We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel of Suspense | [Sam Eastland]

Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel of Suspense

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P. But the state needs Pekkala one last time.
Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him.

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state.

A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter.

But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history.

In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion—and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.

With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky Park, Child 44, and City of Thieves.

©2010 Sam Eastland (P)2010 Random House

What the Critics Say

“A triumph! With a canny eye for detail, Eastland re-creates the tragedy of the Romanov dynasty in this intelligent and relentless thriller.” (David Hewson)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (240 )
5 star
 (67)
4 star
 (92)
3 star
 (58)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.9 (80 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.1 (80 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Stephanie Zaza 01-22-11 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    266
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intriguing"

    I liked this book a lot. I found it because I'm a fan of the narrator, Paul Michael, and as usual his accents and pacing were great. The story is interesting and the main character, Pekkala, is compelling. I think I was a little disappointed in Pekkala's decision at the end, but intrigued to find out what he does next. I hope Sam Eastland writes a sequel so I can find out!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janice LODI, CA, United States 10-03-10
    Janice LODI, CA, United States 10-03-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    37
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Great Mystery and Intrigue"

    Overall I enjoyed this story. The characters are believable, and the main character - Piccoula - is likeable. The story kept me in suspense and Piccoula's investigative skills were great to follow. I enjoyed the backdrop of communist Russia. The only thing that I found difficult was how this book took and actual event - the murder of the Romanov's - and twisted in the fictionalized events. I kept wanting to refer to what I had read in historical accounts, which varied in many ways. If I had no knowledge of the Romanov story prior to reading, I would have rated Eye of the Red Tsar a 5. If you are a history buff, you may not find it quite as enjoyable.

    4 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    brian 09-09-13
    brian 09-09-13 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    71
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    122
    122
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A man long thought dead has returned."
    Where does Eye of the Red Tsar rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I'm not certain how it would rank, but it's an excellent listen.


    What other book might you compare Eye of the Red Tsar to and why?

    Just as good as Steve Berry's The Romanov Prophecy.


    What about Paul Michael’s performance did you like?

    He's quite good with different accents.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I feel soory for the inspector. All the hells Pekkala went through.


    Any additional comments?

    Any mystery fans should give this book a try.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ML DC Suburbs (MD) 07-17-13
    ML DC Suburbs (MD) 07-17-13 Member Since 2010

    Audio junkie, caffiene addict, anglophile & a bit of a wino.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes. Good historical detail. Plot kept moving - good momentum. Killer ending. Great naration.


    Which character – as performed by Paul Michael – was your favorite?

    Stallin I think.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    A mystery, inside a riddle wrapped up in an enigma.


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Timo 07-13-13
    Timo 07-13-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    125
    29
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible - and not in a good way"

    I nearly gave this book back, but somehow stayed with it. Having said that, I was almost constantly annoyed. Some people said that they think this is historically very well researched - well, I think the opposite. The portrayal of the Tsar as a loving, doting if slightly confused monarch who pours over the personnel files of the cadets and is worried that any of the revolutionaries might get hurt seems more than far fetched. And from what I heard Stalin wasn't exactly a stern but forgiving person either. Aside from the character of the Tsar, the person that annoyed me almost as much was Kirov. No political commissar in Stalin's days would have been that naive. I understand what his function in the book is: he is asking the stupid questions so that the author can explain things to the reader. But during that time, nobody would survived to rise to political commissar without political awareness.

    For a better, and more realistic, crime story set in the same time I recommend Tom Rob Smith's "Child 44" that is also available on Audible.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JohninMaine Maine, United States 12-05-10
    JohninMaine Maine, United States 12-05-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Great historical fiction!"

    An interesting, intriguing suspense novel (a mystery novel, too, actually). Kept me in suspense until the end! Entertaining historical fiction. Paul Michael did a good job reading.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John NJ, United States 10-29-10
    John NJ, United States 10-29-10 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    116
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    127
    95
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    "Ok book"

    I enjoyed this book but found it a little slow in places, and sometimes predictable. Narration was good. Not great, but not bad either.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 11-17 of 17 results PREVIOUS12NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.