We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
White Seed: The Untold Story of the Lost Colony of Roanoke | [Paul Clayton]

White Seed: The Untold Story of the Lost Colony of Roanoke

A fully-realized historical thriller in the tradition of James Clavell's Shogun and Ken Follett's The Pillars of the Earth. One of the most haunting mysteries in American history - The Lost Colony of Roanoke - comes roaring back to life in White Seed, with a compelling cast of characters,
Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A fully-realized historical thriller in the tradition of James Clavell's Shogun and Ken Follett's The Pillars of the Earth.

One of the most haunting mysteries in American history - The Lost Colony of Roanoke - comes roaring back to life in White Seed, with a compelling cast of characters, including Maggie Hagger, indentured Irish serving girl, a victim of rape and intimidation; Manteo, Croatoan interpreter for the English, inhabitant of two worlds, belonging to neither; John White, ineffective Governor, painter, dreamer, father and grandfather; Captain Stafford, brave and disciplined, but cruel soldier; and Powhatan, shrewd Tidewater warlord who wages a stealthy war against the colonists.

©2009 Paul Clayton (P)2013 Paul Clayton

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

2.8 (19 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.6 (16 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (3)
Story
2.7 (18 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-29-13 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Made me want to learn more about the Lost Colony!"

    3-1/2 STARS

    A fascinating fictional account of what may have happened to the settlers of The Lost Colony of Roanoke. Of course there are many possible scenarios and with the limited evidence available today, we will never know the absolute truth. After reading this book, I immediately had to do some research myself and read up on the history of Roanoke. Clayton's account of the settlers' disappearance is entirely possible. Most likely, the real truth lies somewhere in a mix of the different theories established by historians.

    Clayton obviously did his research and the historical details and real people were fascinating. I did however have some issues with the writing. It was a bit too wordy at times and could have been a tad shorter. I listened to the audio version for the first half and read the ebook version in the 2nd half. At first I found the flow a bit choppy...a little abrupt and rushed at times and I had a hard time getting into the characters. But once I was sucked into the historical details.... I was hooked! Maggie's romance seemed a little underdeveloped to be believable....but the focus was really on the disappearance of the entire colony.

    I really like Clayton's theory on the disappearance of the Lost Colony settlers and would like to think that is what happened to many of the settlers.
    I recommend The White Seed to anyone interested in early American history.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cate's Book Nut Hut JBLM, WA 08-25-14
    Cate's Book Nut Hut JBLM, WA 08-25-14 Member Since 2015

    Book Nut Hut Owner

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Why oh why"

    This has to be the worse narrator I have heard so far from Audible. His accent fluctuates each time he reads the same character, and his butchery of an English accent is just... this will be returned as i think I would rather read the actual book than suffer through this again.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terry E. Deschenes Issaquah, WA USA 07-15-13
    Terry E. Deschenes Issaquah, WA USA 07-15-13 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't get past the narration"

    The mystery of Roanoke is fascinating and I was excited when I saw the description of this book.

    Not sure if it is a good book or not. I simply can not get past the narration! It is read with all the inflection and drama you might hear at the library any Saturday morning when it is story time for the kiddies. Irritating. The frequent mispronunciation of common words is jarring. I'm 8 hours into it, ashamed that I have wasted this much time and giving it up.

    If you really want to explore this - get the paper book, not this audible.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ellen Chesterton, IN, United States 03-25-15
    Ellen Chesterton, IN, United States 03-25-15 Member Since 2008

    I'm a bibliophile since early childhood. Love speculative fiction, odd premises, mystery novels that teach about different places and times.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    223
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    334
    152
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An interesting piece of history"

    This is not brilliant writing but it's a good story and told well enough. The questions of what happened in Roanoke has always fascinated me. of course it's speculative, but it's interesting.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DogNotSpicy Left Coast 06-05-13
    DogNotSpicy Left Coast 06-05-13

    DogNotSpicy

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    493
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The worst read audiobook!"
    What would have made White Seed better?

    The reader was horrid, pure amateur stuff. It was unbearable to listen to. The story had potential, but when it's read by an actor who can't even pronounce words correctly, let alone affect any accent- it completely ruined the story.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Paul Clayton again?

    I would, with the exception that someone else read his books.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    The narrator should have been taken out and shot. He was awful. Ruined the book.


    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Heidi Burnette 07-16-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This is THE WORST narrator I've ever listened to"
    Would you try another book from Paul Clayton and/or Lee Harpster?

    I might try another book from Paul Clayton but would not ever again listen to another audio book narrated by Lee Harpster


    Would you be willing to try another book from Paul Clayton? Why or why not?

    I would possibly try another book, but while it was interesting to read the historical account of Roanoke, the characters were so one dimensional. There were so many points where I thought the writer would delve further into a character's background, but he really only ever scratched the surface. I might have enjoyed this book more were it not for the narration.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    It's an absolute shame how terrible this narrator's performance was. I should have returned this book, but I kept with it because I was really interested in how the story turned out. Throughout out the book, he routinely mispronounced so many words (striated, anemic, gaol, raucous, mottled, tallow, cupboard, inexplicably, among many, many other words), that you could almost make a game out of it. It actually even started to be kind of funny, to a certain point, when I wasn't cringing inside. How an editor could have let this be published as an audiobook like this is a complete mystery. Aside from the hundreds of pronunciation errors, the stye of narration was terrible. Every woman sounded like a shrew! The narrator used such a shrill voice that he made every single female character unlikeable. Regardless of what they were saying, he made them really sound like women on the verge of hysteria. In addition, the narrator seems to start with one voice for a character and then change it completely in the space of a sentence or a paragraph, almost like he cut the recording and came back and started over another day without the faintest notion of how he sounded 3 days ago. His English accent is really bad, goes in and out during the narration from an English to an American accent, and really the "savage" voices he used were just terrible. Don't get this book...it might have been a funny lark to listen to this narrator for a bit just for a laugh...but not for an entire 18 hours.


    Any additional comments?

    Don't waste your time or money. I wish I hadn't.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.