We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Woman at the Light: A Novel | [Joanna Brady]

The Woman at the Light: A Novel

One afternoon in 1839, Emily Lowry’s husband vanishes from Wreckers’ Cay, an isolated island off the coast of Key West where he tends the lighthouse. As days stretch into months, Emily has no choice but to take charge of Wreckers’ Cay and her husband’s duties tending the light to support her three children - and a fourth on the way. Unexpected help arrives when a runaway slave named Andrew washes up on their beach. At first, Emily is intensely wary of this strange, charming man, whose very presence there is highly illegal. But Andrew proves himself an enormous help and soon wins the hearts of the Lowry family.
Regular Price:$20.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Leila Meacham and Dorothea Benton Frank comes a stunning debut novel about a well-born Southern woman who finds courage and strength to overcome tragedy with an unexpected new love.

One afternoon in 1839, Emily Lowry’s husband vanishes from Wreckers’ Cay, an isolated island off the coast of Key West where he tends the lighthouse. As days stretch into months, Emily has no choice but to take charge of Wreckers’ Cay and her husband’s duties tending the light to support her three children - and a fourth on the way. Unexpected help arrives when a runaway slave named Andrew washes up on their beach. At first, Emily is intensely wary of this strange, charming man, whose very presence there is highly illegal. But Andrew proves himself an enormous help and soon wins the hearts of the Lowry family. Far from the outside world and society’s rules, his place in Emily’s life, as steadfast now as the light, will forever change their futures. When Emily’s family is ripped apart once again, she faces untold hardships that test her love and determination and show how the passionate love of a defiant, determined woman can overcome any obstacle.

Joanna Brady’s novel was inspired by Key West’s colorful history and its female lighthouse keepers in the 19th century. She divides her time between Key West and a stone cottage in a medieval village in the southwest of France.

©2012 Joanna Brady Schmida (P)2012 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What the Critics Say

“An enthralling tale of the days when wreckers ruled the seas and a beautiful woman was fair game.” (Mary Cross, author of Madonna, A Biography)

“In her richly nuanced novel, Brady has created a heroine readers are unlikely to ever forget.” (Michelle Moran, nationally best-selling author)

“Part history, part romance, told in clear prose, The Woman at the Light is compelling and rewarding.” (Daphne Kalotay, author of Russian Winter)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (7 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.8 (6 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (7 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kathleen NORTH GROSVENORDALE, CT, United States 08-06-12
    Kathleen NORTH GROSVENORDALE, CT, United States 08-06-12 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Listen"

    I enjoy this type of novel very much. The story line was very moving and touching for its time and the narrator did a wonderful job. I would listen to more of the author's novels and the narrator's also.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.