We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Ancient Ones: An Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed Mystery | [Kirk Mitchell]

Ancient Ones: An Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed Mystery

From Kirk Mitchell comes a riveting suspense thriller in the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh, featuring Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops searching for justice between their heritage and the law.
Regular Price:$20.76
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Though there are signs of foul play, BIA investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI special agent Anna Turnipseed aren't looking for a killer - the remains dug out of a riverbank by an illegal fossil hunter are 14,000 years old. Parker and Turnipseed are sent to Central Oregon as official witnesses to the examination of John Day Man, as he is dubbed, for the bones have quickly provoked a controversy that threatens to erupt into violence: the skeleton is not Native American but distinctly Caucasian, shattering long-held tenets concerning who the first inhabitants of this continent were.

Emmett, with his Comanche and white ancestry, and Anna, a reservation-born Modoc with Asian blood, share a sensitivity to both parties' concerns - and a forbidden attraction that's causing them professional and personal problems. They've broken the unwritten law that partners should never get emotionally involved. Having crossed that line, Emmett and Anna are too distracted by each other to see the escalating suspicion and fear around them when a young tribal anthropologist is swallowed by the misty night - and within hours of her disappearance the fossil hunter who discovered the skeleton is found disemboweled.

The Warm Springs Indians insist that the unburied bones of the Ancient One have been turned into a skep, a murderous spirit that haunts the darkness. As winter closes in on the steppes of the Colombia Plateau, accusations of ritualized murder fly between the Indian and white communities - and the fight turns deadly when a second skeleton is unearthed.

In the midst of the turmoil, Emmett and Anna are paralyzed by their own demons. This estrangement could prove deadly if they stop watching each other's back long enough for a killer to target them too. And at the center of it all are the Ancient Ones, exacting a terrible price as the dark path to resolution runs a gauntlet through the boneyards of prehistory.

©2001 Kirk Mitchell; (P)2009 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"A superior police procedural ... [Mitchell] keeps the suspense ... high." (Kirkus Reviews)
"Tony Hillerman, watch your back.... Mitchell knows his turf and delivers a savory whodunit without remorse." (People)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (51 )
5 star
 (24)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (29 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.2 (29 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Karen eugene, OR, United States 06-26-10
    Karen eugene, OR, United States 06-26-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    84
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    152
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent novel and narration"

    i'm delighted to have found anna and emmett and will listen to the rest of the series; impressive and professional narration.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Middletown, RI United States 05-31-15
    Amazon Customer Middletown, RI United States 05-31-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narration was horrible"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I wouldn't recommend the audio version but maybe kindle or regular book.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    The narration was too monotone. Very little change in voice or tone for the individual characters. Mostly, the narrator sounded bored.

    The voice he used for Anna made her sound weak and pathetic. I know she was dealt bad lot in life but the words in the story didn't suggest she was anywhere close to weak and pathetic. She is an FBI agent for crying out loud and I really don't think they would hire weak and pathetic.

    Get a narrator that is more excited about his/her craft and make sure they have read the book beforehand so they portray the characters more accurately.


    What didn’t you like about Stefan Rudnicki’s performance?

    See above


    Was Ancient Ones worth the listening time?

    The story itself was okay. I am having trouble separating the story from the narration though.


    Any additional comments?

    None

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.