We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel of Suspense | [Sam Eastland]

Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel of Suspense

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P. But the state needs Pekkala one last time.
Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him.

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state.

A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter.

But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history.

In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion—and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.

With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky Park, Child 44, and City of Thieves.

©2010 Sam Eastland (P)2010 Random House

What the Critics Say

“A triumph! With a canny eye for detail, Eastland re-creates the tragedy of the Romanov dynasty in this intelligent and relentless thriller.” (David Hewson)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (252 )
5 star
 (70)
4 star
 (95)
3 star
 (62)
2 star
 (20)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.9 (89 )
5 star
 (34)
4 star
 (28)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.1 (89 )
5 star
 (36)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sara 07-31-14
    Sara 07-31-14

    USA, listener since 2005

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4309
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    235
    200
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    154
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow What a Book"

    This excellent story is absolutely a novel of suspense as the title states. A complex blend of history (based on historic events), intrigue, and mysterious thriller wrapped up into one page turner of a book. Set around the time of the Russian Revolution and its violent aftermath --the story is peopled with a cast of memorable characters that grab the listener and captivate. The narration by Paul Michael was perfect. Parts of the book were a bit grisly --but not so much that I had to stop listening. I really look forward to the next book in the series. I have to admit that when I came to "The End" I had to give the recording a round of applause. It was that good!

    24 of 26 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Meggin Reno, NV, United States 05-23-10
    Meggin Reno, NV, United States 05-23-10 Member Since 2015

    Speaker, Coach, Author - in Reno, NV (A GREAT place!) I've been an avid Audible fan for several years. Listen on my iPhone many hours each week.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    192
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    188
    90
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    36
    0
    Overall
    "Buy This Book Today & Start Listening"

    The book was outstanding and I immediately wanted to know what else he had written...and this is also a perfect example of how an excellent narrator makes a great book even better. I have heard Paul Michael before and now have really noted this name. This wasn't an easy book to narrate and he did an incredible job.

    12 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret San Francisco, CA USA 09-06-10
    Margaret San Francisco, CA USA 09-06-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    958
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    106
    81
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    152
    12
    Overall
    "Great character"

    I really enjoyed the listen. The writer is solid in his use of language, image and dialogue, but the reveal in the third act strains credulity past the breaking point and there is a more plausible, explanation for Anton's actions than was used. Plotting is strictly third year screenwriting level, but the world of the book makes up for these shortcomings and the protagonist is memorable.

    13 of 19 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard 08-06-10
    Richard 08-06-10 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Historical Detail and Layers of Suspense"

    Through a series of flashbacks, Sam Eastland layers on the suspense in this historical thriller. It's a first-rate yarn read by a first-rate narrator, Paul Michael.

    The author has a researcher's keen eye for historical detail and he uses that detail to paint background pictures of two worlds -- life in the orbit of the Czar before the revolution and the less-than-idealistic reality of the already stumbling Soviet state.

    Each time I thought I had the plot figured out, there was another twist that propelled the book forward.

    Well worth the investment of time. With luck, we'll hear from the Emerald Eye again.


    11 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julia Manchester, CT, United States 08-14-10
    Julia Manchester, CT, United States 08-14-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    159
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    "Great Story!"

    This is one of the best books I've listened to in a long time. It was both historically accurate and a good story. The reader also did a great job. All in all this is a credit worth listen!

    10 of 15 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 10-11-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    50
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    145
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Well written, great narration, lousy story"

    I really started out enjoying this. The narration is wonderful, the historical setting is terrific - but the story and the plot are so unbelievable, and the ending so unsatisfying - that I can not recommend this. (And I've seldom written a negative review.)

    In fact, the ending was so bad I now have the "well, that is 8 hours (or however long the book is) that I'll never get back!"

    6 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RM Simon 09-24-10
    RM Simon 09-24-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    104
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    323
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Adequate"

    The background is kind of interesting, but the telling of it plods. The narrator is terrific.

    6 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Monte Clayton, NC, United States 09-08-10
    Monte Clayton, NC, United States 09-08-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    27
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Highly recommended"

    The pacing of the story was wonderful. Just the right balance between description and action. The narrator is excellent.

    6 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marian 06-24-15
    Marian 06-24-15 Member Since 2008

    Daydreamer

    HELPFUL VOTES
    76
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    248
    62
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun light reading, but the start of a series?"

    I decided to read this when I was in a wishy-washy mood and was surprised to find myself enjoying the story. This is meant to be the first installment of a post-Russian-revolution detective series featuring Pekkala, a man who used to work directly for the Romanovs, but because of obvious, now kind of has to work for Stalin et al.
    Re: plot - I totally love the Romanov mystery, which is why I bought this book in the first place. The possibility of survivors makes for good storytelling. With the book taking place years after the revolution, I liked that this was a cold case story, with a little modern forensics mixed in. But, since I only bought it for the Romanov story, and have little interest in Communist-era detective stories on whole, I doubt I'll pick up the next installment.
    Re: narrator - Paul Michael (it's the same guy who did the last two Dan Brown books) does good euro accents, and I enjoy his style of narrating, so it's entirely possible part of me liked this because I kept expecting Robert Langdon to pop into a scene. In all honesty, I may have liked the book more for this reason. (Insert shoulder shrug)
    Overall, a good choice if you're not looking for anything too heavy, or too long. :-)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    debbie templeton 06-16-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Strong ending!"

    A slow building suspense & good read! Enjoyed beyond expectation. Would benefit by announcing chapters to differentiate scenes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.