We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Full Moon Rising: Riley Jenson, Guardian, Book 1 | [Keri Arthur]

Full Moon Rising: Riley Jenson, Guardian, Book 1

A rare hybrid of vampire and werewolf, Riley Jenson and her twin brother, Rhoan, work for Melbourne's Directorate of Other Races, an organization created to police the supernatural races, and protect humans from their depredations. While Rhoan is an exalted guardian, a.k.a. assassin, Riley is merely an office worker, until her brother goes missing on one of his missions. The timing couldn't be worse.
Regular Price:$39.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A rare hybrid of vampire and werewolf, Riley Jenson and her twin brother, Rhoan, work for Melbourne's Directorate of Other Races, an organization created to police the supernatural races, and protect humans from their depredations. While Rhoan is an exalted guardian, a.k.a. assassin, Riley is merely an office worker, until her brother goes missing on one of his missions. The timing couldn't be worse. More werewolf than vampire, Riley is vulnerable to the moon heat, the weeklong period before the full moon, when her need to mate becomes all-consuming.

Luckily Riley has two willing partners to satisfy her every need. But she will have to control her urges if she's going to find her brother. Easier said than done as the city pulses with frenzied desire, and Riley is confronted with a very powerful, and delectably naked, vamp who raises her temperature like never before.

In matters carnal, Riley has met her match. But in matters criminal, she must follow her instincts not only to find her brother but to stop an unholy harvest. For someone is doing some shifty cloning in an attempt to produce the ultimate warrior, by tapping into the genome of nonhumans like Rhoan. Now Riley knows just how dangerous the world is for her kind, and just how much it needs her.

Bite into another Riley Jenson novel.

©2006 Keri Arthur; (P)2006 Books on Tape

What the Critics Say

"Fans of Anita Blake and Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse vampire series will be rewarded." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (714 )
5 star
 (254)
4 star
 (228)
3 star
 (138)
2 star
 (51)
1 star
 (43)
Overall
3.9 (322 )
5 star
 (128)
4 star
 (102)
3 star
 (53)
2 star
 (25)
1 star
 (14)
Story
4.0 (316 )
5 star
 (129)
4 star
 (105)
3 star
 (53)
2 star
 (20)
1 star
 (9)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Grace Underfire New Haven, CT 06-24-06
    Grace Underfire New Haven, CT 06-24-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "TOO MUCH SEX!!!"

    The premise of this book is cool, and the development of supernatural creatures as a part of society is intriguing and well-done. But there is so much sex, it gets distracting. It was as though this was an exercise in ho wmany sex scenes can be crammed into one book... sex for lust, sex for hate, sex for torture, sex for release... it really detracted from the storyline.

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    decembergrit 02-18-06

    decembergrit

    HELPFUL VOTES
    203
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    789
    56
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    25
    0
    Overall
    "anita blake"

    This is alot like anita blakes books with lots of sex but not as interesting as anitas. The ending leaves much to be desired.

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cheryl 01-31-09
    Cheryl 01-31-09 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    39
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    721
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "I liked this book..."

    Be warned; A lot of sex. I wish she would come out with a sequel.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa 07-26-15
    Lisa 07-26-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very enjoyable listen!"
    If you could sum up Full Moon Rising in three words, what would they be?

    Enjoyable, Funny and suspenseful


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Riley was my favorite character because of her wittiness and loyalty to her brother


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebeca 04-08-15
    Rebeca 04-08-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    105
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Maybe just jot for me"

    I am bored by the idea that sex sex sex makes a good fantasy story.
    Characters a bit flat , but always horny

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lynwebb 02-18-15
    Lynwebb 02-18-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    "love this series"

    this is my 3rd time reading this series and first listening to the audible version. love love love this series!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa 01-24-15
    Lisa 01-24-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    "A great listening"

    I just love listening to this over and over. Storyline, the sex, and the trouble. I do wish that Riley ends up happy thou....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zulu 06-14-14
    Zulu 06-14-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    118
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    281
    197
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Watch out for the clones"

    Riley Jenson works for an agency that "polices" the nonhuman inhabitants, i.e, weres, vampires, etc. She is half were/half vampire. Her twin brother is a guardian for the agency but she doesn't want to become one. She's satisfied with her "civilian" work at the agency, but her boss is trying to convince her to be one by getting her involved in an investigation. Yes, there is a lot of sex due to the nature of weres but the scenes don't go on as long as some books to where you start to fast forward so you can get on to the story and she does keep saying multiple partners is inherent to the were race, but there is plenty of action. Someone is developing nasty clones and guardians are disappearing and they are trying to discover who's responsible.

    The characters are pretty well developed. There's a hunky lead vampire. And, yes, only about half of the investigation is solved so you'll need to get the next book in the series to continue the investigation, but to me that's sort of what a series is about, the continuation of character development and storylines. This is not a standalone book, unless you didn't like it and don't care to continue with the series.

    The narrator did a pretty good job with the Australian accents.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Misty 07-24-13
    Misty 07-24-13 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome PNR series"
    What did you love best about Full Moon Rising?

    The darkness and sexual exploits


    What other book might you compare Full Moon Rising to and why?

    Alexa O'Brian Huntress by Trina M. Led because in both there is violence and supes embrace their violent nature and make no excuses.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    Soft voice was beautiful. It didn't for Riley's character.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Crystal Richlands, NC, United States 03-08-13
    Crystal Richlands, NC, United States 03-08-13 Member Since 2010

    I Love to read and I am all over the place. From Fantasy to Non Fiction to True Crime. Sadly even some Romance novels which I never thought I would read but they turned out to be not bad some even good as long as they had some fantasy in them

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    180
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    11
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable"
    Would you try another book from Keri Arthur and/or Justine Eyre?

    Yes first time reading this author but enjoys Ms Eyre narrations


    Would you recommend Full Moon Rising to your friends? Why or why not?

    Yes. I enjoyed that that main character accepted for the most part who she was to the point she needed not to justify it, I found it refreshing that she through herself into without thought of what others thought of her choices.


    What about Justine Eyre’s performance did you like?

    Her ability to make you believe that either a male and or female part was believable.


    Could you see Full Moon Rising being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    not a clue


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.