We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Killing Hour Audiobook

The Killing Hour

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.

©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (821 )
5 star
 (378)
4 star
 (283)
3 star
 (110)
2 star
 (31)
1 star
 (19)
Overall
4.4 (479 )
5 star
 (276)
4 star
 (136)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.2 (482 )
5 star
 (251)
4 star
 (140)
3 star
 (56)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (24)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Brooke Smyrna, GA, United States 03-13-12
    Brooke Smyrna, GA, United States 03-13-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narrator was UNBAREABLE!"
    Any additional comments?

    The narrators attempts to do the male voices were laughable. I wish I had listened to the sample before I purchased the book. I would not have purchased it. I honestly don't even want to finish listening and I'm not even half way through.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Victoria Belcamp, MD, United States 06-26-11
    Victoria Belcamp, MD, United States 06-26-11 Member Since 2016

    Vicki

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A good book, but..."

    The story is good, it held my interest pretty much throughout. The ending was unnecessarily long. BUT the narrator was just horrible. She pronounced words incorrectly and every male voice she tried to pull off sounded like a dirty old man. She really ruined the book for me!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hope McLeansville, NC, United States 04-01-11
    Hope McLeansville, NC, United States 04-01-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not my favorite audio experience"

    I have listened to dozens of audible books, I listen almost every day. This narrator is so dry I found it hard to pay attention to what was happening. Gardner is one of my favorite authors and this is a strong story, but the I would not listen to a book by this narrator again. It's too bad.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Becky Mt. Pleasant, SC, United States 10-02-10
    Becky Mt. Pleasant, SC, United States 10-02-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Could be better"

    I am trying to get through this book. I love Lisa Gardner's other books, but the narrator is TERRIBLE!!! I just don't understand how this woman got the job reading it.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brandy Ewa Beach, HI, USA 05-19-05
    Brandy Ewa Beach, HI, USA 05-19-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "GREAT READ!!!"

    This is a really great thriller! It keeps you wanting to read. The characters are likable and believable and the story is creative. I really liked this book and listend to it every chance I got - finished in 1 week driving back and forth to work.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Roger Charlotte, NC, USA 04-11-05
    Roger Charlotte, NC, USA 04-11-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent!!"

    This is a real thriller and I recommend it highly! As others are saying, I listened to this book every chance I got! I'm looking into her other books now.

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    E. Tischhauser 05-19-05 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "One of the worst books I've heard."

    I have only stopped listening to one other book in the middle before this one. I just don't understand how this book could get such good reviews. I saw one other negative review about this book, as it turns out that review was 110% correct. The narration was so annoying that I could not concentrate on the story line enough to follow what was happening. It was like she was reading the story through her nose. I found my self tuning out and thinking about other things. I definitely will not be listening to anymore books narrated by Anna Fields. A total waste of time and money.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda 02-02-14
    Linda 02-02-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "bored bored"
    What would have made The Killing Hour better?

    Don't know I didn't like the book at all one of her worst that I have bought I want my back


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Anna Fields?

    Don't know but she was the same tone through the hole book!


    What character would you cut from The Killing Hour?

    All


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lin Rochester, NY, USA 04-24-05
    Lin Rochester, NY, USA 04-24-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "WOW!"

    This author has become one of my favorites. I cannot put her books down! She does her research. She knows how to write a good story and keep the reader on the chair's edge waiting for more.!
    You will enjoy this book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jesse Ashtabula, OH, USA 05-01-06
    Jesse Ashtabula, OH, USA 05-01-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    125
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    50
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Great story"

    This is my first experience with this writer. I will definitely purchase additional titles. Her style and presentation made me want to continue to listen, even when it was time to put the book down for meals and other IMPORTANT business.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.