We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Brainrush, a Thriller Audiobook

Brainrush, a Thriller: Book 1

Regular Price:$23.08
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Listed in The Wall Street Journal as the number-one Bestselling Action/Adventure in their "Readers Guide to Self-Published Big Sellers" (December 9, 2011).

When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent - including Battista, one of the world's most dangerous terrorists. To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan, where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.

An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard's novel is a must-listen for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the listener to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year.

Brainrush was in the top 10 of the Amazon - USA Top-Rated List for over four months straight. The sequel, Brainrush II, The Enemy of My Enemy, was released in December 2011 to rave reviews. Within a few weeks it became the number-one Top-Rated Action/Adventure stories on Amazon.

©2009, 2011 Richard A. Bard (P)2011 Richard Bard

What the Critics Say

"Brainrush explores the bonds of friendship while pushing the boundaries of science, creating a compelling, action-packed thriller with a climax that's a knock-out!" (C.J. Lyons, New York Times best-selling author)
"A terrifically entertaining thriller with three finely executed set pieces strung together with nice characterization. Especially successful is Bronson, an amiable, low-key tough guy able to rescue his princess, survive brutality, and retain a sense of humor." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (891 )
5 star
 (330)
4 star
 (317)
3 star
 (145)
2 star
 (53)
1 star
 (46)
Overall
3.9 (795 )
5 star
 (290)
4 star
 (276)
3 star
 (141)
2 star
 (47)
1 star
 (41)
Story
4.2 (789 )
5 star
 (389)
4 star
 (263)
3 star
 (99)
2 star
 (20)
1 star
 (18)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    SCGCPA 06-11-13
    SCGCPA 06-11-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    16
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved It!"

    What a great thriller! Brain-washing, trust issues, kidnapping, murder - this book has it all. Narrator was amazing with the diverse characters. Set in U.S., Italy, and middle east.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Skoutariotis BAKERSFIELD, CA, United States 06-04-13
    Skoutariotis BAKERSFIELD, CA, United States 06-04-13 Member Since 2016

    Former IT guy for over 20 years. Formerly a sports bar owner/operator. Currently a restaurant manager. Trying VERY hard to get back into IT.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat! Can't put it down!


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Can't pick just one, the whole team was awesome!
    Very strong bond amongst all members!
    Money didn't matter! Just watch your brother's back while achieving the goal!


    What about R. C. Bray’s performance did you like?

    Excellent reader! I hope he's the reader to all my books!


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    When Tony tucked little Serafina in his chest & he would not give her up!


    Any additional comments?

    This is a MUST read! Now I'm on to the 2nd book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wassim 05-13-13
    Wassim 05-13-13 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    71
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Felt as if I'm watching a low budget movie"
    What disappointed you about BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

    Probably my worst read to date. When I read the book description, it definitely intrigued me, the locations that the book will take you, Venice, Monte Carlo, Afghanistan, it surely felt like it will be a very interesting read. However, just in the beginning of the book, you realize that it is no more than a weak attempt at pulling a Dan Brown. The cheesy predictable lines that the characters say just felt like you're watching a low budget movie, you know from the first few minutes it will be a waste of time. Every move, line, action, anything was very predictable, and didn't get better as the pages wore off.

    The long descriptions of all the fights in the book show how much the writer had nothing to say or give, he just kept on explaining and detailing every fist fight, kick, punch, that eventually it becomes nothing more than repetition of itself!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Augusta 05-02-13
    Augusta 05-02-13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "disappointing read"
    What disappointed you about BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

    disappointing read...could have been so much better


    Would you ever listen to anything by Richard Bard again?

    no


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    I think the premise of the book was good,


    Any additional comments?

    ended up flighty, predictable, no thrills, Boring, boring ...boring

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dianne Herbert 04-05-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    695
    29
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good first novel."
    If you could sum up BRAINRUSH, a Thriller in three words, what would they be?

    I enjoyed this story. I liked the development of the talent that the main character developed. Since I don't want to give away anything of the story, I will stop. Worth the credit.

    Only negative is how with each new chapter the author seemed to think we needed to be to told where the upcoming action was going to take place--even if it is a continuation of action from chapter just ending. Seemed like he didn't trust the reader (listener) to be smart enough to follow and keep our place. A minor annoyance.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    If I enjoy a book, then I always want to continue and experience the ending.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Fern Logan Carbondale, IL, US 04-01-13
    Fern Logan Carbondale, IL, US 04-01-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too much military jargon"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I was disappointed with this book. It started out exciting but got bogged down in too many descriptions of guns, weapons, and other military equipment. Those elements did not move the story along for me but stifled the action because I have no interest in the difference between an AK-47 or a super booming bomber. The story went from an intriguing love story to fantastical science fiction. Too much of a stretch between the two in this case. I don't think I'll be reading Book 2.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Arlene FAIRBANKS, AK, United States 03-12-13
    Arlene FAIRBANKS, AK, United States 03-12-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't wait to read the next book"
    If you could sum up BRAINRUSH, a Thriller in three words, what would they be?

    Good listen and interesting story idea.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

    When he was in the MIR machine.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    At the bar when he discovered his abilities.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The end.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Lightfoot 03-11-13

    I love mystery and thriller genre books. I am a complete Audible addict!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Um, What?"

    I did not enjoy this book, the only positive thing I can say is that the narrator did well. I had high hopes for this story, but it was a let down. I was very disappointed because the plot has some promise, but it was very poorly executed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul 03-06-13
    Paul 03-06-13 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    165
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "SOOOOOOO STUPID!"

    I am clearly not the target audience for this book. It's a cliche of action/adventure. Lots of guns, hot chicks and hard men. Seriously. I don't understand the appeal.

    If you enjoy endless descriptions of weaponry and gunfights go for it. I could barely finish it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Jones Indianajones 03-05-13
    R. Jones Indianajones 03-05-13 Listener Since 2006

    Indianajones

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Novice writter"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    I really don't know. It is probably a good book for someone who needs a pallet cleanser...


    What do you think your next listen will be?

    I don't know, I haven't found anything new yet. hoping Orson Scott Cards new mithermages book...


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of R. C. Bray?

    Actually the narrator was the best part. he did a excellent job bringing a half star book to a two star.


    What character would you cut from BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

    um, probably replace the villain with someone scary, the heroine with someone worth saving, and the hero with someone heroic. the rest of the cast where decent.


    Any additional comments?

    I just could barely stand the repetitiveness of the dialogue. When the thought sentences of main characters use the same subject for three sentences in a row, just saying it differently... example; "...how could I have been so wrong? it was clear to me now that I never understood his goals. I couldn't have been more wrong." that is a direct quote of three sentences... IN A ROW! -sigh- the book actually made me tired.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.