed this as much as the others can't wait for the next.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Larry J. Lichtenegger 03-23-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Never stops keeping me going"

    Book 4 ends with a requirement you just must keep going. The end to this one is just a sequel to the next. One must know what happens to Mitch. Sign of a spellbinding series. I will continue.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joseph 02-09-15
    Joseph 02-09-15 Member Since 2005
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Plan on marathon listening."

    You won't want to hit the pause button. Narration was weak at times, e.g uses nearly the same voice for a frail elderly man and the head of the President's Secret Service detail. DC place names are mispronounced e.g. McLean, Virginia (McLANE) is pronounced like the healthy McDonald's sandwich (McLEE). But it's a passable job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jay Pruitt Ruston, La 12-05-14
    Jay Pruitt Ruston, La 12-05-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    201
    76
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Magnanimous Book By Vince Flynn!"

    Mitch Rapp gets caught in the crossfire of politics, doesn't trust his closest allies. So now Mitch must do what he does best.......!!!

    I miss George Guidall but Nick Sullivan does a fine job. I've found that if it's a great story it sometimes does not matter who narrates.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.