We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4693 )
5 star
 (2850)
4 star
 (1439)
3 star
 (322)
2 star
 (49)
1 star
 (33)
Overall
4.5 (4061 )
5 star
 (2581)
4 star
 (1164)
3 star
 (267)
2 star
 (35)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.4 (4087 )
5 star
 (2355)
4 star
 (1180)
3 star
 (379)
2 star
 (110)
1 star
 (63)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sandra 11-27-15
    Sandra 11-27-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rapp is the best"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Absolutely and have recommended series to all my "listening" friends.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Flynn's characters are well balanced.


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Sullivan does a very nice job. However, Guidall is my favorite


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Much to my embarrassment find myself talking to the characters while listening no matter the surroundings. People have actually responded "beg your pardon" or "you're talking to yourself again."


    Any additional comments?

    On to the next title.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terry 11-05-15
    Terry 11-05-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as the first couple of books"

    I personally don't like this narrator, and the book is a lot slower than the others with no real ending just a... At the end

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer Johnson 10-21-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horrible narration for 12 hours"

    I love Vince Flynn but Nick Sullivan is horrible. He sounds so bored and literally put me to sleep. Listening to him was truly painful... Great book, amazing story, please get a new narrator!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Colorado 10-16-15
    Colorado 10-16-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "to much repeat of the previous book. "

    to much repeating of the previous book. not a fan of this narrator. maybe the next one will be better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steve Fleming 09-29-15 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horrible Narration"

    Great story, multiple intriguing threads, real thriller...terrible narration. Nick Sullivan's voice has an overpowering nasal quality that just gets worse when he uses alternate tones and accents to represent different characters. At points in the story, he sounds like the squid character from my children's sponge bob squarepants cartoons. Great story, true to Vince Flynn's talent...but I really wish they'd re-record with a better narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cindy Countryside, IL USA 07-18-15
    Cindy Countryside, IL USA 07-18-15 Member Since 2007
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narration much better than Book 3"

    Not much of an ending. It will be interesting to see if it picks up in Book 5 where 4 ended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wannasay 07-11-15
    Wannasay 07-11-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    53
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't understand other reviewers"

    I rarely write a review but I couldn't disagree more with what many of the reviewers wrote. As always, Vince Flynn keeps you on the edge of your seat. Seems to me that ending is meant to hook you into getting the next book. I was already hooked and have it ready to go. I don't understand why so many reviewers hated the narrator, I think he did a fine job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Allen Anthony 07-06-15 Member Since 2013

    No comment

    HELPFUL VOTES
    579
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    663
    255
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    13
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't mess with Mitch"

    Really good shoot em up cia operative story great characters and plot. I thought the ending was a little abrupt, but I understand it is setting up the next book in the series. If you happens to enjoy the camel club you'll enjoy Mitch Rapp

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    bart syatauw 06-29-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not his best"

    Probably the least interesting story line in the Rapp series. The narrator was average at best.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberly L. Underwood St. Louis, MO 05-29-15
    Kimberly L. Underwood St. Louis, MO 05-29-15 Member Since 2014

    friendliestflower

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great!"

    Loved it and cant wait for the next! What a great series.
    People complain about the narrator but I think he's just fine.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.