We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Third Option Audiobook
The Third Option
Written by: 
Vince Flynn
Narrated by: 
Nick Sullivan
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4035 )
5 star
 (2415)
4 star
 (1265)
3 star
 (283)
2 star
 (43)
1 star
 (29)
Overall
4.5 (3461 )
5 star
 (2179)
4 star
 (1017)
3 star
 (224)
2 star
 (27)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.4 (3481 )
5 star
 (1964)
4 star
 (1035)
3 star
 (330)
2 star
 (95)
1 star
 (57)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Colorado 10-16-15
    Colorado 10-16-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "to much repeat of the previous book. "

    to much repeating of the previous book. not a fan of this narrator. maybe the next one will be better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Fleming Albuquerque, NM 09-29-15
    Fleming Albuquerque, NM 09-29-15 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Horrible Narration"

    Great story, multiple intriguing threads, real thriller...terrible narration. Nick Sullivan's voice has an overpowering nasal quality that just gets worse when he uses alternate tones and accents to represent different characters. At points in the story, he sounds like the squid character from my children's sponge bob squarepants cartoons. Great story, true to Vince Flynn's talent...but I really wish they'd re-record with a better narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ben 07-18-15
    Ben 07-18-15 Member Since 2007
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narration much better than Book 3"

    Not much of an ending. It will be interesting to see if it picks up in Book 5 where 4 ended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wannasay 07-11-15
    Wannasay 07-11-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't understand other reviewers"

    I rarely write a review but I couldn't disagree more with what many of the reviewers wrote. As always, Vince Flynn keeps you on the edge of your seat. Seems to me that ending is meant to hook you into getting the next book. I was already hooked and have it ready to go. I don't understand why so many reviewers hated the narrator, I think he did a fine job.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Allen Anthony 07-06-15 Member Since 2013

    Listening to good books from around the world, in the comfort of home....

    HELPFUL VOTES
    448
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    582
    240
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't mess with Mitch"

    Really good shoot em up cia operative story great characters and plot. I thought the ending was a little abrupt, but I understand it is setting up the next book in the series. If you happens to enjoy the camel club you'll enjoy Mitch Rapp

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    bart syatauw 06-29-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not his best"

    Probably the least interesting story line in the Rapp series. The narrator was average at best.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberly L. Underwood St. Louis, MO 05-29-15
    Kimberly L. Underwood St. Louis, MO 05-29-15 Member Since 2014

    friendliestflower

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great!"

    Loved it and cant wait for the next! What a great series.
    People complain about the narrator but I think he's just fine.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maryann Birmingham, AL, United States 05-26-15
    Maryann Birmingham, AL, United States 05-26-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    227
    63
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another Thriller"

    This narrator is excellent. Each character has their own distinctive tone and quality. You feel like someone is telling a story not reading a book. And as usually with Vince Flynn the
    story is perfect, all well intertwined and each end finished with satisfaction. My favorite author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ethics consultant 247 05-14-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good read. Ending anticlimactic."

    The various threads of the story are skillfully interwoven, but the story ended too abruptly. I was listening on my commute home and was surprised when the book just ended!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pankaj 05-04-15
    Pankaj 05-04-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another good Rapp"

    I was bit doubtful about getting this due to negative feedback about the narrator but I am glad I got it. Good story and narration .... Just different from Guidall. You get used to the change in narrator after very short while especially if the last Rapp book you heard was a while ago. I m not going to plunge into Separation of Power whose narrator has worse feedback than Nick Sullivan....fingers crossed. After this one I will have completed whole Rapp series to-date.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Amazon Customer
    LONDON, United Kingdom
    1/7/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Third Option"

    I read this book back in the early 2000's and enjoyed it then. I have just purchased the audio version and have again found the characters engaging, the story intriguing and the political infighting very disturbing!

    If you are new to Vince Flynn read the books in order. He is a writer who will be missed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • B
    6/19/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly entertaining"

    Loved this book. Clever "political" thriller revolving around the secretive world of the CIA and the protection of "the Land of The Free". While dirty deeds and treachery are the corner stones of the "Intelligence" world there is a clear distinction made between the " baddies and the good guys" . A thoroughly entertaining yarn not as cerebrally challenging as a John le Carre but more substantial, believable and rewarding than a typical James Bond.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • gunner548
    1/30/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad!"

    A little too intricate in the upper levels of Washington and not enough Mitch Rapp action! Still a good story though!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Lotus
    PERTH, United Kingdom
    3/11/13
    Overall
    "Another great Mitch adventure"

    Another fast pace adventure for Mitch, found myself driving the long way home just to be in the car longer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.