We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Dark Harbor | [David Hosp]

Dark Harbor

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.
Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

Scott Finn survived a childhood running errands for crime kingpins to become a six-figure lawyer at a prestigious Boston firm. Now the sky's the limit...until his colleague and former lover Natalie turns up dead in Boston Harbor, her heart surgically removed. She initially appears to be the seventh victim of "Little Jack", a serial killer reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. But suspicion quickly turns to Scott, who must dig deep into Natalie's life to discover the secrets she kept.

The suspense builds to a crescendo as this stunning thriller travels at breakneck speed toward a shocking conclusion.

©2005 Richard David Hosp; (P)2005 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

"Compelling characters pulse through attorney Hosp's surprisingly engaging fiction debut." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (525 )
5 star
 (140)
4 star
 (243)
3 star
 (90)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (20)
Overall
3.9 (254 )
5 star
 (74)
4 star
 (111)
3 star
 (45)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (13)
Story
4.2 (251 )
5 star
 (111)
4 star
 (89)
3 star
 (40)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (7)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Janelle Round Rock, TX, United States 02-07-12
    Janelle Round Rock, TX, United States 02-07-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not a memorable experience"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I think that the average high school graduate might enjoy this,


    What was most disappointing about David Hosp’s story?

    It was bad enough that I forgot I had it in my library.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by George Guidall?

    I would listen to George read calculus books.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 12-07-11
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 12-07-11 Member Since 2010

    Don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Trip's cool though. Use Audible to make gym-training sane... And rip my imagination.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1219
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    364
    288
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    152
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another Malevolent Big City Law Firm - Hum-Ho"

    I hope for David Hosp two things.... (1) He did not waste too much more of his life than shows in writing this derivative story and (2) He kept whatever day job he has.

    Maybe there was some unpredictable twist to this story but frankly it was so dull I kept losing attention. Unfortunately a better editor could only have helped this book's purchaser in one way... by rejecting the manuscript after a first scan. The reader and the cover are interesting.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steve la canada, CA, United States 11-29-11
    Steve la canada, CA, United States 11-29-11 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This one's a keeper"

    Story was well assembled. No slow spots, made sense. George was again, great. Nice job David.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Edda Redwood City, CA, USA 11-27-05
    Edda Redwood City, CA, USA 11-27-05 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not worth the time"

    First book I ever read by this author, and for sure, the last. Plot is predictable. Events are not believable, aparent "setups" can be "read" a mile away. Terrible, and the voice of the reader only makes it worse.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katherine 10-10-11
    Katherine 10-10-11 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    440
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Shallow"

    Excessive profanity is used to mask the lack of a well developed plot and sub-plots. Mr. Hosp needs to leave out the f-bomb and G.D. John Sandford and Michael Connelly manage to do this.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chuckie ashburnham, MA, USA 08-01-05
    Chuckie ashburnham, MA, USA 08-01-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "CAN THIS REALLY BE BOSTON?"

    I WANT TO SCREAM!
    WHO SHOULD I BLAME THE AUTHOR, THE NARRATOR, PRODUCER,PLEASE TELL ME WHO TO YELL AT.
    ANYONE WHO HAS SPENT MORE THAN TEN MINUTES IN BOSTON WOULD KNOW THAT
    IT IS WHITEY (JAMES J. )BULGER- PRONOUNCED (BULJER)!!! the g should have a "J" sound not "g" sound.
    totally irritated me everytime the name was said.
    other than that it was a good book!!

    10 of 65 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 31-36 of 36 results PREVIOUS134NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.