We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series | [Vince Flynn]

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.
Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (2062 )
5 star
 (1167)
4 star
 (682)
3 star
 (156)
2 star
 (34)
1 star
 (23)
Overall
4.5 (1685 )
5 star
 (1029)
4 star
 (523)
3 star
 (103)
2 star
 (21)
1 star
 (9)
Story
4.4 (1699 )
5 star
 (940)
4 star
 (532)
3 star
 (151)
2 star
 (48)
1 star
 (28)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jeanene 2949S. Broadway #200 Apt. 444, Littleton, CO, United States 07-30-12
    Jeanene 2949S. Broadway #200 Apt. 444, Littleton, CO, United States 07-30-12 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very disappointing"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Yes, above all the narration.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Vince Flynn again?

    Of course, I am a faithful fan


    Would you be willing to try another one of Nick Sullivan’s performances?

    No


    Do you think The Third Option needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes but one written more sophisticatedly like his other novels. Maybe the narration affected my reaction.


    Any additional comments?

    I felt I was listening to a very simply written novel by a teenager not a seasoned author. Mr. Flynn can and always has done much better.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ron Vancouver, BC, Canada 05-02-12
    Ron Vancouver, BC, Canada 05-02-12

    A great fan of stories and audiobooks. Good ones.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Running out of ideas for a plot"

    I loved the first two, and even liked the next two, but I almost feel sorry for the author having to pump these out with a cookie cutter. Can you say 'formula'? Had a tough time getting though it and can see that the ideas are done, gone, finished. How many ways can you shoot a guy 'between the eyebrows" with a suppressed MP3 or whatever. Seems like he got tired of trying to invent muslim names so he turned this story onto itself and someone from the inside the CIA has to kill the hero. But not after, of course, he has to rescue the fair maiden. I guess the superhero Mitch has killed off all the middle eastern terrorists.
    But, for all you reading this that have not been through at least three or four of this series, it is great, go for it, just don't OD on Mitch and Dr. Kennedy and become bitter like me. Quit at four, or five.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruben Ashburn, VA, United States 03-14-12
    Ruben Ashburn, VA, United States 03-14-12 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Poor Narrator, but the Story was Decent"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    I wish the motives of the


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Nick Sullivan?

    Anyone else. He has a really amateurish style and is quite stilted at times.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    Maybe


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bruce Stafford, VA, United States 08-29-11
    Bruce Stafford, VA, United States 08-29-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Third Option (unabridged)"

    AUDIOBOOK IS INCOMPLETE!

    Part two ends without ending the book!

    SOMEONE NEEDS TO FIX THIS!!!!!!

    I love Vince Flynn - - this is VERY FRUSTRATING

    7 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janet C. Walker Summerville, SC 07-06-11
    Janet C. Walker Summerville, SC 07-06-11 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    243
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    937
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    "Really?"

    I read this one years ago in print. Now listening to this narrator I find Mitch's fiance is named Anna Really. Huh, certainly lookled like Reilly to me. You learn something every day. Lol

    6 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Lake Mary, FL, United States 06-30-11
    Amazon Customer Lake Mary, FL, United States 06-30-11 Listener Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent story"

    I enjoyed Mitch Rapp's continued efforts to rid America of evil people. Nick Sullivan does a great job of narration.

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    GiGi Ft Washington, MD, United States 06-02-14
    GiGi Ft Washington, MD, United States 06-02-14 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Always a Fan"
    What did you love best about The Third Option?

    The way the story comes together. In the end this series never disappoints. Plus I love how the books overlap.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    You never knew who was going to make it out alive.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The scene where he breaks into the Director of the CIA home.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    He love for Anna


    Any additional comments?

    I've never really been a fan of the narration of this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hill Bedford, TX, United States 05-03-14
    Hill Bedford, TX, United States 05-03-14 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    83
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    87
    37
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "As good as it gets."

    I read some of the other reviews before I bought this book. I have listened to several of the Mitch Rapp series and enjoyed everyone of them. Some of the complaints that other reviewers had were in regards to the narrator. I saw nothing wrong with Nick Sullivan's narration as a matter of fact I think he is one of the better readers that I have heard.
    I grew up in the era of weekly serials and I loved them. I personally like the way Mr. Flynn builds for a series. The Third Option is fine entertainment and worth the price. Enjoy, I certainly did.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leslie West Roxbury, MA, United States 04-29-14
    Leslie West Roxbury, MA, United States 04-29-14 Member Since 2004

    Like mainly mystery and suspense with a bit of chick lit and non-fiction thrown in. Severe addiction going on 10 years to Audiobooks.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    69
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    40
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you have never read a Vince Flynn book..."
    Any additional comments?

    You don't know what you are missing. His books are amazing and I am listening to them now a second time around. It saddens me that the world lost such an amazing author at such a young age. I first did the Mitch Rapp series out of order, which you can do...The second time around I am doing the series in order. I am appreciating the development of the characters more doing it in order.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert Gaithersburg, MD, United States 03-13-14
    Robert Gaithersburg, MD, United States 03-13-14 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    415
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No End In Sight..."

    I was surprised to hear a woman's voice announcing that "This has been a recording of..". At first I thought that my download was messed up and that it was truncated. I actually went back and re-listened to the last minute to see if I missed something. As it turns out, all I missed was that the book ended. The book felt more like a murder mystery detective type book as there was no big event at the climax typical of something in the Espionage genre. The last chapter was simply a recap of the bad guys plot to other characters in Mitch Rapp's corner. No big surprises or plot twists. No real Aha! moments. It simply ended mid conversation.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 11-20 of 73 results PREVIOUS1238NEXT
Sort by:
  • Lotus
    PERTH, United Kingdom
    3/11/13
    Overall
    "Another great Mitch adventure"

    Another fast pace adventure for Mitch, found myself driving the long way home just to be in the car longer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.