We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Wind off the Small Isles Audiobook

The Wind off the Small Isles

Regular Price:$11.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Beloved author Mary Stewart's long-lost novella, now available again for the first time in 40 years and perfect for fans of Anya Seton, Daphne du Maurier and Santa Montefiore.

'Now she would spell love her own way....'

In 1879 a wealthy young woman elopes with an impoverished fisherman, leaving her family, who live on the volcanic island of Lanzarote, distraught. In 1968, 23-year-old Perdita West, secretary to the famous author Cora Gresham, visits Lanzarote, the strangest and wildest of the Canary Isles, on a research trip. They meet Cora's estranged son, Mike, and fall in love with the unusual, beautiful little island.

While snorkeling, a landslide traps Perdita in an underwater cave. No one knows where she is, so she can't count on a rescue. And her efforts to save herself will reveal the solution to a century-old mystery....

The Wind off the Small Isles is Mary Stewart's sweeping, romantic long-lost novella, finally being brought back in a beautiful, all new edition for the first time in more than four decades.

©1968 MRM Stewart (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.9 (9 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.9 (7 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (7 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    sharon san diego, california, United States 12-10-16
    sharon san diego, california, United States 12-10-16 Member Since 2016

    love to read and love audio books!Favorite authors: Marcia Willett,Nevil Shute,Mary Stewart,and Jacqueline Winspear. I could go on and on but wont bore you! I belong to a book group and we often" Listen" to the books we have selected for the month while using a paper copy for the discussion notes. It really enhances the quality of the story.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    203
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    219
    127
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Little Known Mary Stewart Novella"

    I have been a Mary Stewart fan for over 50 years. I wish I could read "My Brother Michael" again for the first time (which is a top favorite of mine) I have read and reread all of her contemporary mysteries with pleasure. This novella has been out of print for years and was released to celebrate Mary"s 100th birthday.. Very much in the vein and style of her other classics...The only criticism I have is ITS TOO SHORT! I did not want it to end. The descriptions were marvelous and the scene in the cave very scary . The narration was excellent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    topcatrules 10-05-16
    topcatrules 10-05-16

    topcatrules

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    147
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A magical love story"
    Any additional comments?

    This is the best book I have listened to this year. Mary Stewart has always been one of my favorite authors but in this novella, she has outdone herself.
    I listened to it in one go - at times it was hard to believe that a book could really be this good.
    Fantastic narration, wonderful love story, descriptive scenery, well written characters. Ten out of ten!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.