We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Missing, Presumed Audiobook

Missing, Presumed: A Novel

Regular Price:$31.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For listeners of Kate Atkinson and Tana French comes a pause-resisting literary mystery that brings to life the complex and wholly relatable Manon Bradshaw, a strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing person case.

At 39, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep - and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene.

Edith Hind - a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family - has been missing for nearly 24 hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows that this case will be big - and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive.

The investigation starts with Edith's loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith's tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith's family but for Manon herself.

Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are.

©2016 Susie Steiner (P)2016 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George." (Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer)

"A vein of dark humor pulses beneath this compelling whodunit with an appealing, complicated heroine at its center." (Publishers Weekly)

"A highly charismatic and engaging story.... This novel stands out from the pack." (Kirkus Reviews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (296 )
5 star
 (108)
4 star
 (119)
3 star
 (47)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
3.9 (274 )
5 star
 (95)
4 star
 (95)
3 star
 (50)
2 star
 (24)
1 star
 (10)
Story
4.4 (274 )
5 star
 (144)
4 star
 (100)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer Wichita, KS USA 07-20-16
    Amazon Customer Wichita, KS USA 07-20-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    185
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    39
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A mystery lover's treat!"

    This is one of those books I couldn't put down, but didn't want it to end. I did read on Amazon that this author's next book is about this same character, which makes me feel a lot better - I don't want to say goodbye to her!

    I can't say enough good things about this book. The characters are real, and at times very funny. I laughed out loud a lot! They're also full of issues, longing, vulnerability, and they tend to kick themselves around a bit, especially the main character.

    The narration was superb. There are men's voices, women's voices, and children's voices, and everyone has a lovely British accent. With this book, the narration enhanced the story - which is often not the case with audiobooks. I haven't enjoyed narration so much since I finished "The Help" and "Angela's Ashes."

    This book is on a par with those written by Tana French and Robert Galbraith. I wait eagerly for their next books, and this author has been added to that list.

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. T. Dallas, Tx 07-19-16
    K. T. Dallas, Tx 07-19-16 Member Since 2016

    teacherlady

    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Caution: depression ahead!"

    On the bright side-- it's an interesting story with a decent mystery development, characters one comes to care about, and an excellent verbal performance.

    The downside is that 9/10 of this book is about as thoroughly depressing as a book can be: loneliness, depression, isolation, abandonment, brokenness all described in intimate detail in between micro-steps in the plot. If you are the least bit depressed before starting the book, you may well be suicidal halfway through! That said, it all comes together in the end, isn't unexpected or jarring, and leaves you with a ray of sunshine breaking through the clouds. Just be forewarned it's a LOT of clouds!

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Yates 07-17-16
    S. Yates 07-17-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    171
    71
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent mystery and character study"
    If you could sum up Missing, Presumed in three words, what would they be?

    Nuanced, vulnerable, believable.


    What about Juanita McMahon’s performance did you like?

    Everything. She made characters distinct and injected humor and pathos into the story.


    Any additional comments?

    I loved this book and would have given it 4.5 stars if I could have. It has an emotional mystery at its center and enough twists (most of them plausible) to keep a mystery-lover engaged. But more important than the mystery is the keen eye the author brings to the characters and how the mystery impacts their lives. This is largely character study and the characters feel real and human and flawed and interesting. Many mysteries concentrate on law enforcement, but often do not peak into their private lives - this one not only allows you to voyeuristically see how an investigation might impact the police detectives (and see them as humans off the job), but also offers a vantage point into the family and friends of one person gone missing and another murdered. I sincerely hope that Steiner writes more in this vein, especially with DSI Manon Bradshaw.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Seattle, WA, United States 07-25-16
    Michael Seattle, WA, United States 07-25-16 Member Since 2007

    I'm an inventor and author, living in Seattle; an old man, living a full life with Kathy, my first and only wife.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    100
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    90
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting character study, but not a mystery"

    There's a very little bit of mystery tucked in here and there, but for the most part this book is more of a character study. I found it interesting, but overlong and the reader didn't do the book any favors.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-16-16 Member Since 2010

    Jessica a reader

    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A thriller with heart"

    loved it, listened whether I had 5 minutes or 30. A police procedural in England. with issues of class, race, family, friendship. excellent reading and writing.

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michele McKeon Blooming Grove, New York USA 09-02-16
    Michele McKeon Blooming Grove, New York USA 09-02-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining read"

    I liked this story. It took me sometime to figure it all out which I liked. The performance was good, just a little weak with male characters.

    Overall, satisfying!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Polly Philadelphia, PA, United States 08-29-16
    Polly Philadelphia, PA, United States 08-29-16 Member Since 2010

    An avid reader, demanding of the story, characters and narrator. Mysteries and historical fiction are my favorites.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    165
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    194
    128
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    16
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting but not riveting police drams"

    I like Manon. I like the other characters. But this book was just OK. I think the problem was that I just didn't CARE what happened to the missing woman. The secondary stories (dating lives of the police characters, for example) seemed to be incomplete.

    The narrator was terrific.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon Braxton 08-19-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it."

    I loved this book. Great story. It kept my interest throughout. I highly recommend it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Larry Montara, CA, United States 08-19-16
    Larry Montara, CA, United States 08-19-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    88
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    119
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible Narration"

    This book held my attention throughout. The story was not completely riveting, but the narration was. In fact the narration transcended to superb acting. There is a scene towards the end of the book between two of the main characters that is one of the most memorable in any audio book I have heard. When you stop and realize that there is one narrator playing both parts in real time, it becomes even more impressive.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberlee Fall River, NS, Canada 08-03-16
    Kimberlee Fall River, NS, Canada 08-03-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A stunning debut!"

    I'm rather fussy about narrators, but two minutes into the sample, and I wanted to hear more! Steiner takes us into the lives of the family struck by tragedy, and we get to know them each – they're individual struggles and joys. The people – I mean the characters, feel so real, and you feel that they could possibly be good to have as friends. The narration is flawless. I am hoping that this will be a series- simply brilliant!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.