We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Face of the Enemy: A New York in Wartime Mystery, Book 1 | [Joanne Dobson, Beverle Graves Myers]

Face of the Enemy: A New York in Wartime Mystery, Book 1

In December 1941, America is reeling from the brutal attack on Pearl Harbor. Both patriotism and paranoia grip New York as the city frantically mobilizes for war. Nurse Louise Hunter is outraged when the FBI, in a midnight sweep of prominent Japanese residents, storms in to arrest her patient’s wife. The desperately ill Professor Oakley is married to artist Masako Fumi. The nurse vows to help the professor free Masako. But when the murdered body of Masako’s art dealer is discovered in the gallery where he’d been closing down her controversial show, Masako’s troubles multiply.
Regular Price:$23.07
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In December 1941, America is reeling from the brutal attack on Pearl Harbor. Both patriotism and paranoia grip New York as the city frantically mobilizes for war. Nurse Louise Hunter is outraged when the FBI, in a midnight sweep of prominent Japanese residents, storms in to arrest her patient’s wife. The desperately ill Professor Oakley is married to artist Masako Fumi. The nurse vows to help the professor free Masako. But when the murdered body of Masako’s art dealer is discovered in the gallery where he’d been closing down her controversial show, Masako’s troubles multiply. Homicide detective Michael McKenna doubts her guilt, but an ambitious government man schemes to lever the homicide and ensuing espionage accusations into a political cause célèbre.

Struggling to focus on one man’s murder while America plunges into a worldwide war, Louise and McKenna defy both racism and ham-fisted government agents in order to expose the real killer.

©2012 Joanne Dobson and Beverle Graves Myers (P)2012 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"This winning collaborative debut by Dobson, author of the Professor Karen Pelletier mysteries, and Myers, author of the Baroque series, introduces two determined female amateur sleuths operating just as the United States enters World War II…. Recommend for fans of Rhys Bowen’s Molly Murphy series and Sarah Shaber’s Louise Pearlie mysteries." (Library Journal)

"Dobson and Myers collaborate to introduce a planned series on wartime New York.… Colorful characters and the evocation of Gotham in the 1940s: the Bund, America First, egg creams, Schrafft’s, Horn & Hardart. More, please." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Face of the Enemy is much more than a whodunit - with New York City as its backdrop, this mystery explores how a diverse cast of characters attempt to make sense of the most seminal event in the 20th century - World War II. The plight of a Japanese immigrant artist, pursued by both the FBI and New York Police Department, is especially moving. If you are not a fan of 1940s American history, you will become one!" (Naomi Hirahara, author of the Mas Arai mysteries)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.