We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Third Option Audiobook

The Third Option: Mitch Rapp Series

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.
Regular Price:$28.30
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.

©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." (Booklist)

"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." (Library Journal)

"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' (Pioneer Press)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (3745 )
5 star
 (2226)
4 star
 (1184)
3 star
 (266)
2 star
 (42)
1 star
 (27)
Overall
4.5 (3210 )
5 star
 (2008)
4 star
 (956)
3 star
 (207)
2 star
 (26)
1 star
 (13)
Story
4.4 (3226 )
5 star
 (1797)
4 star
 (973)
3 star
 (311)
2 star
 (91)
1 star
 (54)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    G Henson Shreveport, LA 08-08-15
    G Henson Shreveport, LA 08-08-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a great story with lots of twists."

    Love the subject of these books. They're well written and the narrator really makes the characters come alive. Keep them coming and a hope the new writer can carry on the story as well as mr. Flynn. I'm a huge fan of Mitch Rapp.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jacob Bragg USA 07-31-15
    Jacob Bragg USA 07-31-15

    otoball

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretty Good."

    It definitely wasn't his best. The plot was just so so and the characters were kind of bland. It almost felt like a filler book. Still good though.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melisa 07-29-15
    Melisa 07-29-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I miss George... Tell Me A Story !"

    One of the things I really liked when I started the Mitch Rapp series was George didn't awesome job of telling you a story. The way Nick narrates it it reminds me of somebody reading a story to me.

    I got used to Nick reading me the story but I do miss the way George captured the characters completely And drew you in with a great storytelling.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alan United States 07-22-15
    Alan United States 07-22-15 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Half a book, don't get suckerd in ... ..."
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    An ending


    What could Vince Flynn have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    an ending


    What three words best describe Nick Sullivan’s performance?

    pretty good job


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Any redeeming qualities were negated by the lack of an ending and, Flynn's attempt to manipulate (sucker) his readers / listeners. I'm sorry I bought the book.


    Any additional comments?

    This is not a book, it is a half a book. If it had an ending it would be a book. What is it then, ... ... It is a contrivance by Flynn to sucker the reader / listener into buying the sequel. Well, Vince, I have listened to all your previous books but, this is the last one. You may manipulate / sucker other folks in but, not me.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    nicholas 12-03-14
    nicholas 12-03-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book - AWFUL Narrator"
    If you could sum up The Third Option in three words, what would they be?

    Insight into Rapp's beginning


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Third Option?

    How awful the narrator was


    Would you be willing to try another one of Nick Sullivan’s performances?

    Absolutely not! He needs to find a new profession!


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It made me angry because Vince is an amazing writer and the narrator ruined the story!! His voice for every character was horrible except the french guy but even he sounded like Kermit the frog!


    Any additional comments?

    I don't know if this guy has ever done a narration before but he is AWFUL!! Especially if you've listened to any of the books narrated by George Guidall!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. Hollins Baltimore, MD USA 12-20-13
    K. Hollins Baltimore, MD USA 12-20-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    ""Non" Ending and Basic Pronunciation Errors"

    First, the pros. The story is good and the character development is what you'd expect from the series. Listening to the book is helpful if you want to follow the Rapp story arc sequentially. Now the cons. The book ends with no resolution, which is very unsatisfying. Had I not read other reviews before listening, I would have been certain that it was a download error.

    Nick Sullivan's voice is fine; it's what he does with it that had me wanting to correct him in my head. For example, the character Anna Reilly comes from a family of Chicago cops. Is it at all reasonable to think it would be pronounced "Reelee"? Flynn writes the name Reilly countless times in the book, and every time Sullivan mispronounced it it was like nails across a chalkboard in my skull. I thought it was ridiculous that he kept pronouncing McLean, Virginia as "Macleen," but that only comes up a few times in the book. You'd think the production team would at least get the pronunciation of the main ensemble's names right.

    The problem with those type of "unforced errors" is that they take the reader out of the story, dampening the fun of escaping into the author's world.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    KD 10-01-13
    KD 10-01-13 Member Since 2009

    kdhkdh

    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It is a good thing I read the book before"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Any other narrator.


    What didn’t you like about Nick Sullivan’s performance?

    When the end of the book said, Hope you have enjoyed listening to Audible.


    Any additional comments?

    I decided to go back and "listen" to a few of the books in the Rapp series that I actually read first time through. It was a good thing I knew the story because if this was my first Audible book, I would have stopped halfway through.

    Top operatives like Mitch Rapp should not sound like an elementary school librarian that is scarred of dust mite. However, the worst part has to be the narrator's failure to correctly annunciate the major characters names. It is a good thing Vince created such good characters and a story that kept me hitting the play button on my iPhone. It was also interesting to hear/see how Vince developed as an author when comparing the dialog and story with some of his early works. He will be missed.

    Save the money, read the book on this one.

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ron Vancouver, BC, Canada 05-02-12
    Ron Vancouver, BC, Canada 05-02-12

    A great fan of stories and audiobooks. Good ones.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Running out of ideas for a plot"

    I loved the first two, and even liked the next two, but I almost feel sorry for the author having to pump these out with a cookie cutter. Can you say 'formula'? Had a tough time getting though it and can see that the ideas are done, gone, finished. How many ways can you shoot a guy 'between the eyebrows" with a suppressed MP3 or whatever. Seems like he got tired of trying to invent muslim names so he turned this story onto itself and someone from the inside the CIA has to kill the hero. But not after, of course, he has to rescue the fair maiden. I guess the superhero Mitch has killed off all the middle eastern terrorists.
    But, for all you reading this that have not been through at least three or four of this series, it is great, go for it, just don't OD on Mitch and Dr. Kennedy and become bitter like me. Quit at four, or five.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RB 03-14-12
    RB 03-14-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Poor Narrator, but the Story was Decent"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    I wish the motives of the


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Nick Sullivan?

    Anyone else. He has a really amateurish style and is quite stilted at times.


    If this book were a movie would you go see it?

    Maybe


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bruce Hollywood 08-29-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Third Option (unabridged)"

    AUDIOBOOK IS INCOMPLETE!

    Part two ends without ending the book!

    SOMEONE NEEDS TO FIX THIS!!!!!!

    I love Vince Flynn - - this is VERY FRUSTRATING

    9 of 13 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.