We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel of Suspense | [Sam Eastland]

Eye of the Red Tsar: A Novel of Suspense

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P. But the state needs Pekkala one last time.
Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him.

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state.

A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter.

But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history.

In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion—and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.

With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky Park, Child 44, and City of Thieves.

©2010 Sam Eastland (P)2010 Random House

What the Critics Say

“A triumph! With a canny eye for detail, Eastland re-creates the tragedy of the Romanov dynasty in this intelligent and relentless thriller.” (David Hewson)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (247 )
5 star
 (70)
4 star
 (93)
3 star
 (61)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.0 (84 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.1 (84 )
5 star
 (36)
4 star
 (27)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    An Avid Reader 07-31-14

    So many books--so little time

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3437
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    221
    186
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    128
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow What a Book"

    This excellent story is absolutely a novel of suspense as the title states. A complex blend of history (based on historic events), intrigue, and mysterious thriller wrapped up into one page turner of a book. Set around the time of the Russian Revolution and its violent aftermath --the story is peopled with a cast of memorable characters that grab the listener and captivate. The narration by Paul Michael was perfect. Parts of the book were a bit grisly --but not so much that I had to stop listening. I really look forward to the next book in the series. I have to admit that when I came to "The End" I had to give the recording a round of applause. It was that good!

    22 of 23 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Meggin Reno, NV, United States 05-23-10
    Meggin Reno, NV, United States 05-23-10 Member Since 2014

    Speaker, Coach, Author - in Reno, NV (A GREAT place!) I've been an avid Audible fan for several years. Listen on my iPhone many hours each week.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    173
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    169
    84
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    37
    0
    Overall
    "Buy This Book Today & Start Listening"

    The book was outstanding and I immediately wanted to know what else he had written...and this is also a perfect example of how an excellent narrator makes a great book even better. I have heard Paul Michael before and now have really noted this name. This wasn't an easy book to narrate and he did an incredible job.

    12 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret San Francisco, CA USA 09-06-10
    Margaret San Francisco, CA USA 09-06-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    928
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    101
    76
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    145
    11
    Overall
    "Great character"

    I really enjoyed the listen. The writer is solid in his use of language, image and dialogue, but the reveal in the third act strains credulity past the breaking point and there is a more plausible, explanation for Anton's actions than was used. Plotting is strictly third year screenwriting level, but the world of the book makes up for these shortcomings and the protagonist is memorable.

    13 of 19 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard 08-06-10
    Richard 08-06-10 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Historical Detail and Layers of Suspense"

    Through a series of flashbacks, Sam Eastland layers on the suspense in this historical thriller. It's a first-rate yarn read by a first-rate narrator, Paul Michael.

    The author has a researcher's keen eye for historical detail and he uses that detail to paint background pictures of two worlds -- life in the orbit of the Czar before the revolution and the less-than-idealistic reality of the already stumbling Soviet state.

    Each time I thought I had the plot figured out, there was another twist that propelled the book forward.

    Well worth the investment of time. With luck, we'll hear from the Emerald Eye again.


    11 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julia Manchester, CT, United States 08-14-10
    Julia Manchester, CT, United States 08-14-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    154
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    "Great Story!"

    This is one of the best books I've listened to in a long time. It was both historically accurate and a good story. The reader also did a great job. All in all this is a credit worth listen!

    10 of 15 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MarkandKathy Kindle Account 10-11-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    50
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    141
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Well written, great narration, lousy story"

    I really started out enjoying this. The narration is wonderful, the historical setting is terrific - but the story and the plot are so unbelievable, and the ending so unsatisfying - that I can not recommend this. (And I've seldom written a negative review.)

    In fact, the ending was so bad I now have the "well, that is 8 hours (or however long the book is) that I'll never get back!"

    6 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RM Simon 09-24-10
    RM Simon 09-24-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    103
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    316
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Adequate"

    The background is kind of interesting, but the telling of it plods. The narrator is terrific.

    6 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Monte Clayton, NC, United States 09-08-10
    Monte Clayton, NC, United States 09-08-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Highly recommended"

    The pacing of the story was wonderful. Just the right balance between description and action. The narrator is excellent.

    6 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    antonio genthod, Switzerland 02-27-14
    antonio genthod, Switzerland 02-27-14 Member Since 2011

    A man's got to do what a man's got to do..

    HELPFUL VOTES
    55
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    54
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a disappointment ...."

    I had high expectations for this book and am really disappointed. Both the story plot and the writing style are trivial and bland ; the description of the historical setting (early 20th century in the early Soviet Union) is not credible (no more than the reproduction of Venice in a Las Vegas hotel...). Phony , weak and a bit boring ....

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel Mcafee Texas USA 12-10-13
    Daniel Mcafee Texas USA 12-10-13 Member Since 2014

    danmc

    HELPFUL VOTES
    901
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    399
    179
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    257
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a Fabulous Story"

    I am writing this review after listening to all 3 in the series.

    I would recommend taking them in order. I am surprised this book and the sequels did not get more hype. It is one of the best historical fiction stories around. In the spirit of Bernard Cornwell, who masterfully weaves actual history and historical events around a good fictional story of characters, Sam Eastland hits a home run.

    I can't wait for the 4th book, which is out in the U.K. I wrote the author and he responded, which is always nice. There is no news on a U.S. release as of yet.

    I will wait impatiently. Paul Michael does a great job with the series.

    Highly Recommended!!!

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 17 results PREVIOUS12NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.