We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Brainrush, a Thriller: Book 1 | [Richard Bard]

Brainrush, a Thriller: Book 1

When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent including Battista, one of the world s most dangerous terrorists. To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan, where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.
Regular Price:$23.08
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Listed in The Wall Street Journal as the number-one Bestselling Action/Adventure in their "Readers Guide to Self-Published Big Sellers" (December 9, 2011).

When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent - including Battista, one of the world's most dangerous terrorists. To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan, where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.

An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard's novel is a must-listen for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the listener to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year.

Brainrush was in the top 10 of the Amazon - USA Top-Rated List for over four months straight. The sequel, Brainrush II, The Enemy of My Enemy, was released in December 2011 to rave reviews. Within a few weeks it became the number-one Top-Rated Action/Adventure stories on Amazon.

©2009, 2011 Richard A. Bard (P)2011 Richard Bard

What the Critics Say

"Brainrush explores the bonds of friendship while pushing the boundaries of science, creating a compelling, action-packed thriller with a climax that's a knock-out!" (C.J. Lyons, New York Times best-selling author)
"A terrifically entertaining thriller with three finely executed set pieces strung together with nice characterization. Especially successful is Bronson, an amiable, low-key tough guy able to rescue his princess, survive brutality, and retain a sense of humor." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (605 )
5 star
 (198)
4 star
 (221)
3 star
 (108)
2 star
 (39)
1 star
 (39)
Overall
3.8 (534 )
5 star
 (174)
4 star
 (191)
3 star
 (103)
2 star
 (32)
1 star
 (34)
Story
4.1 (528 )
5 star
 (227)
4 star
 (191)
3 star
 (77)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (15)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Susan Port Saint Lucie, FL, United States 07-10-12
    Susan Port Saint Lucie, FL, United States 07-10-12 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!!!"
    What made the experience of listening to BRAINRUSH, a Thriller the most enjoyable?

    This was one of the most exciting stories I've ever listened to. It kept my attention the entire time.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Jake, the main character, was courageous and real.


    What about R. C. Bray’s performance did you like?

    He kept the story going and he made all the characters in the story come alive.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RunningWithDogs Shreveport, LA 07-06-12
    RunningWithDogs Shreveport, LA 07-06-12 Member Since 2009

    RwD

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fun thriller with a touch of sci-fi"

    A fun and fast-paced thriller. First time I have ever heard Bray narrate, his reading is a bit hurried for me but no annoying interruptions or heavy breathing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B. Bozeman Knoxville, Tennessee 07-03-12
    B. Bozeman Knoxville, Tennessee 07-03-12 Member Since 2008

    Driving over 100,000 mile a year since 1983, I got hooked on audible books on tape 30 years back. I now listen from my bicycle 2 hours a day

    HELPFUL VOTES
    206
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    193
    77
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    34
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't Be Fooled THIS IS HORRIBLE"

    This is a masterpiece of TERRIBLE by a writer with all the sensibilities of a boy with diminished capacity. Amazing that something this bad could find a publisher. The writer must have a family connection to the owners because no one would pay the cost of recording something like this
    The action scenes? In the middle of a bizarre attack by a Jihadist in a Venetian Palace during a costume ball held by the leader of the Jihad the protagonist is asked by his friend "how's it hanging"? A Jihad out of a Venitian Palace using autistic children with brain implants? Are you serious?
    The dialog is so dimwitted and absurd the only reason to continue is to discover if the writing can possibly get worse. A story that makes no sense whatever A plot - if you can call it a plot - that strains - no breaks through any semblance of credibility. Characters you could never dream up who sound like escapes from a remedial reading class.
    I would never imagine that Audible could possibly have something it the catalog as lame as this thing. Note a couple of the reviewers have only review the two books by this author so the rating has been fixed. Don't even think about buying this JUNK. I'm truly ashamed at myself for being sucked in by a review that is much more worthwhile than the mess it represents. This is TRASH.

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandy San Carlos, CA, United States 03-22-12
    Sandy San Carlos, CA, United States 03-22-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    114
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow - great!!"
    Any additional comments?

    This was a great audio book - it was exciting, had momentum and plot. Some of it was quite

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lorraine 01-05-12
    lorraine 01-05-12 Member Since 2011

    rainwallace

    HELPFUL VOTES
    81
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    213
    69
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brainrush"
    What disappointed you about BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

    Horrible and boring


    Would you ever listen to anything by Richard Bard again?

    No


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Nothing comes to mind. Lots of the story takes place in Venice, but that's about all the good I can say about any scene


    Any additional comments?

    I knew going in this had potential to be bad being a new story on Audible without reviews, but this went beyond my worst expectations of bad. The super-smart-telekinetic-alien connected-super hero main character isn't quite good enough to not need mercenaries and huge guns and ammo to beat the villian. Yuck

    3 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margo 10-05-12
    Margo 10-05-12 Member Since 2002

    Tucked away in the beautiful mountains of New Mexico.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    198
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    361
    185
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    21
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My First from This Author"

    I'd say this book was worth the credit. Some of it definitely reminded me of the John Travolta movie Phenomenon. The "bad guys" (radical Muslims, of course) were sometimes annoying in their "over the top" portrayal.

    That being said, I will probably download the sequel, as the other characters were interesting and I doubt it will be a wasted credit.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tania MA,USA 10-03-12
    Tania MA,USA 10-03-12 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Keeps you engaged"

    The story was very interesting but the narrator got annoying at times when he spoke with an accent.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terri 09-21-12
    Terri 09-21-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    174
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book!"
    Any additional comments?

    I bought this on one of the specials Audible offers and was really glad I did. It was a fast paced book I really enjoyed. I'd read more by this author and that's the highest praise I can give.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 51-58 of 58 results PREVIOUS156NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.