We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Accident Audiobook

The Accident

Regular Price:$16.77
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fast paced and suspenseful, The Accident is perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, Gone Girl, and Sophie Hannah.

A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep....

Sue Jackson has the perfect family, but when her teenage daughter, Charlotte, deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter's steps, she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte's diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte's private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter, and she's forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

Sue will do anything to protect her daughter. But what if she is the reason that Charlotte is in danger?

©2015 C.L. Taylor (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"An enjoyable rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists." (Daily Mail)
"This dark and creepy book is a must read." (The Sun)
"A thrilling crime debut" (Woman Magazine)
"An ominous atmosphere, a tense tale of past and present colliding, and a narrator whom no-one believes: this book is a delight." (Alex Marwood)
"Utterly compelling. I could not put this gripping, heart-stopping page-turner down" (Rowan Coleman)
"Twisty, dark and utterly compelling" (Lucy Diamond)
"I was gripped from start to finish. Everyone should read this book!" (Lucy Robinson)
"This fast, twisty psychological thriller has suspense on every page!" (Paula Daly)
"Gripping and terrifying" (Julie Cohen)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

2.5 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
2.0 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.0 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Terry 05-11-16
    Terry 05-11-16 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The yawn yawn accident"

    Very average , boring storyline . Don't bother downloading . I wish I could think of something nice about the book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • MR
    5/3/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "tense!!!"

    loved it, some moments were really frightening, am going read more of her books. great story, great narrator, scary and exciting.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • lm93
    UK
    2/13/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OK"
    Any additional comments?

    This was not the best book in the world but I'm pretty sure its also not the worst!
    Probably more suited to teens than adults.
    Nothing crazy special, a time filler.
    The story was interesting but could have been better, some parts were captivating and action filled others boring and slow. Perhaps with further development could've been a great book!

    I was intrigued enough to listen all the way through though.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Rachel Redford
    7/29/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    ""Keeping this secret is killing me!""
    Any additional comments?

    'Keeping this secret is killing me!' - so 15 year-old Charlotte wrote in her diary before she walked in front of a bus, an entry her desperate mother Sue found in the hidden diary whilst Charlotte lies in hospital in a coma. 'The Accident' is in the genre of Gone-Girl-fast-paced psychological thrillers which keep you listening. The trick with these stories is to keep you listening so that you gloss over the ridiculous implausibilities as you hurtle along the Big Dipper of a plot. 'The Accident' succeeds, even if the final scene in hospital is absurd and Sue's past relationship with dream-lover James who turns into your worst nightmare is incredible. But don't stop to think - just go with the twists and turns, the lies and counter-lies, the convolutions of Sue's detective work, the revealed secrets and hidden terrors - and enjoy the tension along the way. Jenny Funnell's narration helps to keep the listener grounded - she gets right inside Sue which increases our sympathy for her and our belief in her. The book has been criticised for the writer's careless writing skills including over-long ill-punctuated sentences and some readers have understandably lost patience with it for this reason. Listening to a professional narration is clearly better than reading!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Aninie R.
    5/30/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Twists and turns to the very end"

    This is the first book I have listened to by C.L.Taylor and I will be going back for more. Very good story line, with twists and turns right to the very end. Very well narrated, with just the right amount of different accents and voices.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • NANCY VATCHER
    Pevesy, East Sussex United Kingdom
    6/7/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Annoying"

    The main character of this book is so annoying. If I knew someone like her I'd want to kill her as well lol.

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • jill phillips
    9/16/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pathetic characters"

    Very unlikeable unbelievable characters . Storyline no better. Most disappointing book I have read for a while

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Cabaspre
    Mallorca
    8/25/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The main character was so annoyingly stupid!"
    Any additional comments?

    Such a disappointment, having first read The Missing by this author. Without giving too much away, I understand that abused women find it hard to get away, or be understood by other people etc. etc. but Sue missed every single opportunity going! She then perpetuated the problem by not divulging key information to loved ones 20 years later. The story was well narrated. I am sorry that I would not recommend it although knowing how wonderful The Missing was, I will try a new book by this author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • DMS12
    6/30/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved this book"

    Found it a little slow in the very beginning but it soon picked up. Really enjoyable story line with some twists and turns!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs. C. Brazil
    6/9/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love it"

    Due to an eyesight difficulty - I've listened 2 many audio books. I hope the author/narrator review the feedback & are aware of the many hours of pleasure they give. 10/10 for both- LOVED IT FROM START 3 FINISH.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Janet
    LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom
    5/16/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    Gripped from start to finish, fast paced thriller! Excellent narration, just bought the next of C L Taylor's books, can't wait to get listening!! One of the best audiobooks I have ever listened to! X

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.