We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series | [Vince Flynn]

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.
Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (2590 )
5 star
 (1484)
4 star
 (852)
3 star
 (192)
2 star
 (37)
1 star
 (25)
Overall
4.5 (2157 )
5 star
 (1328)
4 star
 (662)
3 star
 (132)
2 star
 (24)
1 star
 (11)
Story
4.3 (2172 )
5 star
 (1194)
4 star
 (665)
3 star
 (207)
2 star
 (70)
1 star
 (36)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    R. Thomas Vigliotti 12-01-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The audible book cuts off last 3 chapters!"

    The only problem with this audible book is they never finished reading the last three chapters for the download, or there is a part 3 that never got delivered. Tom V.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Satisfied User 11-17-11 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book, but story just suddenly stops"

    I'm a fan of the series and thoroughly enjoyed this book up until the end, at which point the novel just stopped with major unresolved issues. It almost seems that the author's intent was to serialize what could have been one fat juicy novel. I even called Audible to make sure I had downloaded the entire book.

    Good book until the end. I'm sure I will read the next in the series, but ask the author to be a little more honest with his readers.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rick Perris, CA, United States 11-11-11
    Rick Perris, CA, United States 11-11-11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator too feminine -tone and inflection;boring"

    Boring story plot, almost feminine quality of narrator (male voice) makes the whole story sound really panzied out. I expect the tone and inflection of the narrator to toughen the character, in this case, Mitch sounds like a panzy through out

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Calumet City, IL, United States 11-06-11
    Amazon Customer Calumet City, IL, United States 11-06-11 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "New Voice for Mitch"

    Over the years I've gotten used to the voice of George Guidall as Mitch Rapp and was disappointed when I first heard the new narrator. Once I got over that and continued listening the book still ended up being very good. Nick Sullivan did a great job. But what happened to George? Why the change?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Philip San Antonio, TX, United States 11-05-11
    Philip San Antonio, TX, United States 11-05-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Edge of your seat listen"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Third Option to be better than the print version?

    I have not read the print version so I cannot compare to the audio book, but I can say that this 4th installment of the Mitch Rapp series is a winner. I started listening when I was getting my audio books from Barnes and Nobel so I got what they had and read the series out of order. Even so, this thriller was so exciting that it did not impact the effect of reading it after later books. I am glad to fill in the story line.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    My favorite character is of course Mitch Rapp who is middle aged, but fit, and brilliant. I wish I could think that fast.


    Have you listened to any of Nick Sullivan’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not listened to this narrator before, and I prefer Dick Hill as a narrator for these books, but Sulilvan held his own and pulled off a reasonably good performance.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I always have strong emotions when listening to Vince Flynn books. After 22 years in the Navy, the ineptness of bureaucracies is all too familiar. Stupid rules that prevent people from doing their jobs abound, and I love it when Mitch adapts, improvises, and overcomes. We have met the enemy and we are they all too often.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Durango, CO, United States 10-29-11
    Michael Durango, CO, United States 10-29-11 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    85
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    336
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superman"

    Mitch Rapp again fights for truth, justice, and the American way. He has a job fighting enemies, foreign and domestic. It is too bad his character probably does not exist in reality. This triller continues his saga, and it is very well done. A sequel must be in the works.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 10-22-11 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    140
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where is the ending?"

    Great story, Ok narration. I wish I'd read the other reviews that point out that the ending is missing.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Malley Enfield, CT, United States 09-18-11
    Malley Enfield, CT, United States 09-18-11 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narrator makes or breaks it."

    This was a great story, but very hard to listen to due to the new narrator. Sullivan did not deliver the Mitch Rapp experience that George Guidall delivered in the past.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Lake Mary, FL, United States 06-30-11
    Amazon Customer Lake Mary, FL, United States 06-30-11 Listener Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent story"

    I enjoyed Mitch Rapp's continued efforts to rid America of evil people. Nick Sullivan does a great job of narration.

    4 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rick Trussville, AL, United States 10-19-11
    Rick Trussville, AL, United States 10-19-11 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    68
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "81 Books and Counting"

    Took me a while to warm up to the narrator, but the book took me in so I didn't really notice the change. I like this series, not sure where it will go next with the upcoming death of a main character, but I guess Irene will keep Mitch busy and grounded.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 71-80 of 83 results PREVIOUS1789NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.