We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Millionaires' Unit | [Marc Wortman]

The Millionaires' Unit

The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller; the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad; several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France.
Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

The Millionaires' Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller; the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad; several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war.

At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high.

One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For fans of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.

©2006 Marc Wortman; (P)2006 Tantor Media Inc

What the Critics Say

"Wortman has researched thoroughly and written clearly, thereby enhancing our knowledge of aviation history, Yale, and World War I." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (22 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.2 (9 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.1 (9 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    S.L. Northport, AL, United States 01-19-12
    S.L. Northport, AL, United States 01-19-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "But for the Grace..."

    The little country that amost wasn't...The Millionaires Unit helps us remember the values that made America in the first place. Feeling a responsibility borne of circumstance, just being Ameican should make one feel as though they owe the world something. This book shows why we have a place at the table in the first place, and why it is our responsibility to occupy it. Uniquely qualified to contribute, these Men of Boys take us all to the air in this Devil May Care tribute to youth, ideal, and purpose.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charlotte A. Hu San Antonio, TX, United States 05-19-13
    Charlotte A. Hu San Antonio, TX, United States 05-19-13

    USMC journalist, turned Embassy FSO, now USAF Web Chief

    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    74
    37
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Origins of American Airpower - a Yale Frat Club"

    This story is so amazing. I had no idea about this element of American history - how a group of privileged young boys found the bureaucracy of the American government not only to represent the US proudly in Europe during WWI, but also to lay the groundwork for the air power that would later prove so critical in WWII, the Korean War, Vietnam and repeatedly in the Middle East.
    Hats off to those brave and stalwart teens, some of whom never came home, giving the ultimate sacrifice in a war that wasn't even theirs.
    This story is bold, sad and moving. I loved it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greg Atlanta, Georgia 01-14-13
    Greg Atlanta, Georgia 01-14-13 Member Since 2007
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    81
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderfully written"
    Where does The Millionaires' Unit rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I've had the Millionaires Unit in my wish list for three years or so....finally got around to using my credits and now i'm wishing i had done so much sooner - wonderful historic details....fascinating story of a time gone by!...when the "privilieged" felt a responsibility to folks other than themselves.....


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Millionaires' Unit?

    Kenneth McLeish.....when the belgian farmer found the body of the missing american hero....


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    absolutely!


    Any additional comments?

    more books on WWI please...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.