We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Dark Harbor Audiobook

Dark Harbor

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

Scott Finn survived a childhood running errands for crime kingpins to become a six-figure lawyer at a prestigious Boston firm. Now the sky's the limit...until his colleague and former lover Natalie turns up dead in Boston Harbor, her heart surgically removed. She initially appears to be the seventh victim of "Little Jack", a serial killer reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. But suspicion quickly turns to Scott, who must dig deep into Natalie's life to discover the secrets she kept.

The suspense builds to a crescendo as this stunning thriller travels at breakneck speed toward a shocking conclusion.

©2005 Richard David Hosp; (P)2005 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

"Compelling characters pulse through attorney Hosp's surprisingly engaging fiction debut." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (591 )
5 star
 (169)
4 star
 (270)
3 star
 (99)
2 star
 (33)
1 star
 (20)
Overall
4.0 (315 )
5 star
 (100)
4 star
 (138)
3 star
 (53)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (13)
Story
4.3 (310 )
5 star
 (154)
4 star
 (100)
3 star
 (46)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kenneth Kossan 03-15-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    George can make anything sound great, though! My personal thought though is George only picks great books to read!!!
    Yessir

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jason OREM, UTAH, United States 03-15-14
    Jason OREM, UTAH, United States 03-15-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    66
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed every minute of this book"
    What made the experience of listening to Dark Harbor the most enjoyable?

    George Guidall is one of the best. He makes the characters jump off the page.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I am looking forward to the next book in the series to see Finn's next adventure.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lilly2734 Mentone, AL, United States 04-26-13
    Lilly2734 Mentone, AL, United States 04-26-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    294
    164
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well, we know he's innocent!"

    Hosp is a new author for me, discovered while browsing through the George Guidall reads. Thoroughly enjoyed it. One thing leads to another, twist after twist, from street kid to big firm lawyer, trying to solve the case and luckily with people willing to help and believe in Finn.

    The synopsis is dead on. This one left me feeling as though I'd been reading him for ages, looking forward to the next book.

    I don't do book reports but I do say this is well worth the listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ace Vinal 04-16-12
    Ace Vinal 04-16-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bulge-er NOT Bulgar!!!!"
    Would you try another book from David Hosp and/or George Guidall?

    I might try another but it was incredibly irritating to have the narrator refer to Whitey Bulger as Bulgar! Why didn't anyone bother to find out how to say this? The name came up so many times and each time it took me totally out of the story. This was a huge news story and I never heard anyone mispronounce this simple name. Bul-ger (as in Germany) not Bul-ger (as in gelding).


    What could David Hosp have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    The credibility of the setting--the characters being insiders in the Boston crime world is destroyed by mis-pronunciation and mis-naming. Everyone in Boston refers to 'Fort Independence' as Castle Island. No one in Southie would have any idea what you are referring to if you called it that.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    George Guidall is an excellent narrator, not his fault but an irishman who came over when he was 8 still has a thick brogue 30 years later? Silly.


    You didn???t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    No one mangled a Boston accent. Better to not attempt it. A good call.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Janelle Round Rock, TX, United States 02-07-12
    Janelle Round Rock, TX, United States 02-07-12 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not a memorable experience"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I think that the average high school graduate might enjoy this,


    What was most disappointing about David Hosp’s story?

    It was bad enough that I forgot I had it in my library.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by George Guidall?

    I would listen to George read calculus books.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 12-07-11
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 12-07-11 Member Since 2010

    Don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Trip's cool though. Use Audible to make gym-training sane... And rip my imagination.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2359
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    465
    385
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    257
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another Malevolent Big City Law Firm - Hum-Ho"

    I hope for David Hosp two things.... (1) He did not waste too much more of his life than shows in writing this derivative story and (2) He kept whatever day job he has.

    Maybe there was some unpredictable twist to this story but frankly it was so dull I kept losing attention. Unfortunately a better editor could only have helped this book's purchaser in one way... by rejecting the manuscript after a first scan. The reader and the cover are interesting.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steve la canada, CA, United States 11-29-11
    Steve la canada, CA, United States 11-29-11 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This one's a keeper"

    Story was well assembled. No slow spots, made sense. George was again, great. Nice job David.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Edda Redwood City, CA, USA 11-27-05
    Edda Redwood City, CA, USA 11-27-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not worth the time"

    First book I ever read by this author, and for sure, the last. Plot is predictable. Events are not believable, aparent "setups" can be "read" a mile away. Terrible, and the voice of the reader only makes it worse.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katherine 10-10-11
    Katherine 10-10-11 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    546
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Shallow"

    Excessive profanity is used to mask the lack of a well developed plot and sub-plots. Mr. Hosp needs to leave out the f-bomb and G.D. John Sandford and Michael Connelly manage to do this.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chuckie ashburnham, MA, USA 08-01-05
    Chuckie ashburnham, MA, USA 08-01-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "CAN THIS REALLY BE BOSTON?"

    I WANT TO SCREAM!
    WHO SHOULD I BLAME THE AUTHOR, THE NARRATOR, PRODUCER,PLEASE TELL ME WHO TO YELL AT.
    ANYONE WHO HAS SPENT MORE THAN TEN MINUTES IN BOSTON WOULD KNOW THAT
    IT IS WHITEY (JAMES J. )BULGER- PRONOUNCED (BULJER)!!! the g should have a "J" sound not "g" sound.
    totally irritated me everytime the name was said.
    other than that it was a good book!!

    10 of 65 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.