We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Innocents | [Laura Lippman]

The Innocents

Years ago, they were the best of friends. But as time passed, they grew apart, became adults with families of their own, and began to forget about the past – and the terrible lies they shared. But now Gordon, the youngest and wildest of the five, has died and the others are thrown together for the first time in years. Could their long-ago lie be the reason for their troubles today? Is it more dangerous to admit to what they’d done or is it the strain of keeping the secret that is beginning to wear down on their souls?
Regular Price:$18.33
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A story of troubled adults, tormented by a secret they shared as children. Stand by Me meets The Virgin Suicides.

'As five we were mighty, the points on a star… Once we five joined, it was never boys against girls… Two of our triangles cut themselves off and ran away together, and we were never whole again. Never.'

Years ago, they were the best of friends. But as time passed, they grew apart, became adults with families of their own, and began to forget about the past – and the terrible lies they shared. But now Gordon, the youngest and wildest of the five, has died and the others are thrown together for the first time in years. Could their long-ago lie be the reason for their troubles today? Is it more dangerous to admit to what they’d done or is it the strain of keeping the secret that is beginning to wear down on their souls?

Dark, provocative and beautifully written, Laura Lippman’s genre defying novel will appeal to fans of Lionel Shriver, Megan Abbott, and Kate Atkinson.

©2012 Laura Lippman (P)2012 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"Lippman delivers an emotionally complex drama that cements her reputation as one of the smartest crime writers around." (People Magazine)

"Lippman has long excelled at believable psychological suspense." (The Guardian)

"One of the most distinctive voices in contemporary fiction…Lippman has once more challenged, realigned and ultimately transcended the boundaries of genre." (New York Observer)

"Exquisite as fine jewellery." (Lee Child)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.5 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.3 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.7 (3 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rhonda WILBERFORCE NSW, Australia 01-23-13
    Rhonda WILBERFORCE NSW, Australia 01-23-13 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    29
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    300
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well written"

    Written from the viewpoint of each character I enjoyed this book as it weaved a story and viewpoint from one character to another in both childhood and as adults.

    This is the first Laura Lippman book I have read/listened too and I really enjoyed and I intend to purchase more from this author.

    The narrator did a good job as well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.