We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
The Lost Symbol | [Dan Brown]

The Lost Symbol

Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is summoned to deliver an evening lecture in the U.S. Capitol. Within minutes of his arrival, the night takes a bizarre turn. A disturbing object is discovered in the Capitol Building. The object is an ancient invitation, meant to usher its recipient into a long-lost world of hidden esoteric wisdom. And when Langdon's mentor is kidnapped, Langdon's only hope of saving him is to accept this invitation and follow wherever it leads him.
Regular Price:$15.88
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Six years in the writing, The Lost Symbol is Dan Brown's extraordinary sequel to his internationally best-selling Robert Langdon thrillers Angels & Demons and The Da Vinci Code.

Nothing is ever what it first appears in a Dan Brown novel. Set over a breathtaking 12-hour time span, the book's narrative takes the listener on an exhilarating journey through a masterful and unexpected landscape as Professor of Symbology Robert Langdon is once again called into action.

Expertly researched and written with breakneck pace, The Lost Symbol once again demonstrates why Dan Brown is the world's best-selling thriller writer.

Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is summoned to deliver an evening lecture in the U.S. Capitol. Within minutes of his arrival, the night takes a bizarre turn. A disturbing object is discovered in the Capitol Building. The object is an ancient invitation, meant to usher its recipient into a long-lost world of hidden esoteric wisdom. And when Langdon's mentor is kidnapped, Langdon's only hope of saving him is to accept this invitation and follow wherever it leads him.

©2009 Dan Brown; (P)2009 Orion Publishing Group

What the Critics Say

"Impossible to put down....Mr. Brown was writing sensational visual scenarios long before his books became movie material. This time he again enlivens his story with amazing imagery....Thanks to him, picture postcards of the capital's most famous monuments will never be the same....In the end it is Mr. Brown's sweet optimism, even more than Langdon's sleuthing and explicating, that may amaze his readers most." (The New York Times)
"Thrilling, entertaining....Robert Langdon goes for another roller-coaster ride - this time in a hunt for a Masonic treasure in Washington, D.C." (Los Angeles Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (19 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (3 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Niels
    Co.KilkennyIreland
    9/24/09
    Overall
    "Its okay"

    I thought it the book is written to see if it could be more complicated than the others. My favourite book is Angels and Demons, the DaVinci Code was good but preferred Angels and Demons, I would but this behind the others. Enjoyed the start, half the middle and knew then who was whom and could nearly predict the end, not as in the details it is but the ending. Maybe I read to many books?! I think the book might (and I hate abridged books)be better abridged. You will listen to it, but it is not unputdownable.........

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Pauline
    Worcester, United Kingdom
    7/2/10
    Overall
    "Light but an Enjoyable Listen"

    I know this book hasn't had very good reviews but I found it really easy to listen to and although it's not going to win any literary prizes I enjoyed it. It enlightened my knowledge of the Freemasons as his other books have taken the Holy Grail and the Illuminati as a theme. This is very much in the vein of Angels and Demons and de Vinci Code so if you enjoyed them I'm sure you will like this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Richard
    birminghamUnited Kingdom
    1/25/11
    Overall
    "The Lost Symbol" by Dan Brown"

    I have read this book and thought it was a excellent read the audio lived up to the high expectation i had would recommend it to any Dan Brown fan

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Davide
    TampereFinland
    2/8/10
    Overall
    "OK book but boring ending"

    I found this book entertaining but concluded in a boring way.

    I liked the book especially in the first 110 chapters. The story is nice to follow and creates some surprises. It is plotted and written in the typical Dan Brown's way so if you have read other books like The Da Vinci Code you will not find this unfamiliar.

    The reader does a really good job at making this story more appealing and it is easy to understand and follow even for a non-native English speaker. I listend to it mainly on the way to and from work and it made the commute quite pleasant.

    On the other hand, a few times the book goes into pause exactly at the wrong time. In those occasions, I felt like the author had written too much and I have had the urge to skip some chapters. I managed to resist that and actually listened all chapters fully though.

    When (around chapter #110) the story culminates into some exciting moment, I would have expected the book to end. Instead, the author decided to continue the story in a way that I found not credible and boring. That is because of the way the characters behave after what had just happened and because nothing more really happens after it.
    I do believe Dan Brown could have spared his and our time with that last part. The book would not have lost any of its value.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Lyndon
    CardiffUnited Kingdom
    1/9/10
    Overall
    "Don't know why others are complaining"

    Admittedly this is not a Pulitzer prize winner, but is yet very enjoyable. I am a Freemason myself and feel that finally the Masons are represented well, which is very rare in fiction with this theme. I enjoyed it more than the Angels and Demons and Davinci Code sagas, and generally don’t understand the poor reviews that this book has had.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Kristian
    NodingeSweden
    12/20/09
    Overall
    "Finding the pattern again"

    I like Dan Browns way of letting the reader/ listener follow the trail, it makes one think. Often i have gone on-line just to check the different locations and facts, sure it?s fiction but it also gives a lot of ideas for further reading.
    This his latest book takes you deep into the lore of the freemasons. A organisation that in it?s nature holds many secrets and rituals, a great book and superb naration.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • John
    Bury St. EdmundsUnited Kingdom
    10/1/09
    Overall
    "A Disapointing Title"

    Whilst the reading is entertaining and the chase style of dan browns wrting has always appealed to me before this latest release is poor at best. The conspiracy subject matter is old and over done. It feels like a bad version of National Treasure I wish people would pick a new bit of subject matter.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-7 of 7 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.