We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Start of Everything: A Novel | [Emily Winslow]

The Start of Everything: A Novel

Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story. Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together.
Regular Price:$17.96
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last minute.

"If you don’t want to see me again, say so. But it’s not right to say nothing. It’s not right to go silent. You know what to do."

Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story. Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth - about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager - she may have to betray her partner.

©2021 Emily Winslow (P)2012 Audible, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Emily Winslow effortlessly weaves together separate lives with intertwined lies, creating a powerful web of small deceits and horrifying misdeeds. The Start of Everything is a must [listen]!" (New York Times best-selling author Lisa Gardner)

More from the same

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.1 (20 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.3 (16 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Story
3.4 (17 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    suzanne Costa Mesa, CA, United States 02-13-13
    suzanne Costa Mesa, CA, United States 02-13-13 Member Since 2010

    Suzanne, avid reader and listener who loves a broad range of genres but, ecpecially authors,T.C. Boyle, Jodi Picoult, Barbara Kingsolver, Lionel Shriver, Sue Miller, Larry McMurty, Bryce Courteran, Lisa Gardner, Brian Haig, Richard North Patterson, Nelson Demille, Robert Tannenbaum, Sara Gruen, Kate Norton, Steig Larsen, Tana French and Gillian Flynn!! Still many more and the number of authors I enjoy continues to grow.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    40
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    17
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very much like Tana French and Kate Atkinson"

    I did something I have never done before with an audible book, I went back to the beginning, when I came to Part 2. Now whether it was because my listening attention was not as focused, due to activities. like walking two disobedient dogs, or, because I underestimated this book, I am not sure. I actually went back to check one thing, and just went oh well, I may as well just listen to it from the start. It was a decision I did not for one moment regret.

    This is a wonderfully complicated, intricate, exploration of individuals, motherhood, families, and nannies, all set in the academic world of Cambridge.
    I loved all the twists and turns. There is more than a murder to unravel in this book. The different narrators all give testimony sometimes, credible, other times, unreliable or inaccurate. I found Matild, the girl who suffers from Asperger or some other related disorder, compelling as she blindly blunders right into danger. There was also, drama and pathos in her quest to reunite the letter and make some connection of her own. Ultimmately Chloe is the most informed and clear sighted. It all comes together, in jigsaw pieces to it's final and surprising revelations.

    I can not recommend this book highly enough to mystery and contemporary fiction readers alike. It is superbly written, fraught with tension and a finely wrought portrait of fully realized characters.

    I look forward to seeing more from this writer!

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eve-Lynn Overland Park, KS, United States 01-12-13
    Eve-Lynn Overland Park, KS, United States 01-12-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    373
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OK plot, very poor narration"

    The plot was rambling and the narration horrible, all characters sounded the same; don't waste the credit

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie Mentor, OH, United States 02-28-13
    Katie Mentor, OH, United States 02-28-13 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    103
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    206
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "couldn't get through the second chapter"

    I believe the main character (narrator) was supposed to be autistic/ have aspergers but instead of using this to add depth to this character it became a huge distraction from what may have been a good story. All of the character's thoughts centered on sensory issues and fixations- as if people on the autism spectrum have no personality beyond this. It made it a very difficult listen especially when the other narrator was given depth and personality emphasizing the shallowness of the first narrator. Giving a character Aspergers instead of a personality is insulting to the reader and to the autistic community, one does not rule out the other!

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results
Sort by:
  • Amazon Customer
    Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
    2/13/13
    Overall
    "Please end it now!"

    I have never written a review before but felt that I had to review this. The story is quite good, interesting etc BUT I am sorry to say the readers leave a lot to be desired. A man and a woman, cannot tell one character from another. So glad I have not bought this at full price, they are awful. Avoid.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.