We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Power Down Audiobook

Power Down: Dewey Andreas, Book 1

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

What the Critics Say

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)

"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (3528 )
5 star
 (1896)
4 star
 (1175)
3 star
 (332)
2 star
 (74)
1 star
 (51)
Overall
4.4 (3027 )
5 star
 (1722)
4 star
 (911)
3 star
 (282)
2 star
 (69)
1 star
 (43)
Story
4.4 (3030 )
5 star
 (1749)
4 star
 (901)
3 star
 (273)
2 star
 (65)
1 star
 (42)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Gary 04-05-15
    Gary 04-05-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It's a magazine, not a clip."

    Only knock on the writer is the use of term clip for handguns vs. the correct term of magazine. Narrator was amazing!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laurie 04-03-15
    Laurie 04-03-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just finished--and loved it!"

    As a Flynn & Thor fan, I didn't have great expectations for this book--but I found myself on the edge of my seat many times. The plot was fast moving and unexpected and our hero character well described and with enough flaws to be realistic. I'll admit I listen to audible books when I can't sleep and too many times I found myself laying in bed more wide-awake than when I started listening because the plot was so captivating. Can't wait to start listening to the rest in the series! Btw--I liked the reader. Some of the reviews nearly scared me off. Good with character accents too.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Albert Missouri City, TX, United States 04-01-15
    Albert Missouri City, TX, United States 04-01-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    108
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "GREAT STORY RELEVANT IN TODAYS ENVIRONMENT"
    Would you listen to Power Down again? Why?

    Great story well written, shows why our nation needs a strong military with individuals who believe in duty honor country.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Glenn Hansen Geelong, Vic, Australia 04-01-15
    Glenn Hansen Geelong, Vic, Australia 04-01-15 Member Since 2016

    Say something about yourself!

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Truly awful teen action"
    What would have made Power Down better?

    A decent plot, believable characters and anything approaching character development.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Ben Coes again?

    Nope


    Would you be willing to try another one of Peter Hermann’s performances?

    No, he reads as if he's telling you the world's best kept secret


    What character would you cut from Power Down?

    Start with Dewey Andreas and just keep on reaping.


    Any additional comments?

    This was a truly terrible book, a complete waste of a credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eddy Bizzell ODESSA, TX, US 03-24-15
    Eddy Bizzell ODESSA, TX, US 03-24-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    From an oilfield background, this is a very realistic scenario of what could take place in the future! Well written! !

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Omning 02-16-15
    Omning 02-16-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If Brad Thor and Vince Flynn had a baby..."

    If Brad Thor and Vince Flynn had a baby... Or more precisely if their famous characters Mitch Rapp and Scot Harvath had a kid, and then they brought him up from childhood to be a killer, he'd probably end up Dewey andreas

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris Hillsborough, CA, United States 02-05-15
    Chris Hillsborough, CA, United States 02-05-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    159
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Helps fill the Mitch Rapp gap"

    Fast paced, action-packed and high body count. Narrator was pretty good, even didn't mind his foreign accents (tho I don't think Arabic accents roll the R's as much as he did...). Good characters, Dewey especially - need more of him! Definitely worth buying book #2.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Timothy Scanlan 02-03-15 Member Since 2006
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Mix of Terrorism Plot with Finance"

    Great book. Cora mixed finance, terrorism, and patriotism. I have been looking for an authors like Vince Flynn and he fits the mold.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Roger 01-30-15
    Roger 01-30-15 Member Since 2015

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    97
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Possibility of Future Events in America"
    What made the experience of listening to Power Down the most enjoyable?

    The story line that events portrayed in the book could easily come true in todays open borders and massive influx of Muslims into America under the State Department Diversity program, allowing 60K Syrians refugees to enter America this year alone. Reading this book will make you ask yourself "What if:


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Some parts were slow, especially when it took a chapter back 30 years (I skipped that one) but was on the edge hoping the government characters moved quicker.


    Any additional comments?

    The chapter that only three entered the terrorist residence was lame as anyone knowing tactics would know they would have moved with a full team. However, it kept the suspense moving for another two chapters

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Henry Houston 01-25-15
    Henry Houston 01-25-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good first action book but not quite there."

    This is a difficult review to make, as I have to disagree with most other reviewers. Like the majority of readers/listeners I found in this book some great material but there are flaws that I just couldn't ignore.
    This work is typical of the genre, action packed and with a captivating story. It explores how the energy industry is vital to our lifestyle and how a determined and capable group of terrorists can wreak havoc in it. The reaction of functionaries in the different government agencies that are involved – and there are many - is particularly well described and in quite believable terms, although not always in a positive light. Following the bloody money trail leads to ably descriptions of the internal work of financial institutions. The result is scary. The hero is complex and likable, too close to a super-hero for my taste, while the bad guys are, well, very-very bad.
    However, I had issues with this book. While it is accepted that in this type of fiction the reader has to suspend disbelief, there are limits. The plot holes, technical mistakes and absurd exaggerations are too many to ignore. From the description of the oil field platform and its work conditions to international air travelers with no luggage and carrying weapons it all turns a bit cartoonish. Towards the end it was so distracting that I just didn’t care any more about the story or the characters. It is unfortunate that the editors didn’t help the author with a reality check.
    The narrator, although not my favorite, does a fine job with the material. My only minor complaint is with the exciting passages that are a bit overemphasized. On the plus side, his inflections and voice tone make it easy to determine who is talking at all times.
    In summary, I see a lot of potential in Ben Coes but I will wait some time before reading another book from him to see how he evolves. Meanwhile, I will keep searching for authors that continue the tradition of the likes of Vince Flynn and Tom Clancy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.