We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
Brainrush, a Thriller: Book 1 | [Richard Bard]

Brainrush, a Thriller: Book 1

When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent including Battista, one of the world s most dangerous terrorists. To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan, where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.
Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Listed in The Wall Street Journal as the number-one Bestselling Action/Adventure in their "Readers Guide to Self-Published Big Sellers" (December 9, 2011).

When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent - including Battista, one of the world's most dangerous terrorists. To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan, where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.

An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard's novel is a must-listen for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the listener to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year.

Brainrush was in the top 10 of the Amazon - USA Top-Rated List for over four months straight. The sequel, Brainrush II, The Enemy of My Enemy, was released in December 2011 to rave reviews. Within a few weeks it became the number-one Top-Rated Action/Adventure stories on Amazon.

©2009, 2011 Richard A. Bard (P)2011 Richard Bard

What the Critics Say

"Brainrush explores the bonds of friendship while pushing the boundaries of science, creating a compelling, action-packed thriller with a climax that's a knock-out!" (C.J. Lyons, New York Times best-selling author)
"A terrifically entertaining thriller with three finely executed set pieces strung together with nice characterization. Especially successful is Bronson, an amiable, low-key tough guy able to rescue his princess, survive brutality, and retain a sense of humor." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (567 )
5 star
 (185)
4 star
 (212)
3 star
 (97)
2 star
 (37)
1 star
 (36)
Overall
3.8 (503 )
5 star
 (164)
4 star
 (185)
3 star
 (95)
2 star
 (29)
1 star
 (30)
Story
4.1 (495 )
5 star
 (212)
4 star
 (181)
3 star
 (73)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (12)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    lorraine West Valley City, UT, United States 01-05-12
    lorraine West Valley City, UT, United States 01-05-12 Member Since 2011

    rainwallace

    HELPFUL VOTES
    73
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    207
    65
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brainrush"
    What disappointed you about BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

    Horrible and boring


    Would you ever listen to anything by Richard Bard again?

    No


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Nothing comes to mind. Lots of the story takes place in Venice, but that's about all the good I can say about any scene


    Any additional comments?

    I knew going in this had potential to be bad being a new story on Audible without reviews, but this went beyond my worst expectations of bad. The super-smart-telekinetic-alien connected-super hero main character isn't quite good enough to not need mercenaries and huge guns and ammo to beat the villian. Yuck

    3 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margo New Mexico 10-05-12
    Margo New Mexico 10-05-12 Member Since 2002

    Tucked away in the beautiful mountains of New Mexico.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    178
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    355
    181
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    10
    21
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My First from This Author"

    I'd say this book was worth the credit. Some of it definitely reminded me of the John Travolta movie Phenomenon. The "bad guys" (radical Muslims, of course) were sometimes annoying in their "over the top" portrayal.

    That being said, I will probably download the sequel, as the other characters were interesting and I doubt it will be a wasted credit.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tania MA,USA 10-03-12
    Tania MA,USA 10-03-12 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Keeps you engaged"

    The story was very interesting but the narrator got annoying at times when he spoke with an accent.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terri USA 09-21-12
    Terri USA 09-21-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    141
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book!"
    Any additional comments?

    I bought this on one of the specials Audible offers and was really glad I did. It was a fast paced book I really enjoyed. I'd read more by this author and that's the highest praise I can give.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 51-54 of 54 results PREVIOUS156NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.